jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 03.26.2012 March 26, 2012

Posted by Toy Lady in Big Lug, meal plan monday, random stuff, Stupor Kitty.
trackback

Photobucket

This was a market weekend for me, and, though I’ve been doing so well lately at not going overboard, this week, well, I couldn’t help myself!

I mean – freshly pressed cider (from the end of last year’s apples, I’m sure, but still!), gorgeous leeks (for $2 a bunch!), kale (watch for that to appear on next week’s menu) and escarole, not to mention ground lamb (I never see that!), and, best of all, the first of the ramps!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Sometimes, I just wish someone would smack me upside the head and be done with it!

Do you have any idea how long I’ve been buying fresh greens, washing them, sticking them in big old Tupperware bowls, and filling the refrigerator with them?

Yes, I know, they keep better unwashed, BUT they’re more likely to get used if they’re already cleaned, so there’s that.

But do you know how much easier it is to just wash the buggers and stuff them in a zip-top bag?  And, most importantly, how much less refrigerator space they use?

*smack*

Photobucket

Photobucket

I’ve still got the Christmas tree in the window- not decorated of course (never mind about the wreath), plus an amaryllis, Christmas cactus (yes, it’s still kind of blooming) and a couple of coffee-bean plants.

Poor kitty – when she wants to sun herself in the garden window, she has to squeeeeze between the greenery.

Though I think she kind of likes playing “jungle kitty,” don’t you?

Photobucket

Photobucket

Jar’s been running a little low on bones lately.

I find that we do best when I buy a BIG bag of them at the market, then wrap them individually in plastic wrap.

The individual bones then get stashed in a bag in the freezer.  Wrapping them separately makes it SO much easier to just pull one out – and I give them to him frozen (unwrapped first, of course).

Jarly doesn’t mind a little frost on his treat.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Of course, when I bring the bones home, they’re unfrozen.

You know what that means, right?

I walk into the house with a bag full of fresh, raw meat and bones, and Mr. Nosy McSniffypants won’t leave me alone until he gets one!

Honestly, that dog follows me from the front door through the house into the kitchen – with his nose INSIDE the bag that’s got the bones in it (which makes for more than a little awkwardness when it comes to trying to walk!).

Photobucket

Photobucket

While Jar was outside enjoying his bone, I took the opportunity to fill his Friday Night Kongs – I stir together a cup of kibble with a can of Mighty Dog, then stuff the mixture into the two Kongs, cover them, and shove them in the freezer.  (Freezing the Kong toy slows him down a bit.)

While I was doing that, the Kitty came out and made such a PEST of herself that I finally just let her lick the can.

I didn’t have the heart to tell her that no, that wasn’t chopped up actual dogs in there.

Photobucket

Before I forget, I wanted to mention that I’d heard from Jarly’s  swim guy – he’s been down with an injury for a few months now, and he’s finally gotten the green light to back to swimming dogs!  We’re so happy for him – and for all his charges!

He’s starting small right now – hopefully we’ll be able to get Jar back in the water before too long!

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  After an utterly fantastic week, weather-wise anyway, I guess we’re back to March.  Not that I’m complaining – March is a million times better than February!

Monday – Although the weather has cooled off, now that we’ve fired up the grill, we’re, well, fired up about it.  When I saw the ground lamb at the market this weekend, I knew this would be a good time for some knock-off gyros – we may stand in front of the grill shivering, but so be it.  I can’t let the fresh ground meat languish in the fridge any longer.

Tuesday – Tuesday actually looks to be slightly warmer than Monday, so we’re going to grill pork chops.  Not sure yet how, or what we’ll do with them, but there’ll be pork chops, anyway.  Maybe something sweet potato-y.

Wednesday – Since I just couldn’t resist a 75-cent head of escarole, and I still have some “fresh” (grown last fall, anyway) dried kidney beans, I decided I wanted to do some sort of “beans and greens” – after all, we have greens, and we have beans, so. . . I found this Crunchy & Creamy Beans & Greens – obviously, I’ll be using kidney beans instead of white beans, and escarole instead of chard, but other than those substitutions (you know, the, um, beans and the greens) it should be pretty much the same as written.

Thursday – We had leftover chicken knocking around in the freezer, plus loads of corn from last season to use up.  When I got this recipe for Chinese Chicken & Corn Soup in my email the other day, well, I was All Over It!

Friday – And that brings us back to pizza night – last week’s pie with the leftover bacony chicken and barbecue sauce was nothing short of fantastic.  It’s going to be a tough act to follow!

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. sjbraun - March 26, 2012

Looks like a good week for kitty and puppy :) I am so envious of your farmer’s market!!! And that is a good idea re. storing greens in bags … it hadn’t occurred to me either!

Yeah, those poor pets – they’re so neglected, aren’t they? :D

2. Judy - March 27, 2012

Well you know I am happy with kitty in my face looking so GOOD and news the Jar may be in the pool SOON. The veggies look wonderful and the upcoming meals make we drool. Nice weather sure can make a difference in how we feel in my opinion. Our markets will open up soon and I am ready to drive some miles and find some good stuff. Looking at doing a couple new winery tours soon too. Enjoy your week all of you.

I can’t WAIT for more fresh, local produce at the market! I got my ramps this week, and soon, it’ll be asparagus, then maybe peas and strawberries. :)

Judy, we were watching TV last night, and the dog was lying on one side of the living room, and the cat was sitting on the other side, and the two of them were just sitting there LOOKING AT EACH OTHER! I could NOT believe it. :D Then the dog remembered we were there, so he had to protect us from the scary old kitty, I guess. :roll:


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 101 other followers

