jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 08.26.2013 Edition August 26, 2013

Posted by Toy Lady in Eating Down the Fridge, meal plan monday, random stuff.
trackback

 photo IMG_7796_zps3c5f007a.jpg

Another week, another market trip!

This time of year is so crazy, isn’t it? I mean, EVERYTHING comes into season – I got some nice fresh broccoli, red peppers (which are already roasted and in the freezer!), new-ish potatoes, garlic. . . the list just goes on!

And since next weekend is Labor Day weekend, we’ll be making a bonus trip to the market – but just for tomatoes.  And probably corn.  And garlic.

We’ve got canning and freezing to do you know!

Photobucket

 photo IMG_7791_zpsa09d7c19.jpg

I’ve finally finished the last of those peaches we picked last weekend – finally!

Besides enjoying a fresh peach for breakfast every single day (yummy!), and making a batch of roasted peach-bourbon frozen yogurt (shockingly delicious!), I made a batch of peach jam and peeled and quartered the remainder and shoved ‘em in the freezer.  They’ll be great in smoothies this winter, I’m sure.

Photobucket

 photo IMG_7802_zpsad8502c8.jpg

Our poor Jar!  He’s just been so tired lately.  I’m not sure what’s going on with him, but his “schedule” seems to be messed up – he doesn’t want to walk at walking time, but he wants to be up and about, and in and out,  in the middle of the night.  With company.

Um, no.

I don’t want a toddler in the house – just go to sleep.

Photobucket

 photo IMG_7801_zps9267a2c2.jpg
Of course, the KItty is happy to take advantage of Jar’s sleepiness – she’s been taking great glee in stretching herself out in the middle of the kitchen floor – I think she’s trying to see if she can, in fact, take up nearly as much floor space as he does.

As an aside, I’ve been working on some clicker-training with Minerva Kitty – she’s doing surprisingly well, given the fact that, really, almost the only chance I have to do this is when the dog is RIGHT THERE.  On the occasions I’ve managed to sneak in a few minutes alone with her, she is really doing a great job!  Pretty soon I’ll have her doing tricks!

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  It looks like the August weather is back – warm and humid, some rain. . . though we really can’t complain; it’s been such a nice summer here in upstate NY.

 photo 7_day_zpse9f706e9.jpg

Our menu plans usually include a few considerations:

  • what looks good at the market
  • what’s hanging around in the freezer/fridge/garden
  • what’s on sale at the supermarket

Lately, summer being what it is, “what looks good at the market” is pretty much EVERYTHING!  The harvest season is so short that I hate NOT taking advantage of all the fresh vegetables I can, you know?

Monday – This week, I picked up a bag of nice, fresh spinach – I probably should have gotten more, but, well, we can realistically only eat just so much of it, and spinach doesn’t keep well in the fridge – it turns to slime.  We’ve got the spinach, and I’ve been wanting to make saag paneer for the longest time!  Although the recipe also calls for mustard greens (which we love), I’ve got  surplus of kale right now, so that’s going to have to do.  It’ll be good!

Tuesday – I got a couple of fresh eggplants at the market, so we’re doing eggplant parm – one of my all-time favorite dishes.  A good eggplant parm is magic.  And this one is good.  How good?  Well, Peeps, who is definitely NOT an eggplant fan, will eat it. Willingly.  How’s that?

Wednesday –  The last Wednesday of the month, though September, is the Food Truck Rodeo – yee haw!


We love being able to go out, eat some fun food, and support some of our local entrepreneurs!  For a little extra fun, this month’s rodeo falls on the evening before The Boy‘s birthday, so – what’s a better birthday dinner?   Exactly.

Thursday – Peeps ran into The Pierogie Guy at the market and was suddenly overcome by a longing for potato and cheese pierogies with lots of sauteed garlic.  Who am I go object – especially when he’s already agreed to eggplant parm this week?

Friday – You know, with the possible exception of Wednesday’s food truck rodeo, it’s all meatless all the time here this week!  How the heck did that happen?  And that’s not going to change much for pizza night – while I certainly don’t object to pepperoni, I certainly don’t want it cluttering up my fresh tomato pie!  On the other hand, I’ll bet I could be persuaded to chop some homemade bacon on my fresh tomato pizza.  Hmmmm. . . .

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. judy norton - August 29, 2013

Where does the time go? I see you did the peachy thing and I know your house is going to smell really good this weekend what with the canning, freezing and whatever else will be going on. Four legged kids best to stay out from underfoot. Poor Jar and silly kitty. I love the sneaking up stuff. :)

Toy Lady - September 1, 2013

Thanks, Judy! :) Wow, busy week, huh? Even for me. . .


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103 other followers

