jump to navigation

Lucy’s got some ‘splainin to do February 6, 2013

Posted by Toy Lady in Cook's Illustrated, Homemade.
trackback

 photo IMG_7168_zps5b444fe3.jpg

Yeah, sorry, but it was either an I Love Lucy reference or some joke about a cigar.  And honestly, I have yet to hear a joke about a cigar that’s not in poor taste, Freud notwithstanding.

Clearly I know nothing about Cuban culture, other than Ricky Ricardo and Cuban cigars.  Oh, wait, there’s Castro, but, well, he’s no fun.

Babalu!

Where was I?

 photo IMG_7169_zps979d0a78.jpg

Beans and rice. Rice and beans.  The ultimate in poverty meals, and, honestly, often kind of boring, huh?

I mean, what?, you cook some rice, open a can of beans, and maybe throw some cumin in there, and there you go.

Yawn.

Clearly I have no idea how beans and rice are made – I’ve never actually done it.  I had to check with Peeps to see how he does it.

So.  I was walking the dog other day, listening to the America’s Test Kitchen podcast, and they were talking about their Cuban beans and rice.

 photo IMG_7173_zps49732d47.jpg

Now I don’t know about you, but if there’s anyone on this earth more, I don’t know, “white-bread” than I am, it’s got to be Christopher Kimball.

I mean. . . well, you know what I mean.  There’s not an awful lot of Latin fire going on there, is there?  Don’t get me wrong, I love the guy to pieces, but I just see him more as a roast beef and mashed potato sort than, well black beans and rice, you know?

But you know what?  He RAVED about it!  And yes, I know that that’s kind of what he’s supposed to do, well, I tend to believe him.

Especially at 5:30 in the morning, when I haven’t had breakfast yet, and it’s about 12 degrees and windy, with a couple of inches of snow.  I think my exact thought at that moment was “I am SO making that!”

 photo IMG_7182_zps0d9942fe.jpg

And make it I did.

I’m not going to go into excruciating detail (if it’s not already too late!) – the recipe is available through the ATK Radio program’s site  right here – though you will need to create an “account” – it’s free, and all you have to give up is your email address.

I really pretty much followed the recipe as written, with a couple of exceptions.

I didn’t use sweet green peppers – I had some poblanos in the freezer, so I used those.

 photo IMG_7176_zpsc225f51c.jpg

Instead of the salt pork called for, I used bacon.

Again, I have tons of the stuff in the freezer, and a little smoke is definitely good thing – in pork, anyway.

I do want to take a second, though, and mention the rinsing the rice step.  I’ve done that for a couple of different recipes, and, while it’s most definitely a pain in the neck, WOW what a difference it makes!

Just your basic, long-grain white rice, rinsed (and rinsed, and rinsed some more!), and you end up with nicely separate, well-defined grains, rather than sticky, clumpy rice blobs.

I’m going to be honest here – I don’ necessarily hate the clumpy rice blobs, either.

 photo IMG_7183_zps8e966657.jpg

Oh, and the recipe called for fresh oregano.  I’m assuming that, if they’d thought about it, they would have specified Mexican (or even Cuban) oregano.  (Yes, I’ve seen Cuban oregano plants – who knew?)

However, all I have in the garden is Greek oregano, and that was a little,well, a bit frosty.

It still worked, though.  I’d imagine that about 1/3 of the amount of dried oregano would work too, in a pinch.

 photo IMG_7184_zps293ac356.jpg

What I love about this dish, well, actually there were a few things.

I love using dried beans – dried beans just taste better and have a better texture than canned, and that’s all there is to it.

I loved that it’s made with stuff that’s just lying around anyway – who doesn’t have some rice, a couple of onions, some stray bacon (or not  – there’s a vegetarian variation, too!) and, if you’re wise, a bag of beans?

We’re talking MAYBE having to pick up a green pepper (unless you, too, cram whatever you can in the freezer for “later”).

Plus it makes a LOT!

 photo IMG_7186_zps2a757dc6.jpg

The verdict?

I am SO making this again!

We had it for dinner one night.

We each ate some for lunch a couple more times.

I shared some (along with the recipe) with a friend.

 I’m already thinking of swapping out the black beans for red beans, just to see how that’ll work out.

And seriously?

I’m considering investing in a Cuban oregano plant for the herb garden. . .

Comments

1. judy norton - February 6, 2013

That just looks GOOD. Especially when it is that cold outside. YUM.

Toy Lady - February 6, 2013

Judy, I am TOTALLY making this again, too! :)

2. kayatthekeyboard - February 6, 2013

Have never been terribly successful with black beans and rice, but I yield to no woman in my ability to make red beans and rice. If you can find you some andouille sausage up there in the frozen north — go for it.

Toy Lady - February 6, 2013

Dude. We’ve got andouille sausage. And failing that, I’ve got a husband who’s got not only a smoker but DIFFERENT cures AND a cooler for curing any sausage he wants. Plus an affinity for all things New Orleans. Yeah, we can do andouille. :)

PS: Try this one – it’s really good!

mazco34 - February 7, 2013

Trust me Kay, it’s true about that affinity. I’ve known both of them for years. Prior to becoming wed-locked, Peeps would go at least once a year to New Orleans and blow off steam. He would come back to work a hurtin’ man.

3. Karen - February 10, 2013

So went to the website to get the recipe and yes, they did want me to sign up and then they wanted my credit card information to send me a “free” magazine and they would only charge me after I got my “free” subscription. No. I guess I won’t be making this one but it sure sounds good.

Toy Lady - February 10, 2013

Karen, that’s not right. :( The ONLY thing it should ask for is your email. I’ve never been asked for credit card information.

The link should have taken you to the ATK Radio site – try here.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103 other followers

