jump to navigation

Lovin’ the family farm February 15, 2011

Posted by Toy Lady in random stuff.
trackback

We need to add lima beans to the same category as parsnips – much-maligned vegetables that I never had growing up but should have.

I mean, who knew that lima beans were creamy and delicious?  Certainly not me – I don’t think I’d ever tasted a lima bean before I picked some up at the public market.

Photobucket

One of my favorite vendors has a farm outside Rochester, and he’s always at the market, every Saturday, with something from his holdings – he’s the first to offer ramps in the spring, and he has pussy willows, dried beans, popcorn, whatever’s available in the winter.

Plus, his elderly mom comes and helps out in the summer.

I can’t help it – I’m just partial to the idea of the family farm, I guess.

Photobucket
So I’m at the market, and Alex is there, in the cold, with, among other things, several packages of frozen lima beans.  We chatted for a few minutes, and I shared that I’d never had lima beans before (I know – shameful!) and he shared that his mom had shelled and frozen “a mess of them” last fall.

His 80-year-old MOM!

So I had to bring some home, didn’t I?  And I had no idea what to do with them (or even how to cook them) (I know, sad, right?).

Photobucket

So I did what anyone would do – I asked the Internet.

And I found some ideas, and some suggestions, and I figured that this couldn’t be that hard, so I determined that we’d have lima beans for dinner one evening, and that we would wing it.

I can be kind of bossy like that.

So we decided that something as healthy as lima beans (because really, what could be healthier?) should be paired with fish.

Photobucket

So what we did was so simple, you couldn’t even call it a recipe.

We started with some squares of foil – heavy-duty, just to be on the safe side.

We piled about half a cup of frozen lima beans in the middle of each square, sprinkled a smidge of parsley, and a pinch of salt and pepper.

Stick a still-frozen tilapia filet on top of the beans, a sprinkle of cayenne pepper (or paprika if you don’t like the heat, but really, there’s not much), some salt and pepper, and a drizzle of extra virgin olive oil. A little lemon zest, along with some juice, and we were set.

I’m going to say, on the olive oil, break out the good stuff – there’s no other fat in this, and if you’re using olive oil, use the extra virgin – it just tastes good. That’s all I’m saying.

Photobucket

Also, a splash of white wine.  Maybe a couple of Tablespoons – just enough to create enough liquid to steam the fish.

And we wrap everything up, crimping the edges so none of the juices escape.

Into the oven it goes – 375 degrees for 20 minutes – that’s really all it takes for the frozen tilapia fillets to be cooked to perfection.

Photobucket

And we placed the tilapia and the lima beans on top of a bed of rice, drizzling the cooking juices over the rice.

And let me tell you – it was delicious.  The fish was perfectly cooked, and the lima beans – OH MY! – they were soft and creamy and just, well, WHY DIDN’T I KNOW ABOUT THIS?

Comments

1. judy - February 15, 2011

This sounds wonderful! I have been a lima bean fan for as long as I can remember! Have a great day.

Thanks, Jude – you too. :)

2. Nickoshi - February 15, 2011

wow that looks good and sadly I have never had a lima bean either lol… there are alot of veggies I have yet to try out in the world but i figure i will put them on my bucket list ;)

-Nicole

Oh, Niko, you should try them! Don’t get the canned ones, though – Peeps says they’re available in supermarkets frozen (who knew?) – they were SO GOOD! Even The Boy cleaned his plate. :D

3. anne - February 15, 2011

Mmmmmmmm .. lima beans and rice. Nom nom nom. Good find!!

Oh, Anne, they were fantastic! And when I went back, he didn’t have any left. :( Fortunately, we only used half of them – so I’ve still got half a bag in the freezer! :lol: And yes, I know I can buy them at the store, but it’s just not the same. ;)

4. Lori - February 28, 2011

I wonder if your favorite farmer is my favorite farmer. Sounds like it. Is he a really sweet black guy? I buy something from him each time I go. Sometimes I may not even need it at that moment but I want to support him. He has all kinds of different things too.

Yes, that’s him – he’s always so friendly, isn’t he?

5. Do you know what season it is? « Dark Side of the Fridge - April 28, 2011

[…] is one vendor at the market who is always the first to offer ramps – as a farmer, he knows as well as […]


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers

