jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 01.21.2013 Edition January 21, 2013

Posted by Toy Lady in Big Lug, Food, meal plan monday, Musings, Stupor Kitty.
Tags:
trackback

Photobucket

 I don’t like to brag, but I like to think I can put together a pretty mean breakfast sandwich.  My secret?  It’s simple – I just don’t limit myself to breakfast-y things.  After all, isn’t that what Breakfast For Dinner is for?

As much as I’m a fan of a quick smoothie in the morning, I have found that, if I have a heartier breakfast before I leave for work, that keeps me satisfied for much longer – I’m not  scrounging around the office  by 10:00 looking for something – anything! – to snack on.

Photobucket

Since we had a bit of garden kale left last week, I’ve been enjoying that in the mornings – one morning, I sauteed up a bit of the green stuff (with some garlic, of course!) and added  an egg- then I put a slice of gouda cheese on my green eggs (ha!) and turned the whole thing onto some leftover baguette.  Breakfast!

My new favorite, though, is a grilled chicken sandwich!  I spread mayo  on a couple of slices of bread, then lay some leftover roasted chicken breast on top.  Put the sandwich together and brush the outside of each slice with some good olive oil, then grill.

That, together with a little more sauteed kale – a fan-freaking-tastic way to start the day!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Speaking of breakfast – remember our little experiment with the cat last week?

How Peeps didn’t set the coffee maker to turn on, so she didn’t know it was breakfast time?  And we got to sleep in until 5:30?

Well, we did that last Sunday morning, then we did it again Monday (Peeps’s day off), and it worked like a charm.

Then, this weekend, we tried it again.

Apparently, her new motto is:

Fool me once, shame on you.

Fool me twice, shame on you again.

Fool me three times, I don’t think so –  FEED ME NOW!!!

It’s a good thing I cut her nails last weekend. . .

Photobucket

Photobucket

The Jar enjoyed a nice bone this weekend – somehow he knows when it’s the weekend, so, starting around mid-morning on Saturday, every time I go to the basement for something, when I come back up, he’s waiting at the kitchen door with this expectant look on his face.

You know, just in case I’d gone in the freezer and into the Bone Stash.

Finally, Sunday afternoon, while we were in the kitchen working on the week’s dinners, Jar got his bone.

Then we played the in-and-out game for a while.  But really, how can you resist that face?  And the waggy tail?  And the cute little Gizmo ear?

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  Winter is back this week, that’s for sure!  We’re looking forward to some cold-weather, heart-warming meals this week – slow-cooked, full of flavor, and, best of all, mostly already cooked!

Monday - One thing we haven’t had in too long is our white chili – and how fortunate that I’ve got plenty of dried beans from the bean guy at the market on hand!  I do need to get used to the fact that fresh dried beans soak up less liquid and cook faster – not that any of that is a bad thing!

Tuesday - I was listening to the America’s Test Kitchen podcast the other day, and they were talking about Cuban beans and rice.  I thought to myself “boy, that sounds good” – and so, the first opportunity that  came up to suggest a meatless meal, here it is!  Though it isn’t truly meatless, having a bit of bacon in, but I don’t think bacon counts as “meat” anyway – it’s more “seasoning.”  Yeah, that’s it.

Wednesday - I actually printed this recipe for Belgian beef, beer & onion stew back in 2007 – and we finally made it for the first time last winter.  BOY is it good!  However, apparently America’s Test Kitchen doesn’t make recipes from old episodes available for free anymore, though they do allow for a 2-week “free trial.”  We’ll serve this stew with either noodles or barley – depends on our mood,  I guess.  I’ll bet some nice green beans would be good, too.

Thursday - The only evening this week we’re actually cooking, I’m going to try Cooking Light’s Meyer lemon chicken piccata – I think it’ll be a nice, bright change after a week of braised, cold-weather dishes, don’t you?  Probably serve with rice and some sort of vegetable.

Friday - We do love our pizza night!  We picked up some hard salami (on sale) , so guess what we’re all having on our pizza this week!  Well, except the dog – he’ll stick with his Kong toy.

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. judy norton - January 21, 2013

Hi new week and hi to you guys. I always laugh the furr baby stories. :) Yes, unfortunately there is still time for lots of winter ahead. We are having break now so that is good. Your breakfast stuff always interests me too and that did look very good. Is the new bath room all finished up now with paint and lights, etc? Have a really good week and don’t forget about that vacation.

Toy Lady - January 22, 2013

Boy, they sure do keep my hands full, don’t they? :D

Bathroom’s mostly done – painted, anyway. I still need some little stuff – a towel ring and a TP holder. And I want to change knobs on the vanity. Probably need a curtain, though the window is frosted, so maybe not. . .

I am really not good at this decorating stuff. ;)

2. susanklement - January 23, 2013

Great menu! I like using a bit of bacon for seasoning, and I do that with a lot of meat dishes, actually. I figure lowering the amount of meat in a meal several nights has even more of an effect than 1 meatless meal anyway. The chicken piccata recipe looks great, too!

Toy Lady - January 23, 2013

Susan, exactly! We do a lot of soups, too – I find I’m using less meat and more, well, other stuff. :)


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers

