jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 07.23.2012 Edition July 23, 2012

Posted by Toy Lady in 101 Things, Cooking, Giveaway, Home, meal plan monday, Musings, random stuff.
trackback

Photobucket

Oh, hey, it’s finally happened!

I’ve picked my first Beloved Jetstar of the year, so I cooked some of Peeps’s wonderful bacon, made a batch of fresh mayonnaise, and we had BLTs for lunch.  Well, the Boy and I had BLTs.  Peeps passed on the tomato, lettuce and mayo portion of the show and just enjoyed a bacon and cheese sandwich.

That’s okay – he doesn’t realize what he’s missing out on, that’s all.

Photobucket

Photobucket

We finally decided to invest in an actual charcoal grill – I know Peeps has his smoker, which, technically, we can use as a grill (with a bit of rearranging, I guess), but still.

I remember when I got my first gas grill, how cool that was – and that’s all we’ve used for, oh, probably close to 20 years!  And now, how cool is a charcoal grill?

Photobucket

Photobucket

I’ve been picking green beans faster than we can eat them!

This past week, they’d piled up so much that I knew I had to do something – so one morning before work, I blanched a bunch of them and spread them out on a sheet pan to go in the freezer.

Once frozen solid, I transferred them to a freezer bag – looks like we’ve got just about 2 pounds of “fresh” frozen green beans to enjoy this winter!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Have you run into any wild Alaskan salmon this year?

From what I understand, this has been a record year for salmon runs, and it’s showing – wild Alaskan salmon is all over the place locally (upstate New York!), and it’s cheaper than I’ve ever seen it!

If you do see any on sale, I’d urge you to give it a try – it’s still a bit of a splurge, but don’t you deserve it?

Photobucket

See, even our grumpy kitty approves!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Oh, the garlic!

You may remember that we’ve planted garlic the past couple of autumns – well, here it is!

Last year, we let the scapes go too long, which, essentially, stunted the garlic cloves, and we ended up with these little tiny bulbs.  Tasty, but small.

This year, I nipped those scapes as soon as they appeared, and the garlic greenery has all pretty much died back, so we pulled them up – much nicer this year!

Photobucket

Oh my gosh Puppies!

Photobucket

Have you heard about the Warrior Canine Connection?  This organization trains service dogs for disabled vets, but that’s not all.

Obviously, these puppies need to be socialized and trained first – and that’s where they actually begin their work.  WCC puts the puppies in the hands of vets suffering from post-traumatic stress disorder and traumatic brain injury to be trained – thus helping  the dogs, these vets today, and then, eventually, the vets whom the dogs have been trained to ultimately assist.

How cool is that?

And best of all – they’ve set up a LIVE PUPPY CAM for their latest litter of 6 golden retrievers!  Sleeping puppies, playing puppies, eating puppies, wrestling puppies – all puppies all the time!

I haven’t gotten much of anything done at work this past week. . . oops.

Photobucket

Photobucket

The moment I know everyone’s been waiting for – the final count of my penny jar!

Believe it or not, that huge bottle, holding something over 10 pounds of pennies, held a mere 2,409 pennies (plus three dimes that I have no idea how they got there).

And with a guess of 2,451, Anne came the closest – only off by 42 cents!

Anne, I’ll be contacting you by email with the code for your $10 Amazon certificate!

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  Can you believe how the summer is FLYING by?  Of course, I say the same thing every year, but still.

It certainly does look like a stellar week coming up, though, doesn’t it?

Photobucket

Monday -  I picked up some very nice scallions at the market last week, and  this ginger & scallion beef just looks fantastic, doesn’t it?

Tuesday - I came across this lemon-tarragon pork chop recipe on the National Pork Board’s website and thought it looked good.  It just be quite nice with some sauteed kale (from the garden!) and maybe foil-packet cooked potatoes.

Wednesday -  Our supermarket has whole chickens on sale this week, and you know we’re suckers for roasted chicken!  However, this week, we’ve decided to break in our new charcoal grill and make Smoked Chicken with Lemon-Ginger Barbecue Sauce.  Peeps wants to do macaroni salad, and I’m sure we’ll have green beans to go with it, too – after all, ’tis the season

Thursday -Since we’ve already got beef, pork, and chicken, we try to go with something a little lighter – ideally meatless, but nothing was inspiring both of us this week.  So the next “lighter” meal is fish, right?  We pulled out an old favorite – grilled tilapia with smoked paprika that we’ll do with Alaskan whitefish instead.  And, of course, the parmesan polenta is always a winner, and we’ll enjoy a nice tossed salad with it all.

Friday - We all know what happens at this time of year on pizza night, right?  Tomatoes and fresh herbs, that’s what.  Or maybe fresh herbs and tomatoes.  Peeps sticks with his pepperoni and cheese, which is fine.  More tomatoes and herbs for me and the Boy!

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. Judy Norton - July 23, 2012

Your tomato looked delicious! What a great combination. The green beans were always one of my favorite things to pick and those look mighty fine. All your garden time is paying off as it should. Have a good eating week. Hope Jar is ok….not even a mention.

Toy Lady - July 23, 2012

Hey, Judy! Of course Jar is fine – mostly lying around, enjoying the less-hot weather is all. :) He did manage to dash out to the kitchen, though, when he figured out Kitty was getting fresh salmon and he wasn’t. . . WOW did she love that! :lol:

2. Judy Norton - July 23, 2012

Well when he lies around he really stretches oooooouuuuuutttttt! :)

Toy Lady - July 23, 2012

Well, Jude, I always say – when Jar lies around the house, he lies AROUND the house! :lol:

3. Rona - July 23, 2012

Hello, I’m stopping by from Organizing Junkie today.
The BLT looks amazing. I think it’s the bacon.
My husband has been requesting a grill…gas. But I’m not sure I want to deal with refills. Our son and I would like a charcoal grill. We’ll have to wait this one out. Till then it’s the grill pan.
You have some wonderful meals planned this week.
The humidity has arrived in Las Vegas. It has me wishing for our dry hot days.
Enjoy your week!

Toy Lady - July 23, 2012

Hi, Rona! Wow, I didn’t know there WAS humidity in Vegas! Plus you’re probably still hotter than we are, besides – ugh!

Here’s what I know about grills – if you go with a gas grill, the best thing you can do for yourself is to have a second gas tank – that way, when the first one is empty, you’re not running to the nearest gas station trying to swap it. (Go ahead, ask me how I know that?)

As for a charcoal grill – if you go that way, think about investing in a chimney starter – my husband likes this one: http://www.cutleryandmore.com/steven-raichlen/ultimate-square-charcoal-chimney-starter-p116836?gclid=CP7c6PnhsLECFYeo4AodBF0AWA You pile all the charcoal in, light it from the bottom, and 10 minutes later, you’ve got coals ready to grill on – no lighter fluid!

4. Anne - July 23, 2012

Yahooooo!! My highly unscientific, wild arse guess won!!! How cool is that? I really really really need some new running socks, before I get blisters. Oh boy oh boy, new sox! :D

Toy Lady - July 24, 2012

Okay, Anne, I had the GC sent directly to you from Amazon – wear it in good health! :D

Anne - July 24, 2012

Got it, and already picked out my sox. Thanks, Toys (and Peeps)!

Toy Lady - July 24, 2012

Our pleasure, Anne! :)

5. Judy Norton - July 23, 2012

YEAH for you. Enjoy those sox. Kris is cool……


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103 other followers

