jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 07.29.2013 July 29, 2013

Posted by Toy Lady in random stuff.
trackback

 photo IMG_7710_zps52e4a8e8.jpg

And here it is, another week -and nearly another month! – done.  Is it just me, or do the summers go a lot faster than they used to?

This was a market week for us – it’s such a great time of year for the public market!  But would you believe, I got everything unpacked – the fresh corn, the peaches (!), garlic, mustard greens, eggs, everything – then I totally forgot to take a photo.

Sometimes I wonder about me.

Photobucket

 photo IMG_7708_zps9597439c.jpg

Of course, it may have been that I was in a hurry to get started cleaning the lettuce.

Now you might think I’ve gone a little overboard on lettuce – after all, does anyone really need to buy an entire sink full –  5 bunches – of fresh leaf lettuce in one trip?

See, here’s the thing.  I’m back on the Fatty wagon – I’ve been using My Fitness Pal to track my calories and exercise.  And, given my normal level of exercise (a daily walk, then the rest of the day at my desk), well, I’ve got to cut some calories.  And the easiest way to do that is by having Salad in a Jar for lunch.

So I’ll be enjoying salad for lunch every day, pretty much indefinitely.  Or until I can’t face another lettuce leaf.

Photobucket

 photo IMG_7704_zps15199393.jpg

Oh, oh, ask me how the garden’s doing!

You know how we’ve been planting garlic in the fall?  And how it comes up bright and early every spring?

Well, garlic lets us know when it’s ready- the leaves start to die back, like they did last week – I went out there, and all the nice, green garlic leaves were brown and flopped over.  So Peeps grabbed the pitchfork and we pulled those buggers up!  There were a few puny bulbs, but there were also several respectable-sized ones – yay!
 photo IMG_7705_zps9325b56c.jpg

And, since the garden was in a giving mood, I also picked my very first tomato of the year (besides the cherries, that is) – yes, it’s sort of small, and it’s kind of ugly.  And it’s only ripe on one side (what’s that all about, anyway?) . . . but it’s a real live heirloom tomato, from my own garden, and it was quite tasty sliced on a smoked brisket sandwich.

Photobucket

 photo IMG_7707_zpsed087662.jpg

My co-worker had a birthday last week, and I stopped and picked up a box of assorted donuts to add to the festivities.

By “festivities” I mean a box of donuts.  We’re a small office, you know.

You know what’s the problem with a box of assorted donuts, don’t you?  You kind of want to take a bite out of each one of them, which doesn’t do much for the old calorie count that day, does it?

Fear not – I behaved myself.

Photobucket

 photo IMG_7709_zps61d4a681.jpg

We were so thrilled to see that the potato guy at the market had new potatoes!

Other vendors have had them, but most of what’s being sold as “new potatoes” up to now has been from Florida.  Not that I have anything against Florida, mind you, but these guys had been dug up the day before.  Now THAT’s new.

I am totally putting some small red potatoes in the garden next year!  My fingerlings aren’t going to be ready to dig for another month or so.

Photobucket

 photo IMG_7712_zps822e734f.jpg

So here’s what I did this weekend.  Or rather, I should say what WE did – I roped Peeps into helping me.

When I bought this house, someone had installed this ugly, cheap looking vinyl tile in the front entry way.  I’ve always hated it, but I was kind of afraid to see what was underneath it.

Well, what was underneath it was hardwood pretty scratched, and awfully paint- spattered, yes, but still much better than the garbage that was hiding it!

(Also, if you’re ever wondering, WD-40 does wonders for taking off that icky, sticky adhesive they use to glue down ugly tiles.)

 photo IMG_7713_zpsc15e59a6.jpg

Plus, Jarly approves!

Photobucket
 photo IMG_7714_zps72389401.jpg

You’ll recall that I’ve been working on Kitty Tolerance Training in the mornings for a while now, and it’s been going fairly well.

No one’s killed anyone, and that’s got to be a good sign, right?

Seriously, it’s been going well enough that I’ve gotten the clicker out – for the cat.  She’s learning to look at me when I say her name – even if that means the Big Scary Dog sees her!

She’s actually been doing very well – for a cat her age (11+ years old), and given the amount of time we spend on it (about 5 minutes a day) she’s really getting the hang of it, dog or no dog!

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  Looks like we’ve got another fairly nice week to look forward to – I’m happy to see these cooler temperatures, though I hope they don’t signal the coming of fall already!

 photo 7_day_zps913d6868.jpg

Monday - First up is a recipe we saw in last month’s issue of Cook’s Country, although it seems  to have been appeared before – Grilled Jalapeno and Lime Shrimp Skewers  is originally from their June/July 2007 issue. We’re planning to enjoy the shrimp on a bed of rice (probably jasmine)  with some pan-roasted broccoli.

Tuesday - I saw a reference to this Basil Lime Chicken the other day and thought it sounded interesting – clearly I’m in a “lime” sort of mood this week, huh?  we’ll probably half the recipe, since we’re only going to cook a couple of chicken breasts, which, hopefully, my pitiful basil plants will be able to handle.  We’re going to boil some of those new potatoes, and maybe some green beans from the garden  they’ve started to slow down a bit, but they seem to be picking back up.

Wednesday - This is our anniversary, and while we usually like to go to a nice restaurant, since it’s Wednesday, we’ll save that for the weekend.  On the actual anniversary date, we’re going to the Food Truck Rodeo!

Thursday - Do you know what I just found out?  Trust me, you’re going to be as shocked as I was!  After all these years of telling me he didn’t care for BLTs, I have just learned that Peeps has never actually had an actual bacon, lettuce and tomato sandwich.  I know, right?  Well, since tomato season has officially started here at The Fridge, we’re going to remedy that, here and now.  Well, Thursday.  Plus, it’s Minimal Effort Thursday, so there’s that, to.

Friday - And now with my tomatoes coming in, pizza night means one thing – pizza with good olive oil, fresh herbs, and sliced tomatoes.  Oh, be still me heart. . .

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. judy norton - August 2, 2013

This week totally got away from me what with my a plans and all but I had to tell you how much I enjoyed it all, from your “loverly” tomato to the “plenty of lettuce” to the CAT (: to the DOG to the market and back and all the work on the floors and cooking and all the rest. It was more like the “old” you. Maybe it is “diet” or not, but this is a great one, and the pictures are always great! Thanks for continuing to do this blog. judy

Toy Lady - August 4, 2013

Thanks, Judy – and you have no idea how much I appreciate your reading! :)

I do hope all is going well for you this summer – we hope to get back to a more regular posting schedule . . . pretty soon. ;)


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers

