jump to navigation

Hot stuff October 1, 2008

Posted by Peeps in random stuff.
trackback

I love spicy food. I was raised that way. Mom always kept Tabasco sauce in the house. And it went on just about everything.

When I was small, Tabasco was just about all there was. This was before the culinary explosion of the 80s. And it was fine. But when the vast assortment of world cuisine became available to everyone, my eyes were opened. There was a whole world of hot out there that was just waiting for me.

At one point, I recall discovering that I had 27 different types of hot sauce in the house. That’s not counting salsas and hot mustards. Those are different stories entirely. And I learned a few things.

One of them was that while compared to most of the people I knew, I wasn’t as tough as I thought. I could tolerate a lot of heat. I’d had years of experience. Then I ran across the “enhanced” sauces. Like Dave’s Insanity. Some bright boy decided it would be amusing to add pure pepper extracts to hot sauce, just to ramp up the heat level. Yikes. I decided that was just too much. I like heat, I don’t like pain. And I like to be able to taste my food. Particularly several days after I’d stopped playing with the evil stuff.

One of the things that Mom found that we both dearly love is Huy Fong Chili Garlic Sauce. We used to have to get it via mail order, but I found out a few years ago that Wegman’s carries it. Lucky me.

Last week, while Toys and I were at the public market, I had an idea. I was going to make my own chili garlic sauce. I picked up a box of Cayenne chilies for a dollar. Sweet. We already had a boatload of garlic at home. Let’s play.
PhotobucketThe stems got removed from the peppers. They went into the food processor with about one and a half bulbs of garlic. Yes, bulbs. I wanted this stuff to mean business.
PhotobucketAdd about two teaspoons of Kosher salt and let the machine run until everything is pretty smooth. Then I added enough white vinegar to get the consistency right. Say about a quarter cup. Whir it again for a few seconds.
PhotobucketDone. Nice. Note to self: Do not put your face anywhere near the open work bowl. I have no desire to be blind for any length of time. Ever.

Now, into a jar and in the fridge.

PhotobucketI tasted it after it had had a chance to sit and let the flavors blend a bit. Wow. Almost like the real thing. More garlic flavor, but that’s never a bad thing. And perhaps a touch hotter. Also not bad. The original stuff is one of the best things ever to put on a burger. It’s also an interesting start to an Asian style marinade for chick or pork destined for the grill. But there is a burger in my future that is going to be the testing ground for my homemade version. I can hardly wait.

Comments

1. Jane - October 1, 2008

About time you gave your old mom a nod!

2. Peeps - October 1, 2008

I always give credit where credit is due.

3. Toy Lady - October 1, 2008

Hey, at least his “old mom” reads us!

4. Fresh Green Beans! « Dark Side of the Fridge - February 10, 2009

[...] is so darned convenient!), a splash of toasted sesame oil, and a healthy spoonful of Peeps’s homemade chili garlic sauce – plus a little [...]

5. A New Way With Garlic Scapes « Dark Side of the Fridge - June 30, 2009

[...] the ginger-garlic mixture.  Mash it up a little while it’s cooking, then add a Tablespoon of chili-garlic sauce and give it a  good stir.  Return everything to the pan – the meat and the scapes, along [...]

6. August Hobo Night: Hot, Cheap and Simple « Dark Side of the Fridge - August 6, 2009

[...] on the other hand, opted to top his egg sandwiches with his homemade sriracha sauce from last fall.  That stuff is wicked!  Way too hot for me!  But hey, he was the one eating it, [...]


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 101 other followers

