jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 04.16.2012 Edition April 16, 2012

Posted by Toy Lady in knitting, meal plan monday, Musings, Shopping With Peeps.
trackback

Photobucket

I am first going to mention this:  Last week’s pressure cooker pork carnitas?  To Die For.

We had about a 6-pound pork shoulder, boned and trimmed, and we used one-and-a-half times the spice rub.

Tacos made with this meat?

Fantastic.

Tacos again a few days later?

Still fantastic.

Pizza with a smear of the sauce from braising the meat, the meat itself, and shredded Monterey Jack cheese?

Oh my goodness.  This recipe is definitely a keeper.

Photobucket

I’m hoping I didn’t speak a little hastily last week.  I mean, yeah, I’m pretty sure the worst is over, when it comes to my workload – there are timing things at play, and, of course, the interest rates can’t stay this low forever (can they?).

However, I may have underestimated just how much of my “regular” work has been shoved aside these past few months. . .

On the bright side, though, I did get the last of the bills for 2011 drafted this weekend!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Shortly after I bought this house, I needed to replace the bathroom faucet – the handle actually broke off.

At that time, I really wasn’t in much of a position to have a plumber come to the house right that minute, so I lived with the old vice-grips faucet for a while, until my father was able to “show me how” to replace it.

Do you know how to replace a bathroom faucet?

In involves crawling UNDER the bathroom sink (inside the vanity) where there is barely room for one person (and no light).

So my lesson in  how change the bathroom faucet involved me handing tools to my  father, who was under the sink, grunting and trying to describe what he was doing  for me.

And then his coming out and asking me “Did you get that?  Wasn’t that easy?”

Well, that $30 faucet started leaking at the handles a while back, and my parents were in town this weekend, and, well, although my father isn’t as young as he used to be (and really, who among us is?), he was willing to “show me again” how to change the faucet.

This time, though, there was a point where I crawled under the sink and told me what I should do.  While I didn’t do the whole job, by any means, I feel confident enough about it that I could probably change  the kitchen faucet myself.

Assuming that nothing goes wrong with it.  Assuming that, of course.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Oh, by the way.

One thing I have gotten done around here – I finished Peeps’s socks!

That would be his, um, Christmas socks.

I got a little ambitious at Christmastime (and really, who doesn’t?) and thought I could finish a pair of socks for both my husband and the Boy.

Have I mentioned that they both have BIG FEET?

I just couldn’t get either pair done on time – the Boy‘s were done shortly after the holidays, and poor Peeps – he got a skein of yarn and a promise under the tree.

Well, they’re finally done, and he seems awfully happy with them.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Oooh, ooh, hey, Shopping with Peeps!

I couldn’t help noticing this display for (ahem) Recipe Insirations.

Recipe Insurrections?

Recipe Inspections?

I’ve seen the product before – it’s basically a blister pack of a half teaspoon or so of maybe half a dozen  spices, along with a recipe to use those spices.

I would think, at $2 a package, they’d be able to spring for the “p” on the sign, wouldn’t you?

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.   As I said, I may have been anticipating  a little bit – I’ve got bond pricings all week, which means I’ll be home . . . not early.  However, Peeps has things well under control and I’ll pitch in when I can, of course.

Monday – We’re falling behind on our food magazines (I can tell by the pile of them on the unused dining room chair), so when we were planning our menu, I pulled out a copy of the February-March Cook’s Illustrated.  Right there was their recipe for Sichuan Stir-Fried Pork in Garlic Sauce.  I’m going to have to try to sneak out of work a little less late than usual, I think.   The only possible problem I can see is the 6 ounces of mushrooms – neither of us is a fan of mushrooms – at all! – so I’m thinking of substituting something.  Any thoughts?

Tuesday – From the Archives – many years ago, I must have cut out a recipe from the paper for “Cajun Burgers” – no idea where it’s from originally, and I can’t seem to find anything that looks even similar on the internet, but it looks like a delightfully meatless meal – the burgers have red beans as the base.  We’re hoping for the best here!

Wednesday – No soup night this week – but Peeps pulled a quart of Cincinnati chili out of the freezer – since the sauce is all made, it’s a quick, simple mid-week dinner.  And he’s GOING to tell you all about it, one of these days. . .

Thursday – Peeps has been itching to make Moravian Chicken Pie again – so, since he’s doing the bulk of the cooking lately, I’m happy to take one for the team and suffer through this rich, delicious pot pie.  I might even suffer through it for lunch the next day, too!

Friday – Again, it’s pizza night – last week’s taco fixings were so very good on my pizza, it makes me wonder if leftover pork in garlic sauce might work.  Or is that too weird?

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. Tara V - April 16, 2012

Sounds like a great week of menu planning. Have a fantastic day.

Thanks, Tara! Enjoy your week, too.

2. judy - April 16, 2012

Man that pizza looks great! Again! You and Peeps always find something out of wack on your shopping trips. Do you keep a list for future reference? Hoping your work week eases a little. We know you will be fed and well fed at that.

Oh, Jude, I wish you could join us for pizza night – it would be such fun!

3. judy - April 16, 2012

Yes, it certainly would!

4. Nickoshi - April 17, 2012

nom… pizza oh how I love thee, I will blow all my calories on one slice and not care one little bit!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103 other followers

