jump to navigation

Stormageddon October 31, 2012

Posted by Toy Lady in Not about Food, random stuff, Rochester.
trackback

It’s been a weird day around here.

We here in upstate New York have suffered the remnants of Hurricane Sandy and lived to tell the tale.

All of the local schools were closed today – they made that decision last night.  Kind of a “just in case” thing, I guess.

It appears that none of the houses across the street from us has power – we’re all good, though.

I was walking the dog this morning and heard what sounded like a lawnmower running.  I was pretty sure it wasn’t a lawnmower because (a) it was not even 5 AM, (b) it was dark, and (c) it was raining.

I’ve never once seen anyone mowing a lawn under those conditions.  So I presumed it was a generator – and I looked closer and saw that there was no sign of any light in any of the houses on that street – except for the house with the lawnmower-generator sound.  Huh.

(Peeps walked by the same house on their afternoon walk and confirmed that yes, there was a generator running in the driveway.)

We walked a couple more blocks, then headed home – and we had to walk in the street at one point.  There was half a tree blocking the sidewalk.

I headed for work, and everything was in place there, but several people we deal with regularly are based in Manhattan.

From what I’ve seen on the news, New York City is underwater – or at least the parts that aren’t on fire, anyway.  Most of lower Manhattan – the financial district – the area I deal with – is flooded.

One guy is working from home – he’s fine.  He provided me with his cell number yesterday.

One guy took the train into the city (or should that be The City?) yesterday, then the trains stopped running.  He’s there until probably Wednesday.  I hope. That was the plan, anyway.

Emails to that firm have been bounced back to me – evidently the servers are down.  That can NOT be good, though hopefully they’ve planned for that eventuality.   I’m sure they’re fine – that’s just the kind of guys they are.

I haven’t heard from Peeps’s friends in New Jersey – they may have evacuated, since their neighborhood tends to flood if someone leaves the bathtub running too long.  I’m sure they’re just busy keeping their old dog (and themselves) calm.

So.

Were you in the path of The Storm?  How did you weather it?

(Heh.)

If not, what was the coverage like for the rest of the country?  Were there semi-hourly updates?  Discussions of “100-year floods?”  What have you heard?

Comments

1. Yolande - October 31, 2012

Glad you made it through. Here in CT there are about half a mil or more still without power. New Haven? Very bubble like, and ridiculously lucky. I kept power at the house and the restaurant. 10 miles in any direction? not so lucky. East and West Haven are primarily under water. Most of the friends without power. 2 Fatalities in the state, sad but overall very fortunate for what could have been. News coverage? No we had all local storm coverage 24/7 for 48 hours. From 6pm the night before till about 6pm yesterday.

Toy Lady - November 1, 2012

Yolande, I’m so glad you made it safely – both home and the restaurant! I shudder to think of what could have been. . .

2. Christy - October 31, 2012

Hi. I’m a new reader, also from CT. I happen to be in the part of the state that fared the best. We did not lose power, although it threatened to several times as it went off but came right back on. Just grateful that our family is safe and sound.

Toy Lady - November 1, 2012

Christy, hi and welcome! 🙂

I think you nailed it – grateful that our families are safe!

3. judy norton - October 31, 2012

I have been concerned for you so was glad to see you post and that you and yours are ok. The timing of “the move” was so fortunate! I have had a lot of coverage here in NM of the storm or I have gone to cable if I wanted more. My grand in Brooklyn did ok but then she is young and careless too so I really don’t know for sure what went on with her. Today as more news come in it just gets worse for New Jersey. I just hope enough help is there for those who need it. A walk in the rain would be a blessing to a lot of them. Hugs and pats all around. judy

Toy Lady - November 1, 2012

Hey, Judy! I’m glad your granddaughter is okay! (It probably is easier for her BECAUSE she’s young!)

I know they’re STILL having trouble in Manhattan – and it looks like it’s going to be a while before it gets back to normal.

4. Karen - October 31, 2012

Went through Katrina, Rita, Gustav and Issac (most recently). I could barely muster the energy to do the outside prep work required when high winds are going to swirling around you home and turn your flower pots into deadly weapons. My heart just wasn’t in it and we did the bare minimum, but did make sure the generator was working. Thankfully it was a bare minimum storm. Husband grew up down the bayou in Louisiana and went through Betsy there. During the middle of Gustav he looked at me and said “We should’ve left”. I have never heard him utter those words before in my life. Not something you want to hear in the middle of a storm and you’re going nowhere.

Glad you’re safe and hope you hear from your friends soon. One thing we’ve learned from storms is sometimes if you can’t get a phone call through you can get a text message to go.

Toy Lady - November 1, 2012

Now, see, Karen, that’s exactly the reason I DON’T live in the south! 😉 Sure, summer all year sounds great and all, not to mention NO SNOW, but WOW I don’t know how people deal with the hurricanes!

We finally heard from our friend in NJ – we didn’t have a cell number for him, or if we did I have NO IDEA where it is, so I ended up sending him a facebook message, which got sent to his phone, and he called. They’re all safe, though a little damp and without power, too. But safe. 🙂

5. Anne - October 31, 2012

Glad you’re safe and unscathed. Here in central NC, we barely got any rain. The Outer Banks are trashed, but we got about one day of drizzle. Not many leaves left on the trees, they’re all in my driveway!

Toy Lady - November 1, 2012

Anne, that’s about what we got too – the news report this morning said there were STILL about 4000 customers in the immediate area without power, but we didn’t even have a flicker! Our across-the-street neighbors, however, were not as fortunate. It looks like a tree went down and took out power to 5 houses on on our street and the houses immediately opposite them on the next street over.

And any leaves that missed your driveway? They’re in my garden, jammed into my kale! 🙄

6. mazco34 - November 15, 2012

Well, we already spoke on the phone and you know that I had 72 inches of water in my basement, 41 inches in the garage, and 6 inches of dry space in my SUV. Got power back on 11/9, but we’re still without heat or hot water. But at least my house doesn’t have an orange sticker declaring “Unfit for Habitation.” The word “Perspestive” is used by my wife and me; yes, we’ve been intercoursed, but at least I’m sleeping in my own bed.

Toy Lady - November 16, 2012

Maz, we are SO glad you’re all okay – it was such a relief to hear from you the other day! Do let us know if there’s anything we can do from here. What would work for a care package?


Sorry comments are closed for this entry