jump to navigation

November’s Third Thursday November 17, 2011

Posted by Toy Lady in baking, random stuff, Third Thursday.
trackback

Photobucket

Welcome to November’s Third Thursday – November!

If I were a good blogger, I’d be blogging about Thanksgiving sides, or maybe even how to roast a turkey.

Though honestly?  If you’re cooking Thanksgiving dinner this year, you’ve probably already got your menu set, and if you’re not, you don’t care, right?

Photobucket

However, maybe you’re a guest at a family dinner, and you want to bring something non-intrusive, but still welcome.

Or perhaps you have an actual food assignment.  (Or am I the only one who gets those?)

So anyway.

My food assignment is usually “rolls” and it’s often “rolls and . . . ” where “. . . ” could be pie, or it could be some vegetable – but it usually includes bread of some sort.

Photobucket

So anyway.

Every year about this time, I like to pay special attention to the King Arthur Flour Blog – I read it regularly, but they really do shine when it comes to breads and rolls and that sort of thing, don’t they?

And we really need nice breads and rolls around the holidays.

Or, you know, when your mother-in-law is coming to town and you need something nice to go with vegetable soup.

PhotobucketSo it just happened that one day King Arthur featured their Butterflake Herb Loaf -a delightfully rich potato bread (I used 1/4 cup of instant potato flakes to the dough – how easy is that?) filled with an herby filling.

The original recipe used a butter-herb filling, but there were alternate versions – including pesto and even a maple sugar-butter filling.

I had a container of pesto in the fridge, and I thought the basil-y pesto would be excellent with vegetable soup.

Photobucket

It was truly a beautiful dough to work with – rich and cooperative – it was a happy dough that rolled out nicely and worked and played well with others.

So I rolled the dough out and used round cutters to cut it into a dozen 3-and-a-half inch circles.

I spread HALF of each circle with about a teaspoon or so of pesto, then folded each into a little half-moon shape, and layered them into a sprayed loaf pan.

PhotobucketActually, two loaf pans – six folded circles fit into each pan nicely.

And yeah, sure, it may not look too impressive before it’s baked – after all, it’s raw dough pesto sandwiches.

BUT.

Let those babies rise a bit, bake them, and the next thing you know, you have pre-sliced, pre-seasoned, pull-apart bread.

Bread, I might add, that goes mighty nicely with any vegetable soup you’d care to try.

Photobucket

Also – and I’m just sharing my experience here – I couldn’t help noticing that over the course of the next couple of nights, it appeared that the Boy put a pretty good hurt on what bread was leftover.

Probably because it was THAT GOOD.

Definitely check out the King Arthur Blog if you ever like to do anything remotely baking-like.  Those people know their stuff.

If you’d like to play along, leave a comment with a link to (or a description of) your Third Thursday project – tell us what you’re up to!  For loose (really loose!) guidelines, or if you want to check out some past Thursdays, they’re right here!

Comments

1. sjbraun - November 17, 2011

Those look wonderful! I was kind of looking for a reason to try making some basil pesto, and it looks like you’ve provided me one ;) I love King Arthur flour too, although I’ve not read their blog. I will have to look it up. I have a friend who used to live near their headquarters and she had toured the place and loved it.

Here’s my contribution:

http://girlsinwhitedresses.wordpress.com/2011/11/17/cereal-box-kids-art-display/

Nothing cooking-related that I’d photographed lately, so it’s a craft edition.
Happy Thanksgiving!

Excellent! Thanks for playing along. :)

And seriously, if you’ve got a surplus of basil, I’d definitely make some pesto – I always like to keep some in the freezer, frozen in ice cube trays. It’s handy for all sorts of things. :)

2. judy - November 17, 2011

OH, that bread looks just delicious~ And The Boy has good taste. I can almost taste it from here.

I keep thinking I’d like to try it with cinnamon or maple butter, but then I keep remembering that that’s the probably LAST thing I need to do!

3. kayatthekeyboard - November 18, 2011

I had to cut-and-paste the recipe for this one; it will likely make an appearance in a breakfasty type situation over the T’giving holiday. I have a yeast roll recipe I just will NOT have Thanksgiving (or Christmas) without, in honor of the 70-some-year-old woman who used to oversee the making of 1,200 of them for the annual church turkey dinner, and who gave me the recipe.

I’m sure you’ll like it, Kay – I’ve always been happy with KA recipes. I’m seriously considering a breakfasty application for it myself. Maybe butter and maple sugar. . .


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103 other followers

