jump to navigation

Man, it’s hot July 22, 2011

Posted by Peeps in Home, random stuff, Work.
trackback

You may recall my wife mentioning that it was going to be hot this week.

Sadly, the weather people kept revising the forecast for this week.  In an upward direction.  Up until Thursday morning, they were calling for highs around 100 degrees for Thursday.  For those among you who might be in Europe or a member of the scientific community in this country who uses Celsius, that’s around the 37 degree mark.  Which sounds so much better.  Oh, and all mention of rain has utterly vanished.

Now, while this isn’t a lot of fun, we’re not doing too badly.  The house is air conditioned, so sleeping at night is possible.  We have plenty of beer in the fridge so that we stay hydrated.  Showering twice a day isn’t really a bad thing.  And of course, I’m not going to have to mow the lawn again probably until late September.  But there are a couple of serious problems with this sort of weather.

Walking the dog is not fun.  My wife walks him in the morning when I leave for work.  At that early hour, it’s not horrible out.  But it is warm.  The last few days have been in the low to mid seventies.  At 4:30 in the morning.  Dude.

He’s okay with that, but he’d really much rather be in the nice air conditioned house.  Afternoons have been another story.  He does not like hot weather at all.  All he wants to do is go back to the house and lie down and pant for a couple hours next to one of the vents.  And I can’t blame him a bit.

My job is the worst, though.  The building I work in seems to retain the heat during the night time hours.  Which it does not do in the winter.  Ever.

Walking into a building before dawn and seeing that the inside temperature is in the low 90s is never a good thing.  Even worse is having to turn on the oven at that point.

The bread oven at work is slightly larger than a Hummer.  And it spends most of the working day around the 500 degree mark.  Throwing off heat.

Thursday morning, the day the forecast was calling for outside temperatures in the upper 90s, I walked into work.  The thermostat said that it was 100 degrees.  At 4:45 in the morning.  Not good.

So, I turned the oven on and went about my business.  It was awful.  By the time I left work, the temperature was reading 109.  I had consumed three liters of water, and didn’t remotely need to pee.  This time of year work is less than fun.

We only have another couple days more of this crap before the weather is supposed to break.  I hope so, it felt like the air show, without the cool military hardware.  Indoors.

So, I plan to think good thoughts of cold fronts and rain.  Rain in the Summer time.

Comments

1. judy - July 22, 2011

I can’t even imagine what your day was like Peeps. Hopefully you are properly cooled down by now and enjoy a cold one or 3. I know, somebody has to bake the bread……… via The Little Red Hen (ask Kris)

Peeps - July 25, 2011

I remember the Little Red Hen all too well. And I think she didn’t even enjoy a beer after work nearly as much as I did.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers

