jump to navigation

Going shopping July 16, 2010

Posted by Peeps in Family, Home, Rochester.
Tags: , ,
trackback

As far back as I can remember, I’ve never liked shopping with my mother.  She would spend hours looking at all kinds of things.  Fabric stores were the absolute worst.  Once in a while, she would even buy something.  And I’d have to just put up with it as best I could.

My mother came up to visit last week.  Part of it was just visiting, it’s been a few years since the last time I saw her.  And part of it was shopping.

I’ve been after my mother to get out of her neighborhood for years.  It’s been getting worse every year, and since I left I haven’t been comfortable with her there by herself.  Now, I’m not saying that she’s utterly defenseless.  But she is small and grey haired and a little old.  And she has no one nearby to look out for her.  Okay, maybe she is defenseless.  That’s not a good thing.

So, after years of suggesting that she move up here, she finally decided to come take a look.

We had an appointment with a realtor last Friday morning.  Now, you have to understand that at times I’m not the friendliest of people.  Particularly when someone is trying to sell me something.  And of course, the more that something costs, the harder they’re going to try to sell it.  Which means that I have to try that much harder not to hurt them.  And why do they have to be so damned cheery?  Is there no such thing as a sullen, cranky salesperson?

Anyway, we spend the morning looking at various properties for sale in the area.  The first few we made quick work of, mostly because they were too small.  We found a couple possibles.  And moved on.  At least it wasn’t as bad as fabric shopping.

Do you remember a couple weeks ago when my wife mentioned that we found an amusing for sale sign?  Well, we got to check that one out.
Photobucket
It’s a pretty house.  The listing said that the square footage was the smallest of all the places we’d looked at, but we were here, so why not?

The living room was great.
Photobucket
Although, why anyone would put white carpeting in a room with a fireplace is beyond me.  Whatever.

The kitchen wasn’t bad at all.  Way bigger than the one my mother has now.
Photobucket
It’s very bright, a pleasant place. I could see having morning coffee in there. Not in the living room with the white carpet.

It’s even got a three-season room in the back.
Photobucket
I would probably enjoy that all four seasons. It would be a good place to watch snow fall.

There was even a partly finished basement.  A HUGE basement.  With only one problem.
Photobucket
The 70s called and they want their carpeting back.
Photobucket
Pictures don’t even begin to describe how ugly the carpeting is.  Fortunately, the rest of the basement is very spacious and seriously clean.  All in all, a very nice little house.

Which mom put a down payment on the next day.  It looks as though I’ll be getting her out of that neighborhood after all.  She’ll be less than a mile away in a much safer area.  Everyone should feel better once everything is done.  And all it took was a day of shopping with my mother.

Comments

1. mazco34 - July 16, 2010

Right after the original article, I went and looked at listings from that realator and saw the house that she placed a down payment. I remember the kitchen and the chairs with wheels.
As for the fireplace, I doubt if it was ever used. As a fireplace owner and user, it looks way too clean.
And the basement carpeting, mine was blue-aqua-white-green shag and the dog showed his displeasure with it too. I pulled it up and replaced it with some simple peel & press tile.
Good for Mother. Let’s hope it won’t take forever to pack!

2. sjbraun - July 19, 2010

What a sweet bungalow – I love the looks of it (Yeah, you’re right re. the basement – if her finances afford, I’d switch out that carpet STAT, and the paneling too – or maybe paint it white??). Anyway, very bright and cheery. Happy that your day of shopping accomplished so much!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103 other followers

