jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 04.30.2012 Edition April 30, 2012

Posted by Toy Lady in Cooking, meal plan monday, random stuff.
Tags:
trackback

Look at that – the last of April!  May is just around the corner, so, really, can we stop with the snow?

Photobucket

Things are ever-so-slightly starting to settle down for me, though I’ve still been getting home later than usual just about every evening.

It’s nice to know that my faithful canine companion is waiting patiently for me, though.

That, and I really need to get these windows cleaned!

Photobucket

Photobucket

I decided, for a change, to take the weekend off and do . . . pretty much nothing for a change.

Though I did try my hand at homemade ricotta cheese.  I’d like to give it another try before I try to show you, though it was fairly easy – and seems to be pretty tasty, too.

So look forward to that in the near future  – and guess what I’m looking forward to on my pizza this week!

Photobucket

Jar and his bone want to come in

So while we were working on the ricotta (and by working, I mean standing around waiting for the pot of milk to magically turn itself into curds and whey), Jar decided he’d like to go outside and get some sun.

Then he wanted to come in.  Then he didn’t.

It was oodles of fun for him!  Click on the photo – it should take you directly to an entire slideshow of fun – since I can’t figure out how to post it directly here.

Hey, I’ve been tired!

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.   I’m sure hoping to have at least a few days to get some stuff caught up, both around the office and around the house.  The forecast is calling for a little warmer weather this week, but mainly raining off and on, so should be able to enjoy some quick and easy dinners, and still keep them (mostly) kind of light.

Monday – We picked up some wild Alaskan whitefish this weekend, which is a nice, moist, mild fish, and it should be perfect with a bit of sage garlic  butter – with a tossed salad and perhaps some brown rice.

Tuesday – We roasted a chicken last week, so of course we needed to do something with the balance of the cooked bird – and quite a while ago (over 2 years!) I printed a copy of Michael Ruhlman’s chicken and dumplings – we’ll either serve it as a stew or a soup – depends on the weather – and our mood, I guess.

Wednesday – We did take advantage of the cooler weather last weekend to make a batch of Asian chicken stock – and we had one extra quart that wouldn’t fit into the canner.  You know what a quart of unprocessed stock means, right?  Soup night!  We’ve got the leftover Asian pork, some scallions, and Peeps will bring home some fresh noodles – that makes a fantastic soup!

Thursday – You may have noticed that we’re a little light on beans this week – we’re about to change that.  A while back, we made this chick pea with chorizo dish that was absolutely fantastic – until we added spinach.  Maybe this time, we’ll try the spinach on the side.  Here’s a video, to get a better idea.

Friday – And again, it’s pizza night!  Although it looks like Friday will probably be the warmest evening of the week, we don’t mind firing up the oven – especially when I’ve got fresh ricotta for my pie!  I may even get crazy and cut some fresh herbs to stir in – I’m just getting wild, aren’t I?

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. judy - April 30, 2012

SNOW? It was over 80 here today and DD and I made a quick visit at the Botanical Gardens to see the iris. They were beautiful but have another 2 weeks to show off, but what surprised us was all the roses!

SNOW? I don’t know what to say. I do know what to say about Jar (the star) in his very own video. He was surely a star in that one. The cheese looks very interesting so need an update on that one. All your meals appealed to me and especially with the fresh noodles.

Keep that stress level low. How does your garden grow?

I know – SNOW! :? I have one iris open – as of just last evening. I’ll be following up on the ricotta – fear not!

I just checked the garden yesterday morning – garlic is doing well, and I’ve got a row of lettuce just starting to sprout – soon! :D

2. sjbraun - May 1, 2012

Awww … watched Jar’s slideshow. So cute! I love that you made ricotta cheese. I will have to read about that! Have a lovely week; I’m glad working is slowing down, even if it’s just a bit.

He’s only just starting to get the hang of going outside BY HIMSELF! I mean, he’s fine with a bone, but then he realizes he’s alone and wants to bring it in. :roll: We’ve declared bones to be “outside snacks” – kinda like watermelon was when we were kids! :D

And the ricotta wasn’t difficult at all – but I do want to do it again to get it perfected. Plus, I have to figure out something to do with the whey, otherwise there’s an awful lot of waste. . .

Anne - May 1, 2012

I’ve tried ricotta, too, and I saved the whey for use in baking. I have a recipe that calls for a water/milk mixture, and the whey seemed to work just fine!

Anne, that’s what I figure I’ll do with it – I just haven’t had any TIME to bake. :?


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103 other followers

