jump to navigation

Hey, How’ve You Been? July 12, 2012

Posted by Toy Lady in just general griping, mirth & woe, random stuff.
trackback

Is it just me, or does this seem like an exceptionally busy summer?

I don’t think it’s just me – Kay‘s been moving and working a lot lately, and Susan‘s been busy with her girls and 4-H.

No, I don’t suppose it’s just me, is it?

Work is starting to slow down a bit for me – though now is the time I play clean-up –  those files I’ve been working on for the past several months all need to be closed and billed.  And that is a LOT of work!  Though it will be nice to see the conference room table again. . .

We’ve got an appointment with a contractor this week – we’re going to see what it’ll take to install a second bathroom, or, rather, a powder room, downstairs.  Apparently, we’ve been living like barbarians all these years, all of us sharing the same bathroom!

I suddenly came down with some nasty bug – I’m not sure how, since I very seldom actually see people.   Well, not many people, anyway – there’s my immediate family and the two people I work with.  Not really much in the way of germs there.  But MAN was I sick!  I came home Tuesday feeling kind of cruddy – you know the feeling – no energy, not really hungry, sort of headachy, low-grade fever, just generally cruddy.   Woke up Wednesday morning cold, sweaty, and with a massively sore throat, plus a cough that made my chest burn.

Sick.

I emailed in (so much better than calling in – you don’t have to actually sound ill), looked for Nyquil, found none, so I settled for Robitussin, and went back to bed around 6, to wake up about 9:30, still feeling lousy but not as bad.

Oh, and then Peeps called to let me know he’d be late getting home from work – it seems that his clutch went.

A clutch is a major event in the car-repair world, involving lots of labor and an overnight loaner car.

Fun week, eh?

So what have you been up to so far this summer?

Comments

1. sjbraun - July 12, 2012

Hey there, and thanks for bearing with me. It seems that while your schedule is easing up a bit, mine is doing just the opposite. Once school begins again, that will change.
I’m so sorry you’ve been under the weather! 2 of my girls and my husband have been/are sick as well. Awful head cold with fever and congestion, and it seems to last about a week. I’m hoping to avoid it … get better soon.
I’m sorry as well about everything hitting at once. Isn’t that life??! I will be anxious to see pix of your new bath/powder room — you barbarian, you!

Toy Lady - July 12, 2012

Thanks – summer colds are just the worst!

Isn’t it odd how summer is supposed to be “vacation time” yet it seems like we’ve got more going on than ever? Especially with kids home from school!

2. The Innkeeper's Daughter - July 12, 2012

Feel better!

Toy Lady - July 12, 2012

Aw, thanks! I’m at least feeling less awful, which is something, anyway. :)

3. judy norton - July 12, 2012

I sure did not like to hear you had been under the weather. Now just get to feeling better! Another powder room! YES!

Toy Lady - July 12, 2012

I know it, right? Gosh being sick in the summer is LOUSY!

Not having to hike upstairs every time I need to pee will be pretty sweet. . . ;)

4. kayatthekeyboard - July 12, 2012

Glad you’re far enough away that I can’t catch it — at least from you. Still finding stuff I lost in the move. Getting ready for new grandchild. Will hit the road in August and be gone most of the month; hopefully, by the time I get back, it will have cooled off enough to cook. Feel better!

Toy Lady - July 13, 2012

Moving is SUCH a huge chore, isn’t it? And hey, congratulations on the new grandbaby!

5. Monday Musings: 07.16.2012 Edition « Dark Side of the Fridge - July 16, 2012

[...] I’ve been feeling like  crud for the past few days, and since we had a supplemental trip to the public market last weekend when [...]


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers

