jump to navigation

Jarly-mon May 5, 2008

Posted by Toy Lady in Big Lug, Family, random stuff.
Tags:
trackback

The other day, I was poking around on YouTube. Yeah, I know.  I don’t even really remember why I was there, but I came across one of my favorite songs and one of my favorite old TV shows.

So, of course, I had to play it, and play it loud.  And sing along.  And it seems that we may have a bit of a calypso fan on our hands.  Who knew?

Jarly-Mon

His little ears perked right up, and next thing I know, we’ve got a sing-along — me and Jarly-mon.  I mean, there he was, just singing along with me. . . while poor old Peeps is just shaking his head.

So, of course, every now and then, “Jarly-mon” just sort of slips out . . . but I think I may have finally gone over the edge.  I’ve composed alternate lyrics.  How’s this sound? Go ahead, feel free to sing aloud.  I dare you.

Day-o. Day-ay-ay-o
Daylight come and he gotta go pee
Day. He say day, he say day, he say day, he say day, he say day-ay-ay-o
Daylight come and he gotta go poo.

Snore all night on the bedroom rug
Daylight come and he gotta go pee
Drink from toilet till the morning come
Daylight come and he gotta go poo.

Come Mr. Jarly Mon, jarly me potato
Daylight come and he gotta go pee
Let’s get the leash and grab yourself a baggie
Daylight come and he gotta go poo.

Day-o. Day-ay-ay-o
Daylight come and he gotta go pee
Day. He say day, he say day, he say day, he say day, he say day-ay-ay-o
Daylight come and he gotta go poo.

A beautiful bunch of window drap’ries
Daylight come and he gotta go pee
Hide the deadly stupor kitty
Daylight come and he gotta go poo.

It’s 3 and a-4 and a-5 o’clock
Daylight come and he gotta go pee
Barkin’ at kitty will wake you up.
Daylight come and he gotta go poo.

Day-o. Day-ay-ay-o
Daylight come and he gotta go pee
Day. He say day, he say day, he say day, he say day, he say day-ay-ay-o
Daylight come and he gotta go poo.

And no, I have no idea why a potato, nor do I know what it means to jarly one.  But it kinda flows . . . And yes, sometimes it is fun being in my head.   Don’t worry, though. I’m not about to give up “all this” for a career as a lyricist.   In the meantime, though maybe I’ll go listen to yet another version of the Banana Boat Song.

Comments

1. origamifreak - May 5, 2008

freakin’ awesome.

Your blog cracks me up far more often that it has any right to.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers

