jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 11.19.2012 Edition November 19, 2012

Posted by Toy Lady in random stuff.
trackback

Photobucket

Well, here we are, back and almost fully functional!

And as luck would have it, this was a market week – yippee!  Though I’m starting to think I need a bigger wheelie-cart!  This week was rough because I needed onions (we always get them in a 10-pound bag this early in the season), it was probably the bean guy’s last week for the season (20 pounds of beans really isn’t as much as it looks like!) and, of course, when I saw the gorgeous fennel, then the awesome deal on celeriac, I knew there could be a big batch of Homely Vegetables  in our future – and possibly even in the freezer!

Photobucket

And, of course, the Thanksgiving food assignment – sweet potatoes!   Buying sweet potatoes at the public market is becoming a Thanksgiving tradition for me – it’s probably no cheaper than the supermarket this week, BUT they’re most assuredly fresher.  Besides, why would I want to skip buying  my holiday veggies off the back of a truck?  It’s the best part!

Photobucket

Photobucket

We’re planning to have some work done at the house in a couple of weeks, which means we’ll have contractors running in and out of the house for a few days.

But The Jar HATES having strangers in and out of the house – he makes everyone around him miserable.

We’ve been exploring our options, and one solution is for me to bring him to my office for a few hours.  We had a practice run last week, and, all things considered, it went well.

Jar did enjoy watching out the window, which was fine.  That is, it was fine until he felt the need to alert me to Every Single Person who walked into the building.

I had to close the blinds, then.  It’s all good.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Kitty likes to come around and enjoy a few dog-free moments now and then.

Frequently, though, she’ll do something silly like attack the table leg.

I have no idea what she’s thinking, but I do know better than to reach down and try to touch her in those moments – she actually really seems to enjoy wrapping her little kitty arms around my hand and holding on tight.

Silly kitty.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Last week’s braciole was so good!  We used Alton Brown‘s recipe (we still have the Fit to Be Tied episode on the DVR!), some marinara sauce that Peeps had brought home from work and shoved in the freezer, and the broccoli rabe that I’d picked up at the public market.

It really was a fantastic meal!

Photobucket

Photobucket

So I’ve mentioned that we’re pretty much up and running, computer-wise.

It turned out that the old machine had overheated, and bits of its innards melted.  At least that’s the impression I get.

So anyway, a replacement was in order, and we’d been kind of, sort of thinking of moving to laptops, so . . .here I am.

Fortunately for me, right around the same time I got the bad news, our friends at WOOT! featured several different re-spiffied laptops, so. . . here I am

And here’s how cool WOOT! is – Lodge even makes a 12-inch cast iron frying pan with their logo!  How could I resist that?  Can a person HAVE too much cast iron?

Photobucket

Photobucket

Holiday cheer.

This house is about half a block from us, and Peeps refers to it as the “Advent Calendar House.”  It appears that, every night between now and Christmas, they’ll be putting up more and more lights.

Let me tell you, it’s mighty bright as it is!

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  We’ve got a sort of short, busy week ahead (that sweet potato casserole isn’t going to make itself, you know!) so we’re trying very hard to keep it simple, in addition to trying to get the stuff OUT of the freezer!  Why is that such a problem, I ask you?

Monday - I receive a weekly newsletter from The Splendid Table – I love listening to that podcast!  Last week (or maybe the week before) I received in my inbox a recipe for Eggs Simmered in Tomato Sauce.  We have a bit of that marinara sauce leftover which will be perfect, I think.  Oh, and garlic bread.  And probably a tossed salad.

Tuesday -  When Peeps made the pork roast, we put some in the freezer – the intention was to give some to The Boy and some to one of our neighbors.  The Boy got his care package, but our neighbor has, apparently, been out of town.  This is taking up room in the freezer, so it’s Got To Go.  We’ll repeat the pork roast-homely veggie  meal, with a side of green beans from the freezer.  I do love my garden all year!

Wednesday -  When this recipe for Pumpkin Soup with Beer and Cheese showed up in my Google Reader the other day, I knew we’d have to try it.  I’d intended to use a buttercup squash instead of the pumpkin, but then I had 3/4 of a butternut knocking around, so now it’s BUTTERNUT SQUASH soup with beer and cheese.  We did buy pumpkin ale, though, for the occasion.

Thursday -Thursday is Thanksgiving, isn’t it?  We’ll be spending the day with my family – Peeps’s mom will also be joining us – and we’ll be having the usual Turkey Day fare – turkey with all the trimmings.

Friday - Thanksgiving or not, pizza night waits for no man!  Not sure exactly what we’ll do for pizza, but it’ll be pizza, and it’ll be good.

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. Erin Branscom - November 19, 2012

Love your menu! :) I have a menu Monday link up if you want to link up every week. Have a great week! Erin

http://erinbrans.com/2012/11/menu-monday-whats-for-dinner-2.html

Toy Lady - November 20, 2012

Hi, Erin, thank you for visiting! :)

2. Becca - November 19, 2012

I keep forgetting to put pizza on my menu plan but it is there next week! :)

Toy Lady - November 20, 2012

Yay! I can’t imagine no pizza night anymore. ;)

3. judy norton - November 19, 2012

Yeah the kids are back and the shopping trip. All is well. One of my cats acts like that too, like he is possessed, runs through the house and pounces on something to end it. I let it go too unless he pounces on his brother! The food always looks so good. I hope the office vists work out for the Jar while people are in and out. It is worth a try! Welcome back the real version!

Toy Lady - November 20, 2012

Thanks, Judy. Still have a few bugs to work out with the new computer, but it’ll be New And Improved, I’m sure! :D

4. sjbraun - November 20, 2012

Okay, your food always looks divine. But today the animals are capturing me. Jar at the office? How cool for everyone! And that is beyond sweet about Kitty “hugging” your arm. Awwww …

Toy Lady - November 20, 2012

Well, yeah, it’s cute except that she usually does her hugging with her claws out. And her teeth sometimes, too. :?


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103 other followers

