jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 04.23.2012 Edition April 23, 2012

Posted by Toy Lady in Musings, random stuff.
Tags:
trackback

Photobucket

Another week has rolled along already!

I just can’t believe how the work just keeps . . . not going away.  Don’t get me wrong – I’m grateful to be working, but WOW I could use a break!  Hopefully, things will start to settle down soon (for real this time!).

Meanwhile, this was a market weekend – and besides potatoes, sweet potatoes and onions, I managed to score some more ramps, salad mix, and baby spinach!  I even picked up a bunch of fresh basil, mainly because it’s been SO LONG since we’ve had any.

Photobucket

Photobucket

My mother sent me an email a couple of months ago to ask if I was interested in joining her for a local event near her called “Where’s Wallace?”  At the time, I assumed that I wouldn’t still be working so much, and it sounded like a fun field-trip-with-my-mother day, so I agreed.

Basically, Wallace is a wee tiny town in the Southern Tier of New York, and there are several small businesses that were being highlighted – a few artists, an herb shop, an antique store, and a very cool bed and breakfast.

And sadly, although I remembered to bring my camera, I seemed to have forgotten I had it for most of the day.

World’s saddest photographer, I’m telling you . . .

But it was a lot of fun, and I hope to have a chance to have another field trip with my mother again soon.

Photobucket

Here’s  another “darn I wish I had my camera” moment, which, weren’t those moments supposed to end when they started making digital cameras and sticking them on cell phones and tablets and pretty much anything that holds still long enough?

Of course, it helps if I bring anything besides dog treats and a plastic bags on the morning walk. . .

Anyway, Peeps walks with us on Sunday, and the three of us were walking along, when Peeps noticed, a couple of houses away from us, a pair of ducks.

Ducks.

Just milling around in someone’s front yard.

Then Jar saw them and froze.

The ducks?  Well, they didn’t give a quack.

Jar was, I think, more astonished than troubled by the ducks-out-of-water, but, being SO not in the mood for a power struggle, I distracted him, treated him, turned him around, and we all walked the other way.

We had a nice, uneventful walk around the neighborhood, and we were headed home when, several blocks away from where we’d first seen them, THERE THEY WERE AGAIN!

(I’m reasonably certain it was the same pair of ducks – what are the odds that TWO IDENTICAL duck couples would be out wandering around the same neighborhood at the same time on a Sunday morning?)

I mean, really!  What the . . . DUCK???

So we ducked out of there, once again, without incident.

But The Jar, well, he was still mighty interested in them.  Must be the lab in his background.  Thank GOODNESS they didn’t quack at him!

Photobucket

I did pick up something fun on our “Wallace-crawl”  this weekend.  (You know, kind of like a pub crawl, only, well, in Wallace!)

I thought it would tickle Peeps – and I was right!

Photobucket

Although I will confess – we really would dial 9-1-1 if we had to!    Still, it’s the idea, right?

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  Do you realize it was near eighty degrees here last week?

And that there is currently a winter weather warning in effect?  We are talking SNOW.

Again, I ask, what the . . . duck?

Monday - Hey, guess what, whole chickens are on sale at our supermarket this week.  We picked up three – two for the freezer and one for Monday’s dinner.  I found this recipe for Roast Chicken with Fingerling Potatoes, Leeks and Bacon, and I realized that we had fingerling potatoes, leeks AND bacon on hand.  Coincidence?

Tuesday - A while back, my buddy Susan mentioned that her family enjoyed Stacked Burrito Pie – somehow, I had filed it in my “meatless” folder, so we’re going to swap more black beans for the 3/4 pound of ground beef and see how that works out.  Maybe we’ll do a refried-bean sort of thing instead of the meat.  That should totally work.

Wednesday - Wednesday’s meal is sort of born out of laziness.  I was pulling chicken and pork and vegetable bits out of the freezer to make a batch of stock (hey, if it’s going to snow, I’ve got one more shot at the outdoor refrigeration system, right?), and I realized, once I got upstairs, that one of the zip-top bags of “scraps” was, in fact, baby back ribs.  I didn’t feel like taking it back downstairs, so we decided to defrost it and cook it – I think we’ll use the rub from this Chinese Chicken recipe – it’s simple and any leftovers will be good in soup next week.

Thursday - I’ve been invited to a wine-tasting at a local law firm – it’ll be nice to meet the actual people behind all the emails that have been exchanged, and besides, a little networking never hurt anyone.  Peeps will probably enjoy leftovers, as I’ll do, as well, when I get home.

Friday - And again, it’s pizza night!  We had leftover roast chicken last week, which became Buffalo pizza –  I don’t know what I’ll do this week.  Something interesting, I’m sure.

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. sjbraun - April 23, 2012

When does your busy season at work tend to slow down? I hope soon — it’s no fun being so super busy all the time! Wallace looks like a charming little burg :) I know what you mean about the ducks. Last week I came across kind of a similar goose situation and wished so bad I had my camera :) I hope the burrito pie is a hit! We like it, and I’ve made it without the meat before as well.

Well, this year is kind of unusual – I work in finance, and since the rates are so low, “all the cool kids” are taking advantage. Ideally, it should drop off any time – most of the financings need to be funded by May 15 for various other reasons. . . and round about the beginning – middle of June is when our “regular” busy season starts for a month or two (end of the fiscal year).

Job security, that’s all. :D

2. judy - April 25, 2012

I guess I just skipped right over this! The veggies are always a nice picture and you got ramps! Sounds like a nice little get away with your mom and I knew you would spend your “cash.” Good thing it didn’t snow on that parade. Loved the sign, at says it all.

Now about the ducks! I had a nice lake at my condo in Texas and a walk around the lake was almost a daily routine. We had lots of ducks and in the spring we had LOTS of little, yellow, fuzzy babies . Sadly, between the turtles in the lake, sea gulls and cats many just disappeared. The ones who made it were fun to watch as they grew up. I am glad Jar did not bark. He is a good boy.

I believe you will eat well this week too. That Peeps is a jewel but don’t tell him that or it will go to his head.

Thanks, Jude. :) My mother used to keep ducks and geese – and you’re right, it’s fun to watch the babies!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103 other followers

