jump to navigation

Let’s Talk About Vacations August 1, 2012

Posted by Toy Lady in random stuff.
trackback

Did I mention that I’d taken some vacation time last week?

I had so many great plans!

I was going to write a couple of blog posts to fall back on for those evenings when I just don’t have anything coherent to say.

I was going to do some yard work, maybe even split up and re-plant my irises.

I was even considering doing some baking.

Heck, I was going to vacuum and dust upstairs.

And then I realized.  It’s my vacation, man.

I should do things I enjoy.  Things I want to do, not just things that need to get done.

So, a couple of times, I went back to bed for an hour or so.  (After, of course, Peeps had left for work, dog walking was done, the dog was fed, and puppy-kitty treat time was over and the breakfast dishes were washed.  Of course.)

I did pick blueberries, not just because it needed to be done, but because I actually enjoy it.  Sort of.

Photobucket

I took the dog to the beach.  If you want to see something that just radiates  joie de vivre, take a dog to the beach.  Man, there is very little more joyous than that splash, you know?

Photobucket

I picked some tomatoes.  Which led to cooking some bacon.  There’s lettuce in the fridge, fear not.

I just have to make some mayonnaise is all – that’s another thing I didn’t get done.

Photobucket
Peeps and I took the dog to the beach again.  Jar really likes the beach.  Have I mentioned that?

And it’s the perfect time to work on training exercises – like paying attention and not jumping and barking.

Photobucket

So all in all, while I may not have gotten as much accomplished as I’d have liked to, I did do some of the things I enjoy.  I got some cooking in, which I’ll tell you about next week.  I got a little extra snooze time.  The upstairs will get vacuumed (and dusted) eventually.  And the Jar got good and wet a couple of times.

It was a decent vacation, all in all, I’d say.

Comments

1. Anne - August 1, 2012

Maybe I’m weird, but my idea of a vacation (at least once a year) is to tell everyone I’m gone, then stay home. I always have a list as long as my arm, and only 1/3 of it ever gets started, let alone done. I could spend six week in my yard and only make a dent. But what did I do the entire week around July 4 when I was home? Stayed inside, because it was too blessed hot!

I think your vacation sounds just right. And Jar is happy. And that’s what counts, right? ;)

Toy Lady - August 4, 2012

That’s the problem this year too – too hot! Well, that, and the fact that I had to go back to work afterward!

2. Judy Norton - August 2, 2012

It sounds good to me! A little of this, a little of that, a man, a dog, and the beach. What more could a girl desire and you did love on my kitty and did the dishes. Extra sleep is just golden time.

yep, sounds great to me and I am glad it happened to you.

Toy Lady - August 4, 2012

:)
And yeah, kitty gets her share, too.

3. kayatthekeyboard - August 2, 2012

Sounds wonderful. I love do-nothing vacations; I try to see how many books I can read, and how little contact I can have with other human beings.

Toy Lady - August 4, 2012

I have been SO FAR BEHIND on my reading!

4. mazco34 - August 2, 2012

You trained Peeps well. Look how well behaved he is. No jumping or barking or any such rowdy-dow.

Toy Lady - August 4, 2012

He’s a perfect gentleman there, isn’t he? ;)


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers

