jump to navigation

I’m Not Really a Buffalo Gal February 24, 2012

Posted by Toy Lady in Cooking, Cooking Challenge, random stuff.
trackback

Photobucket

A long time ago – a REALLY long time ago – I’m talking the Boy was barely a toddler – I cooked in a restaurant.  It was a tiny little local joint – basically, the diner had always been there, right on Main Street, and the then-owner bought the building next door, got a liquor license,  put in a connecting door, and turned it into a “dining and tap room.”

It was there that I learned about pizza & wings.

PhotobucketIn the Dining & Tap Room.

Classy joint, that.

I don’t understand the connection between pizza and chicken wings.  But then I don’t understand the connection between chicken wings and bleu cheese, either, so I guess you really can’t go by me.

However, I do know how to make wing sauce – I always kept a bucket of each hot, medium, and mild.  Once the wings were cooked (deep-fried, of course!) they got tipped into the sauce of choice, lidded up, and shaken, not stirred.

Photobucket

So when said Boy started making noises about wanting “Buffalo wing pizza” I, if nothing else, knew where to start.

Like I said, I don’t understand the connection between chicken wings and pizza, but, since there apparently is one, I guess it only makes sense to combine the two, right?

I might as well be clueless all at once.

Photobucket

So I started with a small package of “chicken fingers” and made a sauce for them.

Just between you and me, chickens don’t actually have fingers.

What I used was bits of chicken breast leftover from making chicken cutlets.

The sauce was pretty straightforward:

PhotobucketAbout half a cup of Frank’s Red Hot Sauce (it has to be Frank’s – I don’t know why, but it always is), and half a teaspoon each of cayenne pepper and paprika.

After all, it’s one thing to use cayenne pepper sauce – it’s totally another to use actual cayenne.

And for the lightweights out there – medium wing sauce has the addition of liquid margarine (gack), and mild sauce?  That’s barbecue sauce.

Photobucket

And so we marinated the chicken “fingers” in the hot sauce, then, Thursday afternoon, Peeps baked the bird, shredded the meat, and stashed it back in the fridge for pizza night.

Then, on Friday, he did his regular pizza crust thing – tossed and rolled and shaped and whatever, but, instead of pizza sauce, or even olive oil, he smeared some bleu cheese dressing on the crust.

PhotobucketExcept for mine – for my pie, I had ranch dressing.  I just can’t handle bleu cheese – it tastes moldy and gross to me.  I’ve tried, and I’ll probably try again, but at this point . . . blech.

From there, it’s basic pizza-making protocol – sprinkle the meat, in this case shreddy chicken, then top with cheese.

Bake in a REALLY hot oven for like 5 minutes, and let rest until the rest of the pies are done.

Photobucket

Once the last pie comes out of the oven, it’s time to cut and enjoy the first three (and the Big Lug‘s Kong) – the last pizza is for the Boy, who works Friday evenings – he gets to enjoy his pizza cold, once he gets home.

Bottom line?  This Buffalo wing pizza definitely did not suck.

I’d eat it again – though I’ll never understand the bleu cheese thing.  But I can live with ranch.

Maybe because  I’ll always be a Rochester gal.

Comments

1. The Innkeeper's Daughter - February 24, 2012

No bleu cheese? Sacrilege!

Oh, I know. I’ve tried – so hard – but I just can’t get past the . . . moldy flavor. :(

2. sjbraun - February 24, 2012

I’m so sick of our homemade pizza, but this looks so yummy. I’ll have to try a variation next time we do pizza. Thanks!

It’s definitely a change, isn’t it? I like to try different kinds of pizza – though during tomato season, I mostly restrict the experimentation to what herbs I put on my fresh tomato pizza! ;)

3. Judy - February 25, 2012

Looking very tempting there! I know it would be delicious. I am with you also about the cheese!

The ranch dressing is surprisingly tasty!

4. Monday Musings: 04.23.2012 Edition « Dark Side of the Fridge - April 23, 2012

[...] And again, it’s pizza night!  We had leftover roast chicken last week, which became Buffalo pizza –  I don’t know what I’ll do this week.  Something interesting, I’m [...]


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers

