jump to navigation

Thing #96: A Thing, A Milestone, and a Guessing Game July 18, 2012

Posted by Toy Lady in 101 Things, Giveaway.
trackback

This giveaway had ended – thank you to all who participated!

Photobucket

Wow, that’s a lot of stuff going on here, isn’t it?

Photobucket

I haven’t forgotten my 101 Things List, though, obviously, I’ve been slacking in that area.  A lot.

But first – a milestone.

This is our 1,000th post.

That would be ONE THOUSAND.  Can you believe it?

So here’s what we’re going to do.

Photobucket
I’ve spent the past year and a half, maybe 2 years, collecting pennies.

A LOT of pennies.

We’ve been dumping them into an old Jack Daniels bottle – a 1.75 ML bottle.

I’m not sure how much that is in real measurements – slightly less than half a gallon, I think.    Regardless, it’s a lot of pennies, and it’s taken a while to accumulate them.

By the way, you know the phrase “bottle neck” right?  Yeah, dumping pennies out of a booze bottle make that term abundantly clear.

Photobucket

And so.

We dumped the 1.75 litre bottle of pennies into a 5-quart pail and filled it . . . about halfway, give or take.

I put it on the scale, but it was over the 9-pound, 15-ounce limit of our kitchen scale, and I didn’t feel like hauling it upstairs to weigh it on our people scale.

We took the bucket o’ pennies to the nearest Coinstar machine – where we signed up to get an AMAZON.COM gift certificate.

(As an aside:  Coinstar doesn’t charge a service charge if you select gift certificates, and honestly, Amazon is like Alice’s Restaurant – you can get anything you want.  Good as cash.)

Photobucket

So here’s what we’re going to do (again).

I’m going to GIVE AWAY (the equivalent of) one thousand pennies in an Amazon give certificate (that’s actually $10.00).

And all you’ve got to do is guess how many pennies were in the original, 1.75 litre bottle.

Or how many dollars’ worth of pennies were in there.  Either way.

I’ll tell you this – there were several “reject” pennies – a lot of Canadian pennies, and pennies that had been too abused to go through the machine.

But, to make up for it, there were also, somehow, three dimes mixed in.  I have no idea how they got in there, but I have my suspicions.

And here’s another hint – it’s nowhere near enough to pay off the mortgage.

Photobucket

So there it is – give me your best guess – tell me how many pennies (or, convert your pennies to dollars)  we cashed in from our 1.75 litre bottle of pennies.  we’ll determine whomever comes closest at the end of the day Sunday (call it 4:00 eastern) – the winner of a $10 Amazon gift certificate will be announced on Monday.

So. . . leave a comment and tell me how many pennies you think we were able to collect – and you could end up with 1,000 free Amazon pennies!

Comments

1. The Innkeeper's Daughter - July 18, 2012

Wow! I am impressed, with the 1000 posts. That is very cool. Next my guess is 6742 pennies…just because. Next I find it very difficult to believe more of the things on the list haven’t been crossed off…Really you haven’t done anything nice for the boy just because??? Hmmm…he is living at home, he has the use of Mom’s car when his is out…you stock the fridge/garden with some of his favorite things…you make the things he doesn’t like to eat on nights you know he won’t be around…and that is just what you have let us take a glimpse of.

Toy Lady - July 19, 2012

Well, you put it that way, and I’m FAR TOO NICE to that boy, aren’t I? ;)

And yes, I think it’s time for some “housekeeping” with regard to the List – there are a few things that ought to get crossed off – or just given up on. :roll:

2. Julie Dellemonache - July 18, 2012

My guess would be around 1720 pennys!! A penny saved is a penny earned!! LOL :)

Toy Lady - July 19, 2012

Yeah, but a bunch of pennies is REALLY HEAVY! :lol:

3. Anne - July 18, 2012

Put me down for 2451 pennies. 2450 is such a nice, round number. And I just saw Jeopardy, and everyone knows you go with 1 more, just in case.

Even if you’re wayyyyyy off. :)

Toy Lady - July 19, 2012

Wasn’t that The Price is Right principle too? :)

4. Kelsey - July 18, 2012

I’m going to guess 2700 pennies.

(I stumbled across your blog looking for rice/lentil recipes. Husband’s car just died, I haven’t started getting paid for my work yet, and money is tight. I don’t know much about cooking, but have been doing some stuff. This week is the week of “make something out of whatever is in the pantry” and I had a bag of lentils, curry rice, and some fresh okra and squash from the garden of a person I am house sitting for. Thanks for showing me that putting lentils and rice together isn’t going to turn out disgusting! I don’t know how foods work together most of the time.)

Toy Lady - July 19, 2012

So YOU’re the one! You know, ever since we posted it, that lentil and rice post has been BY FAR the most popular post on the entire blog! I hear you about the car – we just replaced my husband’s clutch – ouch! So how did your lentils and rice turn out?

Kelsey - July 19, 2012

The lentils and rice turned out fairly well. I burned the rice a little and wound up making a LOT of lentils, so we’ll have plenty for the next few days. Planning on using chicken broth to turn some of them into a soup.

Toy Lady - July 19, 2012

We LOVE lentil soup! Another really cool thing we discovered a while back was pasta with lentils – a quick, tasty meal – here’s the recipe I use:

http://www.cookstr.com/recipes/pasta-and-lentils

I usually a bit of bacon instead of pancetta, though. It’s one of our favorites! :)

Kelsey - July 19, 2012

Pasta with lentils sounds great! We have some spaghetti in the pantry, so I can make that one night and lentil soup another night. I’m Jewish, so I don’t eat pork, but I’m glad to see pasta and lentils is also a thing! I was going to make spaghetti last night, but wasn’t sure if it would be good with lentils.

Thanks for the tip!

5. Judy - July 19, 2012

I guess 7222! Fun stuff!

Toy Lady - July 19, 2012

:)

6. Ezzy - July 20, 2012

Wow that sound like a lot of pennies, I would guess about 1500.

Toy Lady - July 22, 2012

Hey, Ezzy! How have you been?

7. Sandra - July 22, 2012

2,500 pennies?
We enjoy reading your newsletter. thank you!
sam

Toy Lady - July 22, 2012

Thanks, Sam – it’s so good to know people are reading!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers

