jump to navigation

My Wasted Vote November 7, 2012

Posted by Toy Lady in just general griping, mirth & woe, Not about Food, Politics.
trackback

So I’m still here, no computer except the ancient laptop.   Which means no photos.    (And while that may not be a HUGE loss, it’s still a loss, right?  Right?)

At the time of this writing, it’s the evening of Election Day.

Thank GOODNESS it’s almost over!

While we don’t know who will win at this point, I’m sure we all know who we want to win – or at least who we don’t want to win.  And I’m equally certain it’s not the same for all of us, is it?

I find myself in the position of being something of a disenfranchised voter.

In the general election, anyway, my vote doesn’t really count for much.

Sure, the local elections matter – and I always make sure to vote there.  I firmly believe that the closer my government is to me, the more control I have.  Town, Village, County, even State elections all matter, more, I think, than the presidential election.

Especially here.  You see, I’m in New York, and I don’t think there’s a truer, bluer state than New York.   Except maybe New Jersey.  Maybe.

Which means that my presidential vote is worthless.    Thanks to the electoral college, my representative will be voting for Obama, whether I like it or not.

Some representation, huh?

That’s not to say I think Romney walks on water, because I don’t.  I truly believe that there is less separating the two mainstream candidates than they’d like to have us think, and whichever your choice is, it’s no more than the lesser of two evils.

But you know what?  I’m kind of glad.  It gave me a chance to vote the way I’d like to vote, if I could vote however I wanted to if I wasn’t worried about “throwing my vote away.”

For the first time since 1984, I actually left the voting booth feeling good about my presidential vote.

I voted for what I really think – knowing that “my guy” wasn’t going to win anyway-  he wasn’t even going to make a dent in the final results.

I decided to do something radical – to vote for a “third party” candidate.   A politician who actually stands for the things I believe.  Gosh I wish people would take the Libertarian Party a little more seriously. . . I’ll bet the Founding Fathers  would have.

*Images: credit to Young Americans for Liberty.  Even though I’m more a “Middle-Aged American for Liberty.”

Comments

1. Kimberly - November 7, 2012

I went and looked at Gary Johnson’s webpage– it addresses why it is not a wasted vote. I vote differently than you (but I am slightly lured by the libertarian party), but I think the political system is weird and I still don’t get the electoral college.

Toy Lady - November 7, 2012

No, I know it’s not REALLY a wasted vote. Ideally, if a “losing” candidate gets a reasonable amount of votes, that tells the winner something. :) The 2-party system has such a stranglehold, though, that the LAST thing they want is for We The People to actually THINK. :roll:

I’ve been shifting more toward the libertarian party for probably the last decade or so. Basically, I think the government should, for the most part, keep its grubby hands out of our lives – specifically, “social issues” have no business being government business. Fix the roads and protect the borders, and leave me alone. :)

2. judy norton - November 7, 2012

What an interesting political season. Very different with the social media thrown in. I tried to not take offense to things I read from the first day and so far have not defriended anyone. :) But a couple were close. :) At my age and in my situation my needs are different than a lot of people because I am on Medicare and have other things available to me because of heath and age. I am just glad it is over for 4 more years and will watch and see how things all shake out. Colorado was very involved with the 3rd party and he got a lot of votes there, along with the legal MJ issues. No vote is wasted IMHO.

As far as your computer issues go, I MISS THE PICTURES TOO and hope to see you all soon. Is it pizza night yet.

Toy Lady - November 8, 2012

I know what you mean, Judy. I’ve seen some nastiness online that, well, I’ll just say that I’ve lost some respect for some “friends” – not because of how they vote, but because of some of the ugly, personal attacks I saw. It’s sad to see otherwise intelligent, compassionate people get involved in such mean-spirited interchanges. :(

Pizza night tomorrow – yay!

3. Anne - November 7, 2012

I’m not happy with the result, but I’m not surprised. I did better with the local races, most of my people won. I think I did a fair bit of research, and was probably more informed that a large percentage of the populace.

I am supremely happy that the robo calls and the junk mail have ceased. We’re back to stupid car dealer commercials on TV. :D

Toy Lady - November 8, 2012

Hey, I’ll take the car dealers anytime. We’ve gut a guy who’s HUGE and another who will SEE YOU RIGHT HERE. :)

4. Susan - November 8, 2012

I’m probably more libertarian even than conservative, so I can relate totally. I usually vote libertarian in races where the republican is safe. I would just die if I lived in a blue state. That would frustrate me no end!

Toy Lady - November 8, 2012

I know what you mean. At least the county and town are (fairly) (sort of) conservative – though it’s really starting to not matter much anymore. Big government is big government, regardless of whether it’s red or blue. . .


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103 other followers

