jump to navigation

Stupid Lentils! May 25, 2010

Posted by Toy Lady in random stuff.
trackback

That’s pretty much been the refrain around here for the past few days.

Photobucket

Now don’t get me wrong – these French green lentils were delicious – so much so that I enjoyed the leftovers for lunch the following day.

PhotobucketAnd simple!  It was a quick matter of dicing a carrot, a celery rib, and an onion.  Rinse a cup of the lentils, and add the whole works, with a cup of chicken stock, to the sauteed veggies and just bring to a boil.  20 minutes later, we were ready to eat!

So why curse the lentils?

Photobucket

After all, we wanted something that would showcase the flavor of the French green lentil – a legume that we had not had the pleasure of meeting before.  And the texture and flavor were as advertised – firm but tender, not at all mushy, and earthy-tasting.

Photobucket

Quick and simple to cook, for sure.  The lentils were done in less than half an hour, and, let me tell you, cooked in our chicken homemade stock, they were a real treat, to be sure!

Have you ever realized just how much better homemade chicken stock makes everything?  It does make a difference!

These lentils were a perfect complement to some simply grilled chicken with fresh sage.

Photobucket

Have I mentioned my fresh sage lately?  I think it’s declared war on the oregano for Herb Garden Supreme Ruler.  It’s trying to take over.

I cut a couple of branches of sage to skewer with the chicken, for grilling.

I ended up with some extra – and I didn’t know what to do with it.  I so hate to waste it, you know?

Photobucket

But I skewered about a pound and a half of chicken tenders, with each bit of chicken covered by a sage leaf.  And I still had a ton left over!

Plus, there are like a thousand leaves still left in the garden.

You know, it’s not really wasting if you compost it, right?

PhotobucketSo back to the stupid lentils.

Has anyone ever mentioned what happens when you eat a bunch of tasty, tasty lentils for dinner?

And then you have some lentils left over, so you have a bunch more yummy lentils for lunch?

Even the dog wasn’t sure he wanted to be around me for a few days.

The dog!

Well. . . just . . . stupid lentils.

But still – they were really good.

Comments

1. mazco34 - May 25, 2010

Brings me back to “Fugitive Alien” on MST3K.

Ask Peeps, he’ll know it.

2. Annah - May 26, 2010

I’m sorry but this looks delicious. You’re making me all hungry in the office stop it!

But lentils are GOOD for you! And if everyone eats the, no one will mind the, um, side effects, right?

3. anne - May 26, 2010

I didn’t get to read this yesterday, so my comment is late. I love love love lentils! Eat legumes a little more frequently, your system will adjust.

I had to chuckle at the link you provided, where just above the text was this: “The purpose of the School for Champions is to assist you in achieving your dreams.”
:lol:

Heh. Yeah. ;)

About the legumes – you’re probably right. We do usually enjoy beans in some form once or twice a week, and they don’t usually bother me. I’d never had these particular variety of lentils – does that matter?

And also? I had lentils for dinners, lentils for lunch the next day, then black beans for dinner and black beans for lunch the day after that. . . is that what you mean by “more frequently?” :P


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers

