jump to navigation

Not Just For Lent Lentils February 23, 2010

Posted by Toy Lady in Cooking, Food, random stuff.
trackback

I don’t  get Lent.  Now I don’t say that to disparage anyone’s religious observance or anything – I just don’t get it.  I mean, I was the granddaughter of a very Protestant not just minister but seminary professor.  Basically, Midwestern Swedes don’t do Lent, and the neighborhood where I grew up was nothing but Swedes.

I just don’t understand it, that’s all. My entire understanding of Lent is that you “give up” something for the weeks preceding Easter, and usually, what you give up is meat.  Meat, mind you!  (That, and somehow, Fridays are involved.  I have no idea what that’s all about. )

Photobucket

Anyway.  Several years ago, our local newspaper used to have a column called the “Ask-it Basket” – people used to write in and ask for recipes, often from defunct local restaurants, and other people would provide them.   So apparently, someone was looking for the recipe for “Lentil Loaf” that was served at “The Regular Restaurant” – and a former employee from the 1970s provided it, and I thought it sounded interesting enough to cut it out and, um, shove it in a drawer and forget about it.

Photobucket

Yeah.  When I started my “I have GOT to get organized” mission last fall, one of my self-imposed tasks was to sort recipes – which I spent a couple of weekends doing.  And I found that newspaper clipping, and we eventually tried it, and we liked it.  A lot.  I made a notation in the margin that it was “surprisingly excellent” – that’s how much we liked it!  (Of course, the fact that it’s got a healthy hunk of cheddar cheese has nothing to do with it!)

PhotobucketWe start by shredding a bunch of cheddar – about half a pound, and pre-cooking a cup or so of lentils.  You know, I never really had lentils growing up – I had to look up how to cook them (boil them in salted water for 20-25 minutes, then drain)!

While the lentils were cooking, I measured out about ½ teaspoon each of salt and pepper, and 1/4 teaspoon of dried thyme.  I think, next time, I’m going to try using, maybe,  ½ teaspoon of my Tuscan herb blend – just to mix things up a bit.

Photobucket

Oh, and don’t forget to preheat your oven to 350°.

So in a good-sized mixing bowl, stir together about 1 cup of cheddar, one small-ish chopped onion, 3/4 cup of bread crumbs, and the salt-pepper-herb mix.

By the time you’re done, the lentils should be about done and ready to drain.

Photobucket

Dump them into the mixing bowl with the bread crumb-cheese mixture and stir.  Then add a pat of softened butter – about 1 Tablespoon – and an egg.  (You know you’ve gotta be kind of careful about the egg – give the lentils a bit of a chance to cool down before adding it, otherwise you’ll have lentil-scrambled egg loaf, and, well, eew.)

PhotobucketPat the mixture into a greased loaf pan, and sprinkle the remaining cup of cheese over the top.

Hey, we Midwestern Swedes love our cheese, you know!

You’re basically treating this lentil loaf like a meat loaf – only, you know, with no meat.

Photobucket

So bake the uncovered loaf for 30-40 minutes, depending on how much you let the lentils cool – basically, what you want is to be sure the eggs are cooked through and everything has a chance to melt and stick together.  Basically.

So here’s the thing – it’s good.  It’s like a vegetarian version of meatloaf, and I’m sure the possibilities for variation are practically endless – change up the herbs, switch cheeses, maybe the addition of some more veggies.  OK, maybe not endless.  But it doesn’t matter, really, because this is darned good the way it is.

Plus we served it with some brown rice and a tossed salad, so I am WAY on the plus side for Healthy Food Karma now!  (Heh.  I just made that up.)

Anyway, here’s the recipe, if you’d like to try it yourself.

Comments

1. Alea - February 23, 2010

I am going to have to give this a try! Do you think I could get away with using oatmeal instead of bread crumbs?

My Year Without Spending and Budget Confessions (both on my side bar) take suggestions for Meatless Monday ideas. I think you should suggest this plus your Lentils and Rice, if you have not already done so.

Alea – I would definitely try the lentil loaf with oatmeal instead of bread crumbs – in fact, I wish I’d thought of it!

And thanks for the tip about the Meatless Mondays- I’ll definitely look into that!

2. anne - February 23, 2010

You can definitely use oatmeal. I make it all the time using this recipe http://www.recipezaar.com/Really-Good-Vegetarian-Meatloaf-really-33921 (gee, are you surprised where I got it?? :))

I double the recipe, then load it into muffin tins. There are only two of us, so an entire loaf is too much. I freeze the muffins uncooked, then thaw before cooking. It goes really well with mashed potatoes, onion gravy and green beans. :yummy:

Anne, that does look good! I’ll definitely try the oatmeal in place of the bread crumbs, and I think I will mix up the seasonings, too. And I LOVE the muffin tin approach!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers

