jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 05.21.2012 Edition May 21, 2012

Posted by Toy Lady in Food, Home, meal plan monday, random stuff, Rochester.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Photobucket

And here it is, the end of another weekend – a weekend that included not one, but two trips to the public market!

First exciting thing – local asparagus!  I know I could have gotten plenty of asparagus (and cheaper) for the past month or so (longer, actually), but really, besides the whole doing-business-with-my-neighbors thing, it just tastes better when it was picked the day before and has only traveled a few miles, you know? I prefer to wait for the real stuff, myself.

And the second exciting thing – I picked up a lovely 3-pound slab of pork belly.  And you know what that means – BACON!

The smoker is coming out for Memorial Day weekend!

Photobucket

Photobucket

And the second trip to the Public Market this weekend was for Flower  Days at the Market – after all, Rochester is nicknamed “The Flower City.”

Flower City Days is when I always buy the plants I need for the garden – the entire place is PACKED with vendors and customers, and every year, I come home with lots of plants, plenty of other stuff, and wishing I’d had  more cash to buy garden ornaments or signs or a hand-carved bench, or organic local horse fertilizer, or, well, any number of awesomely wonderful things available for the lawn and garden.

Photobucket

Finally, my herb garden is pretty set – with the exception of a couple of annuals (rosemary is, sadly, not usually perennial here, parsley is a biennial, can’t live without fresh basil in season, and I still need some  MARJORAM!), I really don’t need any more perennial plants.

Though I couldn’t resist a couple of new mints – I’ve got the grapefruit mint I put in last year, and I got some peppermint (duh!) and some apple mint.

I just hope I don’t live to regret all that mint. . .

Photobucket

Photobucket

We also couldn’t resist some hanging flowers.

I know that I should pick up a few potted plants, transplant them into the hanging baskets, and I could have  my own, custom, hanging plants.

But then I see them all hanging there, and they’re so pretty, I can’t help it.

Plus, I had tomatoes to plant this weekend.

Photobucket

However, I do plan to put together some window boxes, probably next weekend.

Photobucket

Photobucket

The Jar had his first trip to the beach this weekend – it was THAT nice!

Oh, he was such a good boy – he stayed mostly on-leash, since we’re still working on his recall skills.

Of course, he had to go into the water – he was SO EXCITED to chase that tennis ball!

But we had to keep it short, though – only about half an hour of actual swimming and frolicking.  It wouldn’t do for him to over-do it his first time out this year, now would it?

Photobucket

Oops.

Photobucket

Photobucket

There’s an area in the back yard behind the garage that’s kind of damp and shady and cool.

Every year, the only thing that grows there are lilies of the valley.  I’ve always loved them – they’re so pretty, aren’t they?

And stubborn too – they just keep coming back, even with Jar running back there trying to catch squirrels (which he never manages to do).

Photobucket

Photobucket

Our neighbors have this neat vine that grows up over their stockade fence – I have no idea what it is, but it has the coolest purple-ish-blue hangy flowers.

And I just googled “purple hanging flower” and found out it’s wisteria.

Google is cool, huh?

Photobucket

Photobucket

Kitty had her doctor’s appointment this past week – it was her annual check-up, not anything wrong or anything.

All is well with her – she’s down almost another two pounds – her current weight is now 10.6 pounds (2 years ago, she was just over 20!).  The vet says she’s at a healthy weight, so she can stop trying to diet.

Her teeth look good, and she’s flea-free (I should hope so!), and we just have to drop off a fresh “sample” next week.

Photobucket

Several years ago, Peeps got me into Star Trek (mostly The Next Generation).

I know, you’re shocked, right?

One scene that’s always ticked me was this one where Worf tries prune juice for the first time:

Now I, being a  fan of prune juice (and prunes in general, for that matter), love the idea of the big, strong Klingon ordering his prune juice several times over the course of the next several years.

Photobucket

So when Woot offered this shirt a couple of weeks ago, I knew it had to be mine.
Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.   I don’t know what the week will bring, schedule-wise, but I know that the week before a long weekend tends to bring unexpected work things.  And we’re looking forward to a somewhat unsettled week weather-wise, at least until later on, so . . . we’re playing it safe.  Mostly.

Monday - Clearing out the smoked stuff, getting ready for summer – we’ve got one last package of pastrami, and I picked up a loaf of good rye bread at the market.  Boy Peeps’s homemade pastrami is good!  We’ve got lots of leftover  mac salad, too, and a green salad would go nicely, too.

Tuesday - We had a quart of Meaty Beans in the freezer that’s got to get used – while it’s not exactly seasonal, I’ll eat these pretty much any time, especially since they’re already cooked!  I didn’t see any respectable greens at the market this week, so . . . we’ll figure out something for a vegetable, because we are NOT having just meat and beans.

Wednesday - We’ve got a surplus of eggs in the fridge – first they were on sale, and then, the past two weeks, I’ve had coupons for a free dozen eggs at the supermarket, so, well, we’ve got eggs.  And we haven’t made Spanish tortilla in SO SO long. . . only we’re going to use homemade Mexican chorizo.  We’re crazy like that.

Thursday - We’ve been trying very hard to enjoy at least one meatless (or mostly meatless) meal a week – and while you’d think Wednesday’s tortilla would qualify, we’re also going to try Fine Cooking‘s Grilled Chickpea Burgers – we have everything for them in the pantry but the pitas (and the cilantro, but we don’t care for cilantro anyway), and I suspect, what with the smoker coming out next weekend, we’re may have a meat-heavy weekend, so . . .

Friday - It doesn’t look like we’re going to have much in the way of leftovers, so pizza night will likely be pretty old school – definitely some cheese, and maybe a bit of pepperoni for me.     (By the way, the leftover everything-bagel pork tenderloin was fantastic on last week’s pizza.)

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. The Innkeeper's Daughter - May 21, 2012

you are going to regret all that mint…but let me know about the grapefruit mint, sounds intreguing. Also is how to cure the bacon on here somewhere?

Toy Lady - May 21, 2012

Well, as to the mint, I’ll have to keep a firm hand – like we do with the oregano. Or a whip and a chair. :roll:

And I love the grapefruit mint – it’s minty and ever-so-slightly citrus-y. :)

And the bacon – we’ve got Peeps’s first attempt right , but CLEARLY it’s time for an update!

2. Cristina - May 21, 2012

What’s your secret on getting the cat to lose weight? I’ve been struggling with mine. She’s on diet food, not very much of it, all measured, and she’s plateaued. She’s just a lazy bum. I’m all out of ideas.

Toy Lady - May 21, 2012

I don’t know – we’ve just been feeding her less. I used to free-feed her, and that’s how she got so blimpy. Then we started feeding her regular meals – 1/2 cup of dry kibble twice a day – and now she’s at 1/3 cup of kibble and 1/2 can of Friskies a day (divided between the two meals).

Also, pretty much since we got the dog, she spends a lot of time in the basement – so she has to run up and down the stairs to eat or use the litter box.

I did threaten to get her a leash and take her on walks, but she wasn’t having any of that!

3. judy - May 21, 2012

Got me on the lilly of the valley picture! Had those in a similar shady bed at the house where I grew up and I love the smell. I wish I could find it in a bottle some where. Your yard and garden are going to be lovely this summer I am sure .

Skinny Kitty. ok where have you stashed the real cat? She is looking so GOOD. Grilling and bacon and flowers in hanging baskets! Where is the humming bird feeder? :) Nice read. Great pictures! As always.

Toy Lady - May 21, 2012

Thanks, Judy!

I’ve always adored the lillies of the valley, too – and you’re right – they smell so pretty!

And hey, we’ve been working the kitty – running up and down those stairs just melts the pounds off, it seems! :)

4. sjbraun - May 24, 2012

So many pretty plants and flower today! I’m hoping your mints don’t take over like wild mint, do they? Even after putting Preen over all the garden, I am out plucking up wild mint every day! Glad Kitty got a clean bill of health, and Jar is so sweet sleeping — like a kid :) I love your idea of cleaning out the freezer. I really need to do that as well. I don’t have tons in there, but I know the back corners would yield some mysteries!

Toy Lady - May 24, 2012

I’m a little concerned about the mint – but I did put lemon balm in a few years ago, and that just . . . sat there. Last year’s grapefruit mint hasn’t done too much. Yet. The oregano, though, that’s crazy. It keeps trying to slip over the side of the garden and make a break for it! :shock: I keep pulling little oregano plants out of all the other sections of the garden, in there trying to pretend it was an innocent parsley plant. Huh.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers

