jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 09.09.2013 Edition September 9, 2013

Posted by Toy Lady in random stuff.
trackback

 photo IMG_7832_zpsb5921fef.jpg

Oh, man, ALL of the things are in season these days, aren’t they?

I have never seen peaches as consistently fantastic as they’ve been this year – so much so that I just couldn’t pass up another quarter bushel on what will probably be the last weekend peaches fresh will be available!

And I’m pretty sure this will be my last cantaloupe for a while.

Not going to count on much more corn, either, and the garlic guy’s just about tapped out too.

In other news, pears and leeks are starting to come in, and they’re looking good too!

Photobucket

 photo IMG_7812_zpsbf5b3ea2.jpg

We’ve been rather busy the past couple of weeks preserving and puttin’ up and stuff.

Did I mention that I’d ordered a food dehydrator a few months ago?  Amazon had them on sale for something like 40% off, so . . . I must say, the dehydrator makes short work of drying tomatoes!  I’ve got a gallon bag full of ‘em now!
 photo IMG_7826_zps64a40a01.jpg

And of course we canned a boatload of tomatoes, as well – not quite as many as prior years, though, because we’ve got several quarts left from last year.  While it’s good to have enough put up, there’s no need to have so much that we’ll never us it all, right?

Still working on last year’s salsa – we didn’t even bother to make any this year.  Well, I should say, we didn’t bother to make any tomato salsa – I couldn’t resist a batch of roasted corn salsa – some of which went beautifully with some of Peeps smoked pork!
 photo IMG_7828_zpsdb023f1f.jpg

And, since I didn’t have enough going on last weekend, I baked a pie for Labor Day.

Not just any random old pie, though – oh, no, this was a fresh peach pie, and it was absolutely delightful!  So much so that, well, did you notice the peck of peaches I picked up earlier?  Yeah, I’m going to toss a couple of unbaked peach pies (or at least the filling for them) into the freezer.  They’ll be a delightful addition to Thanksgiving or Christmas dinner, don’t you think?

Photobucket
 photo IMG_7831_zps0b81fad1.jpg

I know y’all have been dying to ask about Kitty Tolerance Training – I’m going to boast a little here.  It’s been going very well.  I’m keeping a clicker right in the kitchen, and while Jarly’s enjoying (i.e., wolfing down) his breakfast, Kitty enjoys a little training time – I call her, she looks at me and gets a click and a treat, and a little loving.

Then, Jarly comes along and takes his place beside me, and there is peace and joy throughout the land.  Or at least nobody snarling, charging, or hissing at anyone else.

I’l take it.

Photobucket

 photo IMG_7848_zpscbb8a631.jpg

There’s nothing that says “fall is coming” quite like a late-season garden, is there?

Most of the green beans have been pulled up, the garlic is long gone, the tomatoes are gasping their last, and that SQUASH!  It’s STILL trying to take over the garden!
 photo IMG_7850_zps24af3023.jpg

However, all is not lost – I put a last row of beans in when I harvested the garlic last month, and it’s doing very nicely.

Somehow, though, the prospect of fresh green beans isn’t quite as exciting now, in September, as it was back in July.  Go figure.

Photobucket
 photo IMG_7851_zps2536010d.jpg

One of our favorite tricks for keeping Jarly entertained when we’ve got other things to do – things that are better done without a giant dog underfoot – is to send him to the back yard with a bone.  Besides the “few minutes of peace and quiet,” it’s kind of neat that he’ll do virtually anything I ask – when there’s a bone on the line!

Bones are not the only thing that’ll keep a dog busy for awhile, either.  It’s surprising just how gentle our Jarly can be with a raw egg – it’s almost like he’s afraid to hurt it!

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  It’s starting to look like summer hasn’t quite given up, doesn’t it?  We’ve got some mighty summery temperatures to look forward to, even now in September!  At this point, I will take it for as long as I can – before we know it, we’ll be walking the dog through the snow and shoveling the driveway!

 photo 7_day_zps7e002880.jpg

Monday - We’ve got a chicken defrosting, and Peeps is going to slap it on the grill while we still can!  We’re thinking of rubbing some fresh herbs and lemon zest under the skin – it’ll be delish!  We also just dug up some of our own fingerlings, and what goes better with roast chicken than fingerling potatoes?  Unless it’s fingerling potatoes and the last of the green beans from the garden – at least until the new green beans start producing. . .

Tuesday - We were digging in the freezer and came up with some pork loin chops.  Simple, basic chops on the grill – it’s a good thing!  We’ve also get a couple of sweet potatoes (the dog did NOT appreciate dehydrated sweet potato chips, by the way) and some of the kale from LAST year sauteed.

Wednesday - I look around the kitchen, and I see bowls full of tomatoes – and ears of corn.   And I remembered this chili-cheddar corn grits - we tried it a couple of years ago and liked it well enough to keep the recipe.  It’s perfect for a late summer evening when the perfectly ripe produce is starting to get out of hand . . . what’s better than a meatless dish highlighting fresh corn and tomatoes PLUS cheese?

Thursday - We really like the idea of Minimal Effort Thursday – by the end of the work week, the last thing anyone wants is to do anything for dinner that requires too much effort – we’re TIRED! – so we make it a point to keep it simple  on Thursday.  This week, in keeping with both Minimal Effort Thursday AND the clearing out the freezer project, we pulled a container of pork sugo out – we’ll just cheese it and toss it in the oven.  No effort there. . .

Friday - For pizza night I’m still enjoying my fresh tomatoes as long as I can – I know  their days are numbered, so I’m making the most of them.  Fresh tomatoes, good olive oil, flavorful herbs. . . maybe I’ll splurge on some good cheese this week, too!

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. judy norton - September 11, 2013

Mixed feelings about the garden pictures. The beginnings are so great and the end kinda sad but almost a relief. You will have some great, tasty reminders in the winter months as you enjoy all the things you have “put up.” Love the clicker with Kitty and just can’t believe how close together they are after all these years. What will you do with all your spare time. (I jest you know.)

Toy Lady - September 12, 2013

Boy, do I know what you mean about the end of the garden being something of a relief! But yeah, it is kind of sad, too. But there’s always next spring to look forward to, right? :)

And I’m considering trying to get the two beasties to curl up together – how do you think that’ll work out? :lol:

judy norton - September 12, 2013

I think if any one could make them curl up together it would be you. I will be looking for updates and keep bandaids handy. LOL

Toy Lady - September 13, 2013

Believe me, band-aids are never far away!
:)

2. Karen - September 15, 2013

Temps in the 60′s? Even the high 60′s I’d jump for joy. It’s supposed to 92 here today but even that’s beginning to seem cool after the summer we’re having. Yeah, it’s not even close to over yet and people wonder why my husband and I go on vacation in October and head to the mountains for some camping.

Toy Lady - September 15, 2013

I do not blame you one bit heading for the mountains! I can’t imagine a world where 92 is starting to cool down! :shock:

I’ve been breaking out the hoodie the past few mornings, it’s been THAT cool!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103 other followers

