jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 03.19.2012 Edition March 19, 2012

Posted by Toy Lady in random stuff.
Tags:
trackback

Photobucket

Is it Monday already?

Wow, it seems like just a couple of days ago, I was enjoying my pizza with leftover pork roast and some nice mozzarella – oh, well, I guess it was just a couple of days ago!

Surprisingly, when I got up the next morning,  I found that someone had swapped a piece of MY breakfast for a piece of his.

I guess I can’t blame him, though – it was mighty good!

Photobucket

Photobucket

So did y’all have a nice St. Patrick’s Day?

Do you even celebrate it?  Being (a) not Irish, and (b) not Catholic, it’s really never been a big holiday around my house.

Regardless, I’ve gotta wonder about whoever the person is who sets up the local news website – I mean, I suspect the guy who died when he fell off the parking garage Saturday may not agree completely about this “luck of the Irish” headline, you know?

Photobucket

Photobucket

Remember how clever I felt last week when I (ahem) repurposed my Christmas wreath?

Yeah, maybe putting actual Peeps on the wreath on the front porch wasn’t the best idea in the world, was it?

Apparently, what with the less-cold-than-normal winter, then the early spring, “bugs” are becoming a real problem.  I wonder if giant black ants count?

Regardless, it’s occurred to me that it may be a good idea to start the the Big Lug‘s monthly flea treatments a little early this year. . .

And, um, Peeps got rid of the Peeps for me.

Photobucket

Holy Cow – I came home from work one day, and the crocus crocuses crocii cute little  buds that had been there in the morning were in full-on blossom by the time I got home.

Photobucket

And it wasn’t even like I was that late getting home that day, either!

I guess it’s time to start weeding, huh?

Photobucket

Photobucket

I guess it’s really true – spring is here.  For the first time in months, we even consulted the forecast when planning the menu!
Photobucket
I am assuming the green shaggy stuff at the bottom of Tuesday is grass – is it the Spring Equinox?  Anyway, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.

Monday - I had Peeps pull a whole chicken out of the freezer the other day (we’ve gotten into the habit of picking up 2 or 3 birds when they’re on sale for, oh, say, $.79 a pound – how can we go wrong?), so ANYWAY, we thought we’d try a variation of this chicken oreganato - goodness knows we’ve got the oregano to spare!  We’ll probably have salad, and either rice or some roasted potatoes with it.

Tuesday - So the first time we actually plan ahead to use the grill, and Peeps is jonesing for . . . chicken and bacon.  We can definitely live with that – it’s a little labor intensive, yeah, but he’s willing to do it.  Not sure what he’s planning to go with the chicken, but I’m sure he’ll think of something.

Wednesday - Again with the grill – and this is a little more expected – how about some burgers!  Since the Boy is expected to be home for dinner, we do try to do something we’re reasonably certain he’ll like, though I’m not sure how he’s going to feel about our combining a small package of grinding beef with a small package of Italian sausage.  And, since it’s really and truly spring, I’m going to TRY to make some potato salad to go along.

Thursday - A while back, I printed a Cooking Light recipe for Thyme-Scented White Bean Cassoulet – and, for some reason, it got filed under “meatless.”  Which is fine, except that I’m not about to use “meatless Italian sausage.”  So we’ll hold out a quarter pound or so of the sausage from Wednesday and use that.  We’ll call it “minimal meat.”

Friday - And again, yay! for pizza night!  I just love using leftovers on my pie – maybe this week, I’ll hold out some of the bacony chicken and sauce.  Hmmmm. . .

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. Judy - March 19, 2012

I love your “little buds” blooming now. They sprung before official Spring didn’t they? I so hope the grill gets used a lot this week. Our huge ? storm was a moisture bust at least here. Blew like crazy yesterday, cold today but about 12 rain drops on my freshly washed and now dust covered car. NASTY.

I could eat a grilled meal for sure and oh, that pizza looked really yummy. Have a good week all around.

Oh, I’m hoping we’ll continue the mild weather – I’m so itching to get my garden in! As long as it doesn’t snow, I’m good!

And yeah, I think my car can use a good wash too. :?

2. sjbraun - March 21, 2012

So much to love here, as usual :) I love your eye for finding little inconsistencies like the “luck of the Irish”! And what lovely crocuses (Whatever!) – mine are blooming; I only dislike that they seem to bloom for such a short time. The Peeps wreath is such a cute idea, but we’re being deluged with bugs, too — I can see how that would become problematic fast. Have a great week!

You’re so right about the crocuses – they have such a short life! Now I’m seeing daffodils all over, though – and soon it’ll be tulips, then lilacs. . .

Ya know, I was a little concerned about what the birds might do with the Peeps – or maybe bees – but I never once thought of ants! :roll:

3. Cristin Michelle Bruno - March 23, 2012

i love love love reading your Monday Musings. i really should be commenting more. but i do read every week..comments or not.
i am hating this weather already. great for grilling . horrible for bugs. ughh
i bookmarked the chicken oreganato and i can not wait to make it. i have run out of ideas for chicken thigh besides..lemon chicken, bbq thighs, or plain baked. these should be delicious. i usually make thighs once a week because i love them and they are so so cheap!!
and i love seeing what ind of pizza you make. really need to try that out using leftovers
sorry about the long comment
looking forward to next weeks post!
Here is a link to my Menu Plan
I’d love if you stopped by my blog
Enjoy your weekend:)

Hey, Cristin, I’m just happy you’re enjoying us! I do appreciate your comments, of course, especially when you take the time to tell me you’re reading! :)


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers

