jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 12.12.2011 Edition December 12, 2011

Posted by Toy Lady in Big Lug, Musings, random stuff.
Tags:
trackback

Photobucket

It’s been SUCH a busy week around here!

I’ve been working late just about every evening, and Peeps has been picking up an awful lot of slack around the house because of it.

I’ve even been too tired (lazy) in the mornings to root around in the freezer for smoothie fruit, so I’ve been enjoying granola most mornings.  That is, until I ran out!  Now I had to take the time this weekend to whip up some granola for breakfasts – this batch has dates, almonds, lots of honey and a bit of cinnamon and butter.  Should be great!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Oh, I almost forgot!

Thanksgiving weekend, Peeps and I made the annual baklava!  I skipped it last year since he was out of town and I was painting, and you know, I kind of wished I hadn’t.

So anyway, I’ve got a lovely pan of baklava, just sitting and mellowing on the top shelf in the kitchen – it’ll be ready by Christmas week.

If you haven’t made baklava before, you really should try it.  I’m here to tell you it’s worth the hour or two in the kitchen, and there’s still time for it to get happy before Christmas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Don’t forget this week is the Third Thursday of the month!  Please feel free to join us for this month’s Third Thursday event – just “borrow” a recipe (or any other anything) from someone else’s blog (or elsewhere) and tell us about it!   Be creative – challenge yourself!

I have no idea what I’m going to do – I’ve been so buried for the past few weeks that the most interesting “challenge” I’ve had was trying to keep a clear spot to work at my desk.

Complete details are here, and remember, the more the merrier!

Photobucket

PhotobucketThe Jar has had a busy weekend, and he likes to take a bit of time to relax in the sun.

We had a couple of chilly mornings (you can see where the sun hadn’t yet melted the snow on the deck), and that always makes him want to walk.  And walk.  Even frolic.  He slipped Friday morning (chasing a tennis ball), and, though he was fine, he was a little stiff.  Then, Friday afternoon, he had a vet’s appointment, and, while making a FOOL out of himself, he fell again.

Poor Jar has been with suffering some anxiety issues.  Or something.  He’s always been a little . . . funny with strange dogs and people who are obviously afraid of him.  Not dangerous, just, well, we’ve had to manage him fairly well.  And a couple of months ago, he just started losing his grip.  Super-protective, lunging at other dogs on walks, it’s just been awful.  Something’s going on with him, and he’s just not happy.

After getting demoted from his “advanced” training class, and then spending most of his next class in “time out,” we spoke with our trainer then the vet.  The upshot is that Jar has started taking Prozac.  It’s supposed to help him relax enough to learn how to deal with whatever’s stressing him so much.  Then we’ll start weaning him off, and he’ll be good as new.

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  We’ve got another busy week – we’re both buried at work, and by the time we get home, either it’s late or we’re exhausted.  Or, most likely, both.  Since our puppy class is on Sunday, that means most of our dinners are going to be kind of low-energy this week.

Monday – We dug some whitefish out of the freezer, and Peeps will probably bake that simply to go with some leftover roasted vegetables that are still hanging around in the fridge.  Easy, simple and, hopefully, tasty!

Tuesday – I did manage to put together a soup this weekend – I found this roasted red pepper, lentil and corn soup a while ago and have been dying to try it.  We’ve got everything on hand – THIS is why I roast all those red peppers in season!

Wednesday – I was poking around the freezer, and I realized that I’ve still got a package of fava beans from last spring.  I thought about the lima beans and thought maybe fava beans would serve the same purpose – with some chicken cutlets and maybe slices of frozen tomatoes – I’ve got a bag of them in the freezer.  And maybe some herbs and good olive oil.  All on a bed of rice.  It can work, right?

Thursday – The Boy mentioned that he prefers beef over pretty much any other meat.  And it just so happens that we have a small roast in the freezer, so, since Thursday is his day off, we thought it might be nice to do a wee roast beef.  It’ll be a simple matter to shove it in the oven a couple of hours before dinner, and we’ll do some sort of potatoes (which will depend on how ambitious we’re feeling) and open a jar of our freshly-canned collards.

Friday – And yay, it’s pizza night!  I suspect we’ll have some leftover roast beef, and it’ll go quite nicely on pizza – I do love a “cheesesteak”-style pizza – a bit of beef, some caramelized onions and provolone cheese .

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. sjbraun - December 12, 2011

I love all the photos of your doggie. We went to the shelter’s open house last week — I’m never sure if that’s a good thing or not; I just leave feeling sad for all those big, sad eyes and the reality that most of them don’t have long left on the planet :(
But it’s Christmas, so how about some cheer? Your menu looks wonderful as always. That fish and veggies is sounding particularly yummy at the moment …

I almost can’t bear visiting shelters – for exactly that reason. All those poor, lonely dogs (and cats!) that just want a home. :cry: I want to scoop them all up and bring them home, but, well, that’s not really practical, is it?

During the holidays, especially, I do like to try to stick some lighter meals in – we end up eating SO MUCH JUNK – and not even bad junk, just a lot of rich foods, sweets, a taste of this and a sample of that. Baked fish was perfect. :)

2. Judy - December 12, 2011

Oh Jar, hope the meds work. I am sorry he is having such a hard time. The menus always look wonderful and I think your freezer must be absolutely bottomless. You look and find and look and find. The Boy should enjoy his meal. I know I would. The total craziness will be over soon? Hope so for everyone. Hang in there everyone. Looking forward is the only way to cope I think.

Hey, Jude. I’m starting to think the freezer is bottomless, too! Problem is that when stuff is on sale, I like to stock up, and we’ve gradually shifted the way we eat, so. . . but it’s good – I almost never buy meat unless it is on sale. :D And I think the Jar is going to be okay – he’s just a little over-stressed, I think – I think the episode with Gretchen, then Peeps’s mom, and now I’m often working late – poor puppy. Awareness on our part is a big help, too, I think.

3. Tammy - December 16, 2011

I hope that the meds do well. Our dog seems nervous and anxious at times, and we’ve been giving him SAM-E. It seems to help. He’s a 100 lb. part yellow lab. who will be 10 in February.

Hi, Tammy, thanks for the encouragement! I’ll definitely keep the SAM-e in mind and discuss it with our vet next time we see him.

And wow – your dog’s a big lab, too, isn’t he?


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 101 other followers

