jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 09.10.2012 Edition September 10, 2012

Posted by Toy Lady in Musings, random stuff.
Tags:
trackback

Photobucket

Yup, fall is on the way, isn’t it?

I managed to pick up a bag of nice, fresh onions – no more of those nasty last year’s onions for us!  Of course potatoes are in season, and I just couldn’t pass up a couple of freakishly huge sweet potatoes – I’m not sure what exactly we’ll do with them, but I do love sweet potatoes!

I think this is probably my last chance for fresh melon – it’s been so good this year that I just had to have one more!

I did manage to avoid the weather while at the market – I passed through a bit of a cloudburst on my way downtown, and it was kind of raining when I came home, but nothing like what the market saw later!

Photobucket

Photobucket

We’ve had an unusually busy week.

It all started Tuesday.  We’d planned to grill chicken for dinner, but it was raining, so Peeps suggested just roasting it.  Only he went to turn on the oven, and it wouldn’t light.

So while we were NOT roasting chicken, I started working on a batch of no-pectin jam, and that ended up taking a bit longer than I’d expected, so dinner (pasta) was a bit later than expected, and we were up later than planned.

Then, Wednesday, I had about a bushel of tomatoes that needed to be canned – my mother had kindly shared them with me when we were there for the Labor Day holiday, and, while they weren’t completely ripe Sunday, they certainly were by Wednesday!  For the record, prepping and pressure canning 21 quarts of tomatoes will, indeed, keep us up past our bedtime!

Oh, and for the record, the oven is back up and running – it was a small part that was fixed in about 15 minutes, so WHEW!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Believe it or not, there are moments that the dog gets tired of hanging around with us in the kitchen!

And, of course, lest we get too lonely, the cat is more than happy to pick up the slack!  She does love that garden window, and she’ll just have to get used to it again when I bring the Christmas cactus back in and it fills the window – she’ll be Jungle Kitty!

Photobucket

Photobucket

I almost forgot!

Several years ago, after replacing dining room chairs two or three times, I finally broke down and bought some good chairs – there was a store nearby that only dealt with quality wooden furniture, and they were running a chair sale, and I had a teenager in the house who was kind of hard on furniture.

I walked into that store and determined, then and there, that someday I’d be back to furnish the rest of my house.

Well, sadly, after 62 years, this store was closing, so I knew that if I wanted anything from them, now was the time.

And I found the most beautiful dining room table – that I had finished to match the chairs!   We love it.

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  It’s looking to be a beautiful – and slightly less busy – week, which is a good thing.  We’re also getting serious about clearing out the freezer, so every dinner is coming from there, in some way.

Monday - Our supermarket frequently has single-serving packages of seafood on sale, and a while back, we picked up some packets of bay scallops – the little tiny ones.  Which, as it happens, are perfect for broiling with a bit of butter, lemon and garlic.  We’ll serve that with rice and some tossed salad, for a nice, light dinner.

Tuesday - We unearthed a 1-lb. flank steak, which Peeps is going to season simply and grill for dinner.  Since there are just two of us, that’ll probably end up being stretched into a second meal over the weekend.  We also had a package of mixed veggies in the freezer, and we’ll do a packet of seasoned potatoes on the grill with the steak.

Wednesday -  We’ve got a package of white hots in the freezer, along with half a package of tater tots.  I’ve also started dough for homemade hot dog rolls, using the pan that Peeps got for my birthday.  We’ll probably have salad again, because, really, what else are you gonna have for a vegetable with hot dogs?

Thursday - I’m just going to say it.  I love eggplant.  And it’s in season.  So I got a big, beautiful one at the market, and we’re doing eggplant parmesan and Peeps will just suck it up.  Of course, the fact that we froze a bunch of meatballs in with the sauce will probably help with that – he’ll probably have pasta with meatballs, while I have pasta with eggplant parm.  It’s a win-win!

Friday -And it’s pizza night - I should still be able to enjoy tomatoes and fresh herbs – that’s my standby during the summer!  If worst comes to worst, though, I’d imagine I’ll have some leftover eggplant, and I’ll bet that would be fabulous on pizza.

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. Pary Moppins - September 10, 2012

The table is beautiful! And I feel you about staying up past your bedtime during canning season. I look forward to canning season but am awfully glad when it’s over. :) Have a great week!

Toy Lady - September 10, 2012

Thanks!

You know, I do enjoy the canning, though I think I’d enjoy it more if it was spaced out a little more. :) And I don’t even really do much – I remember, as a kid, my mother canning for DAYS ON END!

2. The Innkeeper's Daughter - September 10, 2012

Love the table! 21 qts?? Okay, i am impressed.

Toy Lady - September 10, 2012

I’m almost afraid to eat on the table! :roll:

In total, we did 33 quarts of whole tomatoes, 4 pints of diced, and 5 pints of sauce. Plus 16 pints of salsa. :)

3. Judy Norton - September 11, 2012

I would certainly say you had a busy and very productive week and your tomatoes are just beautiful! I just did peaches and pears in my canning years and I will always remember the smell of sugar! Loved the picture of kitty and she always looks so relaxed up there in the window.

Your table is just super and I wish you many, many happy meals there. Hope your market does not get hit like that again. Have a good week and get some rest!

Toy Lady - September 11, 2012

My mother used to do TONS of peaches and pears, too! I remember one year when my father “helped” – I came home from work to find syrup spilled all over the table. . . what a mess!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103 other followers

