jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 03.12.2012 Edition March 12, 2012

Posted by Toy Lady in Musings.
trackback

Photobucket

Or maybe we should call this the “Welcome to Spring” Edition!

Although we’ve had one of the mildest winters I can remember (so far, anyway!), it has, in fact, still been winter.   Which means we’re all looking forward to spring!

And you know what one of the first signs of spring is in our yard?  (Besides the robins that are showing up, and even Mr. Blue Jay, who made an appearance this weekend.)

The baby garlic that we planted last fall is sprouting!

I guess that means it’s time to start thinking about lettuce and spinach and peas, doesn’t it?

Photobucket
Photobucket

Every December, I like to buy a fresh wreath at the Public Market.

One of the things I love about them is that the vendor can even tell you exactly what kind of tree the wreath came from and everything!

And, while I do like the decorated ones, I love a simple, plain wreath, adorned with not much more than a bow.

Photobucket

So much so that it’s kind of hard for me to part with it!

So I thought, well, if you can have a wreath made from an evergreen at Christmastime why not at Easter?

You know, circle of life, and all that.

Plus, you know, I guess I’m kind of into Peeps this year.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Would you believe that AFTER the garlic sprouted – THEN the crocuses (crocii?) (does anyone even know what the plural of crocus is?)

Anyway.  The garlic’s been up, doing its thing, for DAYS now – and I’ve only just seen the little crocus cluster – and I walk by that every day on my way to the car.

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  Unfortunately, I didn’t take a good look at the forecast for the week – I’m going to be working late, so it’s not like I’m actually going to see any of the beautiful weather we’ve got coming up!  So we planned the week’s meals based on what’s easy, what’s tasty, and what can Peeps  get on the table in half an hour – the time from when I email him that I’m on my way home, to the time I actually get home, greet my boys, take off my shoes, and go upstairs to change my clothes.

Monday - Except Monday.  For some reason, I got it in my head that I want roast pork.  Nothing fancy.  Just a nice hunk of pig, juicy and flavorful, with maybe some fingerling potatoes roasted alongside for good measure.  And gravy.  GOT to have gravy.  Peeps volunteered to oversee that dinner for Monday, his day off, and we’ll have broccoli with it.  Cheese sauce might be asking a bit much, though.

Tuesday - It’s the last of this session’s obedience classes – Jar still isn’t quite up to speed when it comes to Other Dogs (sigh), though he’s an ace at “down” and “stay!”   Since it’s a rushed dinner night, we’ll have a lentil soup – basically it’s this recipe, only instead of curry powder, we’re using more of a Moroccan spice blend, like this one.

Wednesday - Last week, we pulled several meatless, or mostly meatless, recipes out, with the intention of using them over then next few weeks.  This week’s selection is a recipe that had been clipped out of the paper who-knows-when for North African sweet potato burgers.  Surprisingly (or not) I did find the recipe on the internet – though can anyone tell me what sweet potato burgers might have to do with fertility?

Thursday - We made a BIG pot of chili this weekend – perfect to heat back up at the end of a long week.  And maybe I’ll get a few lunches out of it, as well.

Friday - Friday is always pizza night around here – last week, Peeps’s friend Lizzie, between poutine runs,  has been making ricotta cheese.  And I’ve got to say – last week’s pizza with homemade ricotta and hard salami?  Gonna be hard to beat.

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. Judy - March 12, 2012

Spring is springing here too. When I ran my errands I was paying attention to people’s yards and the spring flowers are there! AND a tree just outside my bedroom window just bust out today with pink blossomes and it is lovely. I am so ready. I didn’t live here last spring and there are trees everywhere so I am hoping for lots of color this spring.

Jar, can you just pay attention and get this schooling behind you! It is spring break for heavens sake. And your peeps are tired too.

Your pizza sounded divine and i love the garlic coming up. Yes, tis time to look at lettuce and all the rest. Speaking of rest…get some. All of you.

Wow, Judy, you’ve got more spring than we do! We’ve just barely got some trees budding. . . but I still think it’s time to get the early veggies in the ground. Yay!

2. susanklement - March 13, 2012

My garden is being planted next week! I have someone else do it, because I don’t have the time or knowledge, but I am learning. We do have spinach coming up already–when we planted in the fall, nothing came up, but now I have early spinach! We planted a whole 4 x 4 bed of garlic in the fall, so I should have big garlic cloves this June!I have some lettuce and the cilantro that never came up in the fall in sprouting now, too! So exciting!

Every year, I tell myself I’m going to put in spinach or lettuce in the fall for spring, and every year, I get SO BUSY in the fall that it just never happens. :roll:

So yeah, I guess it’s time, huh? :D

Now to just get someone to do the tilling. . .

3. The Innkeeper's Daughter - March 17, 2012

Judy, thought I love your comments about JAR “getting it”??? I have to say it is almost more fun for him to not “get it”, and us to continue to read about his escapades. I mean really, Jar is almost as entertaining as Marmaduke!

Oh, fear not -Jar will still have plenty of escapades, even once he’s tamed.

Wait, that sounded wrong. Domesticated. :? Under control. :D


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers

