jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 09.26.2011 Edition September 26, 2011

Posted by Toy Lady in Musings, random stuff.
Tags:
trackback

Photobucket

This was a market weekend.  A market weekend in September.

You do know what the means, right?

It means EVERYTHING is in season – squash and greens and cucumbers and corn and sweet potatoes and, well everything.

How’s a gal supposed to show restraint?

Photobucket

PhotobucketOne non-seasonal thing I do like to pick up at the market is these packets of dried fruit – I like to use them in granola.

Hey, it’s better than boring old raisins!

So anyway, I noticed, when I used the “Tropical Fruit Mix” that it was “with cantaloupe.”

Um.

?

Since when is cantaloupe tropical?

And really?  Who dehydrates cantaloupe?

Photobucket

Photobucket

Don’t you hate it when good vegetables go bad?

I always like to make it a habit to keep a stalk of celery in the refrigerator – it’s handy for so many things, most of them involving braising or stewing.

Unfortunately,  in the warmer months, we do very little braising or stewing, but I still keep celery around.

It looks like this celery has gone com-postal.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Oh my gosh, it’s SO NICE to be able to shove the dogs out into the back yard when I’ve got Things To Do!

Saturday morning, I tossed a couple of toys out with them – Jarly claimed a Wubba, and Gretchen was all over the Rubber Chicken!

It’s such fun to watch the two over-sized puppies playing – I still don’t get anything done, but at least I have fun about it!

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  This week, we’ve it looks like we’ve got rain just about every day, though the temperatures will be quite nice.  I think we’re getting to the time of year where grilling is a nice treat, and we’ve got to plan most of our meals to be cooked in the house for the foreseeable future.

Photobucket

It’s all good though – we’ve got plenty of things to cook in the house!

Monday – Since swim guy is down for the time being, we’re going to shift soup night to Mondays, which is Dog Class night.  This week, I picked up a gorgeous stalk of home-grown celery, so we’re going to try a puree of celery soup.  Since it’s a fairly light soup, we know we’ll be hungry again after a rough evening of dog wrangling, so we’ll be able to enjoy some ice cream or other dessert practically without guilt!

Tuesday – Chicken was on sale again this week, so we’re going to enjoy our original oven roasted chicken with rosemary and hazelnuts.  Gosh this is good!  We’ll have some rice and what’s left of the garden green beans.

Wednesday – I also got some baby bok choy at the market, which, to me, says stir fry!  We’ve got a small steak defrosted from Sunday, so we’ll use that as the protein component.  The stir fry will probably include some red peppers, and we’ll serve it with pasta instead of rice.

Thursday – I got a lovely bunch of mustard greens at the market this weekend.  According to the Internet, nothing goes as well with mustard greens as chick peas.  I found this balsamic-glazed chick peas and mustard greens recipe that looked intriguing.  Wish us luck. . .

Friday – And again, three cheers for pizza night!  My tomatoes are still holding on – as long as I’ve got tomatoes to slice and herbs to chop, my pizza remains – fresh tomatoes, fresh herbs, and just enough cheese to stick everything together!

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. The Innkeeper's Daughter - September 26, 2011

puppies??? hmmm. still cute though!

The sure act like it! I’ve said all along – they’re like a pair of toddlers.

2. sjbraun - September 26, 2011

Ha … I frequently find celery in the produce drawer that looks that way. Your dogs are TOO cute, playing together! I wanna move to where you are so I can go to the same market. Very cool! But I’m with you on the dried cantaloupe … hmm …

Any time you decide to move, I’ll be more than happy to show you around! Our public market is one of the oldest in the country – we are so fortunate. :)

3. Lora Branam - September 28, 2011

I always say my dogs are like having toddlers in the house! :-) I might try the celery puree soup. Looks good ! Let us know how those mustard greens turn out! Have a blessed week !

Hi, Lora, thanks for joining us this week! The celery soup was very good – my son (who works evenings) was less than thrilled with it, but I think that was mostly because he thought it was split pea soup, then he was SORELY disappointed!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers

