jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 06.11.2012 Edition June 11, 2012

Posted by Toy Lady in Big Lug, Garden, meal plan monday, random stuff, Shopping With Peeps.
Tags:
trackback

Photobucket

Yes, I’m pretty much anti-dressing your dog up, but still.  I asked Peeps if he had a ratty old T-shirt that I could cut up and use to tie up my baby tomato plants, and he brought me an unworn shirt with the Kraft Cheesasaurus Rex on it.

So when I’d used what I needed, I couldn’t resist trying the shirt on Jar – after all, if he’s not a Cheesasaurus Rex, I’d like to know who is!

Photobucket

Photobucket

You know what’s cool?

When you can re-purpose leftovers into something completely different – like breakfast!

One evening last week, Peeps cooked this fish with mustard-nut crust - and another evening, we tried slow-cooker mashed potatoes.  There was a sizable amount of both leftover, so we shredded the fish (nuts and all), tossed in an egg and the rest of the mashed potatoes, and formed it into little patties.  Peeps fried those while I was weeding the garden BEFORE it got hot, and they were just fantastic with a poached egg perched on top!

Photobucket

Photobucket

It’s time for Shopping With Peeps!

Our local supermarket has been doing some rearranging and remodelling lately, and, for the most part, I think they’re finally done.

It’s no fun when your regular groceries MOVE from week to week!

However, I hope their sign company gives them a refund – besides the unfortunate “typo” on every one of the lights at the checkouts (15 items OF less), I finally couldn’t stand it anymore and snapped this photo.

I know it’s tricky, but it’s BOUILLON.

And, um, can seafood. . . what?  I’d even give them credit if it said “box potatoes” – then at least you could assume they meant it as a question.

Can seafood box potatoes?

Why no, it can’t wear the gloves, but it can tuna fish!  Ahahahahahaha!

The sad thing is they got the “can” thing wrong for everything else, but they got it right for CANNED meat.  On the same sign.

Sigh.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Have I mentioned that Jar’s tummy troubles have pretty much resolved themselves?  Thank goodness!

After a few days of rice and boiled beef, we switched him over to oatmeal and poached chicken.  We gradually worked his kibble back into his diet, until Friday he was ready for his Friday Kong.  He was SO happy to have that back – he missed out on it last week!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Speaking of Friday Kong night - Oh. My. Gosh.

I think I may have found my new favorite pizza – at least until tomato season, anyway!

We had a little bit of leftover roasted asparagus (fresh and local – the best way to have asparagus!) and a couple of slices of deli ham.  I chopped both up and sprinkled them on my pizza with a bit of olive oil and mozzarella cheese, and WOW!

It was definitely more than the sum of its parts!

Photobucket

Photobucket

I have found that if I go out to work in the garden first thing in the morning, right after the dog has eaten breakfast, it’s just easier all the way around.  The soil is still wet from watering, and it’s not so hot yet (in fact, most of the yard is still in shade).

Well, this weekend, while Peeps was cooking breakfast, I went out and weeded, then tied the tomatoes to their stakes.

And what, you ask, did I find?

I’ve got baby tomatoes!  Woo!

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  It’s going to be a warm week – we’re heading into the middle of June, after all, and we’re just a couple of weeks from official summer, though the weatherman on my radio station talks about “meteorological summer” – and I think we’re there.

Photobucket

It’s looking to be a fairly warm-ish week, but after Monday, not too bad. well, not too bad if you don’t mind a little rain, anyway.  But at least I won’t have to water the garden for a few days!

Monday - It’s gonna be brutal.  It’s our first “triple H” day this season, I think – hazy, hot and humid.  I think we’ll take the pup to the beach, and, when we get back, rather than stand out on the deck grilling in the blazing sun (our deck is on the west side of the house – that’s where the back yard is), we’re going to take this opportunity to get all the bits and pieces and dribs and drabs of leftovers out of the refrigerator.

Tuesday - Peeps brought some ravioli home from work the other day – I’ve been wanting to try grilling it.  I know, pretty awesome idea, right?  But it turns out that I’m not the first person who’s thought of it – go ahead, google it.  I’ll wait.

Wednesday - A while ago, we made this crunchy & creamy beans & greens  and it was really good – we’re going to try it again with cannelini beans and a bunch of escarole.  And maybe some bacon because, well, why not?

Thursday - Last summer, we found this recipe for grilled chicken with white barbecue sauce – we’ll grill some chicken breasts and make a half a recipe of the sauce, and it’ll be delicious!

Friday - Yay for pizza night!  I’m hoping there will be some leftover veggies and/or chicken throughout the week that I can decorate my pizza with.  Peeps will likely go with his pepperoni and extra cheese pie and The Jar will enjoy his Kong.

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. Nickoshi - June 11, 2012

I love being able to make new dinners from the weeks leftovers, my husband usually thinks im a culinary genius when I do LOL. I am glad the big puppy is feeling better!

Toy Lady - June 12, 2012

Niko, hi! How ARE you?

Yes, the big baby is doing much better – how’s yours?

2. Tara V - June 11, 2012

Great blog post! Your menu looks good. We’ve had so much rain I haven’t been able to make it to my garden (it’s not at our house) We have a break from the rain today so I’ll be heading over there!

Toy Lady - June 12, 2012

Good luck with that! I know if I let my garden go too long – especially with a lot of rain! – well, I don’t like to think about the weeds!

3. judy - June 11, 2012

Love those baby tomatoes! Updates will be necessary. All the foodie stuff looks good and that pizzza – well don’t have all the words. Yum. Jar is looking so cute with that shirt and glad his tummy is better.

I try to be creative with left overs too. It can be fun. Have a super week and hope things can calm for you. Gardening is a great escape, at least it used to be for me.

Toy Lady - June 12, 2012

Oh, Judy, you know I’m out there in the garden every day checking up on my babies!

Do you have a place where you could at least stick a pot or something with a lone tomato plant? That would be so awesome for you. :)

4. Anne - June 11, 2012

I’m sure they’d tell you that “can seafood” is what would fit on the sign. Have I ever told you the story about the big banner my workplace made? The head honcho was leaving, and they had a huge sign for the whole 400 people to stand under, for a picture. It said “Good By Bob.” When they rolled it out in the hallway, I pointed out the error. Their excuse? The sign was too short for all of the letters. A sign made by a professional sign shop. Uh-huh.

Toy Lady - June 12, 2012

Oy. You just have to wonder. And I’m sure, yes, the signs “didn’t have enough room” for all two extra letters. :roll:

But sheesh – if that’s not bad enough, they could try to be consistent, at least within the same sign!

And there’s just no excuse for misspelling “bouillon.”

Or for the “fifteen of fewer items.”

5. sjbraun - June 15, 2012

Happy weekend! I’m slow getting around this week. Your pizza and meatloaf look divine. I’m always a big fan of typos/misspellings/whatever they are. They alternately infuriate and amuse me :) Jar is so cute :) And I’m envious of the baby tomatoes. Here, I’m just happy that I can keep my little plants alive by watering them. We’re in a semi-drought.

Toy Lady - June 17, 2012

It does seem like the longer the days are, the faster they fly, doesn’t it? :D

Wow, it’s a shame about your tomato situation – hopefully you’ll see some rain before too long. :( The the level of the lake seems to be down a bit here – not quite enough to be a concern, though. I do look at watering the garden as an investment, though – if you don’t water it now, you won’t be picking tomatoes later!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers

