jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 01.11.10 January 11, 2010

Posted by Toy Lady in Musings, random stuff.
trackback

I cleaned out another desk drawer this weekend.

Photobucket

Yeah, sad, I know.

But I found one of Surly Boy‘s school projects, from, apparently, the Week of the Young Child in 1994-ish.

Look at him in his little turtleneck and his dinosaur sweater, with a real haircut and everything . . . wasn’t he cute?

Photobucket

PhotobucketOne of the blogs I read daily is Michael Ruhlman‘s, and the other day, I guess something just pushed him over the edge, and he went off on a RANT about, well, go read it for yourself.

The upshot was that I stopped and picked up a roasting chicken, shoved it in the oven until the smoke alarm went off, and now we have a bunch of beautifully roasted chicken to do something with.

Darn.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Meanwhile, Peeps and I went to the market last weekend, and we got a lot  of kale.  I mean a LOT.  The “bunches” were $1 each, and they were HUGE.

So we got two.

It’s a good thing we like kale, huh?  Also, fortunately, it was very fresh, so it’ll last a while in the fridge.

Photobucket

Photobucket

We had picked up an extra bottle for New Year’s Eve – we weren’t sure who was going to be home and who wasn’t, and whether anyone was going to be ringing in the New Year with us, and, as it happens, no one seemed terribly interested in toasting the New Year at, um, 8:00 on New Year’s Eve. . .

So we enjoyed a surprisingly good sparkling wine with our pizza (and my brother) last Friday with our pizza . . . I say Friday night is reason enough to celebrate, don’t you?

And as an aside, we’ve never had a South African wine that we haven’t been pleasantly surprised by.  Just sayin’.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Our Stupor Kitty is still alive and well – and still thinks she’s calling the shots!

Every morning, while the Big Lug is having his breakfast, I spend a little quality time with the kitty. . . hand-feeding her treats and petting her and trying to encourage her to join the real world . . .

And the minute the dog finishes his breakfast, she’s done with Social Hour.

Photobucket

And, unfortunately, she makes her displeasure known.  SHE instigates.  SHE growls and snarls and hisses until she gets him so excited that he can’t help himself . . .

They’ve managed to tear the flap off the kitty door, he’s slobbered all over my chalkboard door, and yet she sits there and gives him the evil eye.

THIS is why we can’t have nice things.

Photobucket

Photobucket

You know how I just roasted the chicken?

Well, I needed some fresh herbs for that.

I wanted to see if I had anything worth salvaging in the herb garden.

But it’s been effectively snowing Every Single Day since Christmas day . . . so I had to shovel a path.

I’m really kind of tired of the snow, I think.

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  Last week went (mostly) according to plan – and this week, we’ve actually done no grocery shopping – everything is coming from the freezer or the pantry. We’ll pick up milk and such as necessary.  So what’s this week look like?

Monday – We have a bunch of gravy left over from a pot roast while Surly Boy was home, and, rather than throw it out, Peeps is going to make a pie – maybe a pot pie, maybe something with a biscuit topping.  I guess it depends on his mood. . . Oh, and we’ve got some broccoli to use up, too. 

Tuesday -  We’ve got plenty of roasted chicken, so we’re going to try a “chicken hash,” a recipe from, of all places, a Williams-Sonoma catalog.  I know, go figure, right?  Obviously, we’ll be adding a salad or something green, but roasted chicken hash!

WednesdaySwim class night – we’ve grown to enjoy the various soups we’ve been putting together.  This week, we’re trying a creamy, cheesy, roasty chickeny, KALE soup – what could be better after an evening of swimming the dog?

Thursday – Since we have a package of (frozen) fresh pasta in the freezer AND plenty of beef to be ground, as well as the basic carrots, celery, onions and home-canned tomatoes, I’m going to try Marcella Hazan’s classic bolognese sauce – how can I go wrong?

Friday -  And it’s pizza night – yay!

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. judy - January 11, 2010

Hello out there. Thanks so much for the pics of Kitty. I never would have thought they would still be feuding after all this time. The food sounds great and the snow makes me cold! Have a good week you guys.

Hey, Jude, I knew you’d appreciate the pics. :D Initially, I was just going to post the sweet, gimme-some-lovin-kitty picture, then she got all cranky and BEGGED him to bark at her. . . and had the nerve to look OFFENDED!

2. anne - January 11, 2010

I love the pics of the path to the .. um .. herb garden? Is it under there somewhere? Perhaps a nice little pot on the window sill will have to suffice for a couple of months. :)

I know, right? I had intended to stick a couple of pots in the (ahem) garden window but, um, I put it off and put it off, and now (a) I can’t find any small pots at the store and (b) I can’t get to the garage to find some, and potting soil, without shoveling it out. :roll: It’s currently easier to shovel halfway to the garage – to the herb garden. :lol:

Sad, huh?


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers

