jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 02.25.2013 Edition February 25, 2013

Posted by Toy Lady in meal plan monday, Musings.
trackback

I finally got back to the public market this weekend – yay!  You’ll recall that I missed my last trip because of the weather, and I guess I more than made up for it this week!   We were low on coffee, out of good olive oil and low on eggs – unfortunately, though, I didn’t see the maple syrup lady, because we’re out of syrup.  Next time.

Even at this time of year, though, there are certain things that, if you’re going to get them, you’ve got to get them now.

Fingerling potatoes won’t be around much longer – so I’ll probably double up on them for as long as I can.  I also scored some more Meyer lemons, as well as some Minneola oranges.  And really, who can pass up 2 for $1 avocados?

One of the butchers even had oxtails, just in time for Bon Appetit‘s March issue and its recipe for oxtail and barley soup.

Photobucket

Jar is a champ at taking his pills – and he does take pills like old people, let me tell you – 2 in the morning and 5 in the evening.  Plus the occasional 3 Benedryls in the summer and 3 aspirin either if he’s been swimming or, in the winter, if he’s slipped or taken a tumble.

(My kitchen is a doggy drugstore.)

But every now and then, he gets a little contrary, and he’ll manage to eat his kibble, every bit of it, leaving just a lone pill or two in the bottom of the bowl.  So a while back, I started wrapping each of his pills in something yummy, usually a piece of cheese.

Then, when we made a kale and bean pie for dinner last week, and I was lamenting the fact that I’d have to throw away the scraps I’d trimmed from the pie crust, Peeps suggested wrapping some of it around Jar’s evening pills – brilliant!

I turns out that one thing Jarly loves even better processed American cheese is the combination of butter, parmesan cheese and whole wheat flour that we used for that crust.

And he doesn’t even care if it gets a little tough from over-handling it!

Photobucket

We had a dog class Saturday, and, apparently, there was some sort of SNAFU – the 8-dog class was full – of TWELVE dogs!

Now 8 dogs is a full class – 12 is ridiculously full.  While half the class has been diverted to 9AM for the rest of the sessions, we soldiered through for the first week.

And it was exhausting!  Imagine a room with 12 dogs, some of which will barely sit when told, about 25  people (including kids, some of which also apparently didn’t know sit), all of the dogs slightly overwhelmed by so many strangers people and  dogs, and a few of them,  ours included, already had a reputation for being a little, well, fractious.

We were all wiped out by the time we got home!

So at dinnertime, Peeps and I broke down and ordered pizza from a chain which shall remain nameless.  They’ve been advertising a lot lately for their little mini-pizzas, and they just looked so CUTE!  Plus we could sit on the couch and wait for them to come to us, which was exactly what we wanted.

We thought the pizza was terrible – though, unfortunately, there were a couple of pieces leftover, and AHEM certain people AHEM seemed to think it was okay to wait until everyone was in bed, then get up on the counter, open the pizza box, and eat the meat and cheese off the tops, leaving sad, naked crusts behind.

Then whine to be fed at 4 in the morning.

You’d have thought it would be a bigger problem having a dog who can reach the counters, wouldn’t you?  It’s just a good thing that pizza wasn’t very good, that’s all.

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  It’s still February, and it’s still soup weather, which is fortunate because we’ve got soup!

Monday –  Our supermarket has whole chickens on sale again this week, and we just can’t resist a good roast chicken!   I picked up a handful of sugar snap peas at the market – they’ll be wonderful quickly sauteed along with the chicken and, of course, fingerling potatoes.  I just love starting the week with a nice roast chicken dinner don’t you?

Tuesday – We’ve got a bit of last week’s Chinese pork left over – which will be just perfect in a bowl of fried rice.  A nice, warm, cozy dish for a late February evening!

Wednesday – I have got a long day at work that day – several bond sales, plus my boss will be going out of town the next day, which means, well, I’m going to come home looking for a no-fuss-no-muss dinner!  Fortunately, we had plenty of sauce left in the fridge from last week, and Peeps happened to bring home some fresh pasta sheets the other day – so we picked up some ricotta cheese and put together a lasagna that can just go in the oven for an hour or so.  How’s that for no fuss?

Thursday – I mentioned oxtails and  Bon Appetit‘s soup recipe in this month’s issue.  It’s not quite done yet – basically we’ll need to de-fat the beef broth and add the barley, but so far it’s looking good. . . of course, it probably doesn’t hurt that, while I used fewer oxtails than the recipe called for, we used homemade beef stock rather than water to cook them in.  I’m SO looking forward to Thursday night!

Friday – We do love our pizza night – and we should really know better than to even think about ordering lousy pizza delivered!  This week, we’ve still got some salami that is a definite crowd-pleaser on pizza.  I also had a little leftover lasagna filling which makes a great pizza topping.

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. Jamie @ Prepared to Eat - February 25, 2013

Wow, I never would have thought to put lasagna filling on a pizza, but they would obviously compliment each other. :) Looks good.

Toy Lady - February 25, 2013

Oh, I love putting ricotta filling on pizza – it’s kind of like an inside-out calzone! ;)

2. sjbraun - February 25, 2013

I saw those PH pizzas — thought about trying them, but now I think I’ll just say no! On Trader Joe’s — although I love it, it wouldn’t have anything on your wonderful market. I hope the dogs — and kids — at the next class have learned to obey a bit better :0

Toy Lady - February 25, 2013

Every now and then, I have to admit that I like a kind of greasy pizza. :oops: But this – it wasn’t even greasy right. They were just sad. . .

I do love our public market – it’s like a giant, year-round farmers’ market -slash- flea market -slash- markdown aisle. :)

And fingers crossed on the next class. . . if nothing else, it’ll be less full, and that’s a good thing!

3. jehdld - February 25, 2013

Wow, your menu looks really good! Lasagna pizza…you may be on to something there.

Toy Lady - February 26, 2013

Why thank you! I really enjoy the ricotta on my pizza now and then – I just put the leftovers in a muffin tin in the freezer – one “muffin” holds about 1/4 cup and is perfect for one pizza. Great use of leftover lasagna filling!

4. Anne - February 25, 2013

Whoa, whoa, back up Barbie. Kale and bean pie?? Do share!!

Please? :D

Toy Lady - February 26, 2013

Anne, it’s good to know you’re paying attention . . . ;) Yeah, I’ll probably put that up next week.

You’re such a veggie inspiration to me. :)


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103 other followers

