jump to navigation

The Real Deal – Sort of, Anyway August 10, 2012

Posted by Toy Lady in Cooking, Cooking Challenge, Food.
trackback

Photobucket

Well, let’s just say that this molé is a realer deal than, say, my quick and dirty molé marinade (which, however, is still mighty tasty).

I fear that if you want a really real molé, you’re going to have to make Rick Bayless’s recipe.  I’m not about to do that.  NOBODY is going to do that.  And if you do, well, I’m coming over.

So. . . molé.  Molé is a Mexican sauce, or rather, it actually means sauce, and there are various types, apparently often named for their colors – red molé, green molé, black molé. . . it may not be imaginative, but at least you know which is which!

Photobucket

So for our (black) molé, there are what seem like an awful lot of steps (and, actually, it is a lot of steps!), but they sort of flow together.  You do one thing, then move on to the next – it wasn’t hard, really – just a bit of a time commitment.  Starting with the shopping list – besides your  regular pantry items spices, nuts, onions, etc.) you’re also going to need two (TWO!) kinds of dried peppers – anchos and pasillas.

And sadly, neither of the two best-bet supermarkets near me carried both peppers – but one had one, and the other had the other, so that was okay.

Photobucket

So we start by roasting the peppers in the oven, then soaking them in hot water for half an hour or so – and while that’s going on we also toast the spices in a big frying pan, then grind them.  We’ll come back to the spices.

While the peppers are soaking, we’re going to roast a coarsely chopped onion, a handful of garlic cloves, and a couple of tomatoes (bonus points if you ran out to the garden to pick them!).

Photobucket

Once the peppers have soaked and gotten more leathery than crumbly, we took the stems off, de-seeded them, and tossed them in the blender with some chicken stock.

Dump that into a Dutch oven, then, when they’re done roasting, do the same for the vegetables – blender, chicken stock, Dutch oven.  (If you have a  heavy-duty Woot blender, you’re probably good; if not, you may want to strain the veggies.  Maybe.)

Photobucket

Now, where were we?

Ah, lard.  (I would imagine, if you’re lard-squeamish, you could go with unsalted butter or even vegetable oil, but really, unless you have a moral objection to pork, I’d go with the lard for authenticity’s sake, but that may just be me.)

We’re going to brown the nuts (almonds, pecans and peanuts) in a good amount of lard, just until they’re browned, then add some raisins for the last minute or so.

Then guess what we’re going to do with them.   Go ahead – just guess!

Yup, into the blender (just the goodies, not the lard), along with some stock, then into the Dutch oven.

Photobucket

THEN we’re going to take a plantain and some corn tortillas and whack them up a bit.

You could use a green banana, from what I understand, but since plantains are a dime a dozen around here (not really – they’re 3 for $1), well, obviously.

These, I think, are going to help thicken the sauce. The plantain is a bit starchier than your standard banana, and the tortillas, well, they’re ground corn, aren’t they?

PhotobucketThrow those in the lard-pan and brown them.

For what it’s worth, when you fry corn tortillas in lard, you get what could be considered “tortilla chips” – and they’re not bad at all!

Once these ingredients are browned, I’ll give you three guesses as to what to do with them.

Yeah, blender with chicken stock.

Photobucket

At this point, we’ve got a Dutch oven full of . . .all sorts of interesting, exotic stuff, don’t we?

Let’s see, there’s a spice blend, there are a bunch of peppers, some vegetables, plantains, tortillas, plenty of chicken stock. . . .maybe a bit of salt at this point won’t hurt.

Photobucket

And some chocolate – not a lot of chocolate, and not just any chocolate – Mexican chocolate.

I’m thinking you could substitute semi-sweet here if you can’t find the stuff with the subtitles, but it’s not going to be the same.

I wouldn’t use milk chocolate, because that’s just not the same at all – it’s creamy, and this Mexican chocolate is decidedly not creamy – it’s almost gritty.

So you’re going to want to toss the chocolate right into the sauce to melt – no blender!
Photobucket

And they you just make sure the flame is on low and walk away.

I mean, check to make sure it’s not burning or anything, and give it an occasional stir, but basically, for the next couple of hours, this is nearly zero-maintenance.

And then, once the sauce is truly to a sauce-like consistency, you’re done.

We chose to stir some into some smoked pork (and yes, those are homemade tortillas), and I most definitely enjoyed a pork taco for breakfast a time or two the next week.

Photobucket

And we even had a mess left over that got frozen into 1/2 cup increments – molé for another day!

If you’re interested, the recipe I used is right here – it may be an all-day project, but it’s well worth the investment of time!

Comments

1. Kimberly - August 10, 2012

Wow that was ambitious of you to try a mole! You have encouraged me a smidge more to attempt this. I don’t know if my spouse would care for it, so I am still worried it would be a lot of work and effort just for myself.

That page that you linked to that had the Rick Bayless recipe was so funny, too.I have one of his cook books and I always just flip past the moles because of the long list of ingredients, but anything else of his that I have made has always been worth the work.

Toy Lady - August 10, 2012

I was actually surprised by how NOT hard it was – at least once the initial prep work was done! ;)

IF you’re not sure if your husband will care for it, maybe try the “quick and dirty” chicken recipe I linked to – the flavors are similar, though less complex – and it’s super-easy to toss together.

And I love Rick Bayless – saw him on Top Chef Masters a while back, then I came across his show on PBS, and he just seems like the nicest guy!

Kimberly - August 10, 2012

I guess it is not that hard… I am just being whiny. Did you use up all the peppers? One thing that bothers me is picking up random ingredients that I wont use up or use again.

I have a wife, not a husband. :)

And yes, Rick just seems really nice! I loved Top Chef Masters. Do you guys watch Masterchef? It’s not Top Chef but still pretty good…

Toy Lady - August 10, 2012

Yikes- sorry about that! I’m so used to ME worrying about a husband who sometimes might not like stuff . . . :oops:

Actually, I used all of one of the peppers and exactly half of the other – I think it was the pasillas I had left over. I think.

We haven’t been watching Masterchef – though I’ve seen random commercials for it and thought “hey, we should check that out” – so, hey, maybe I should check it out! :D

2. Judy Norton - August 10, 2012

Holy mole. New one too me. It must be good to put in that amount of time and WORK. Very interesting process.

Toy Lady - August 11, 2012

Oh, Judy, it was fantastic! Though I don’t think I’d be as interested if it didn’t make a LOT – I’ve got enough left for at least 2 or 3 meals (more counting leftovers) – and once the initial push was over, it was sort of coasting. . . gave me time to work on some knitting! It’s gonna be sock season before we know it. ;)

3. It’s that time of the year « Dark Side of the Fridge - August 22, 2012

[...] appreciate flavors – not necessarily busy, complex flavors, though there’s definitely a place for that, but clean, simple [...]

4. Monday Musings: 10.15.2012 Edition « Dark Side of the Fridge - October 15, 2012

[...] from the garden.  And for bonus points, we’re going to take the the leftover chicken and mole it up for dinner over the [...]


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 101 other followers

