jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 03.17.2013 Edition March 18, 2013

Posted by Toy Lady in canning, Eating Down the Fridge, Garden, meal plan monday, Musings.
Tags:
trackback

 photo IMG_7424_zps92bf19e5.jpg

I noticed the other day that my garlic was starting to peek up!  I was going to take a picture at the time, but then it snowed.

The snow melted, but we had time-change and it was always too dark in the morning.

Then it snowed again, but the snow melted AND I managed to scoot out to the garden with the camera, so . . . hey, look, garlic sprouts!

Photobucket

 photo IMG_7417_zpsf9725a0e.jpg

The sprouting garlic reminds me that the winter is nearly over – yay!  However, it also reminds me that, if I want to make chicken stock, I should do it sooner rather than later – it’s just foolish not to take advantage of the cold nights and chill the stock on the deck overnight.

Plus, of course, it’s always appreciated when I salvage the meat from the leg quarters and have treats for the, um, children.

Photobucket

 photo IMG_7422_zpsd37e730d.jpg

Speaking of whom. . .

We’re still continuing our tolerance training – it’s amazing how well everyone gets along when they’re being feed bits of chicken, isn’t it?  I swear, the cat practically climbs in my lap, with the dog right there watching – and waiting patiently for his turn!

By the way, please pay no attention to the red socks and purple shirt combination!  I’m not much of a fashion plate at that hour of the morning!

Photobucket

Embarrassing confession time.

You know how, around the holidays, all the supermarkets are practically giving away turkeys?  You know, a whole bird for 29 cents a pound with a $25 purchase, or some such foolishness?

Well, it’s been a couple of years since we’ve bought a turkey – there are only the two of us, after all.

Or, um, maybe it’s been more than a couple of years.   It’s amazing what you’ll find when you dig around in the bottom of the chest freezer!  Fortunately, the bird’s been safely in its original cry-o-vac packaging, so it’ll be just fine, safety-wise, anyway.

Photobucket

 photo IMG_7416_zps043c4b63.jpg

Say, Jarly’s been doing very well in his obedience class – again!

This is the “advanced” class, and the intention is to train the dogs to be SO obedient that they can perform off-leash.  In public, or, more specifically, in a room full of people and other dogs.

And, given Jar’s particular history, the “other dogs” part is the biggest challenge!

However, this week, he worked very hard – he did all of the exercises he was asked to do, AND he heeled properly – in the proper position, ignoring all distractions (like the room full of strange people and dogs), and he did it without his leash!

Our boy enjoyed his well-deserved nap!

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  I am hoping that after this week, things will settle down for me at work for a little while.  I am SO TIRED of going in early, working late, and, worst of all, having no time at all for my normal slacking!

Monday – I picked up a few more Meyer lemons last week, and, rather than let them go to waste, we’ve been using them here and there.  We’ll finish them up in an old favorite from Cook’s IllustratedSpaghetti al Limone.

Tuesday – Since winter is winding down (really!) Peeps mentioned that we hadn’t made our favorite pork sugo in a while –  we’ll have some for the freezer when we’re done (just what I need!), and I’ll probably send some home with the Boy the next time he stops by for something.  That’s what moms do, right?

Wednesday – Since we’re kind of grooving on old favorites this week, I guess some white chili is in order.  Besides, I have GOT use some of those beans!  We’ll use some cooked turkey instead of chicken.  Obviously.

Thursday –  Of course, we can’t roast a turkey without making hot turkey sandwiches.  We’re not barbarians!

Friday – Friday night is always pizza night – I have decided that olive oil, ricotta cheese and salami, with mozzerella or provolone, is my favorite pizza of all.  At least it is at the moment.  And I’ve got just enough ricotta filling for ONE more pizza night.

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. Judy Norton - March 19, 2013

I am so behind but must comment on your comments. Jar obviously has been working hard at being good and it sounds like he really deserves his nap. Good Boy. And your kids about a foot apart – that has been a very long time coming. Thanks for this picture. This week’s pizza sounds really, really yummie and don’t you just love promises of the garden season ahead. Great Monday show!

Toy Lady - March 20, 2013

Hey, Judy, I hope you’re well! Come on spring!

Isn’t it amazing how well the two of them can get along when they’re motivated? :lol:


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103 other followers

