jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 02.03.2014 Edition February 3, 2014

Posted by Toy Lady in Big Lug, meal plan monday, Musings, random stuff, Stupor Kitty.
trackback

 photo IMG_8051_zps7b6c16a6.jpg

Boy, it’s been a long, cold week, hasn’t it?

And clearly, The Jar is suffering from cabin fever, just like the rest of us!

Poor thing – he wants to go out and WALK and even RUN!  Then we get outside, and before we know it, his little (big) feet are cold and he’s walking funny and he’s ready to come IN.

He’s spent a good portion of a couple of evenings trying to get us to play ball with him – in the living room.  Now I don’t know about your house, but mine is far too small to have a 115-pound beast gallumping around chasing a tennis ball. That’s how houses get broken!  So he eventually settled for picking the yellow fuzz off the tennis ball instead.

I keep saying – it’s just like having a giant furry toddler in the house.

(And yes, we took him out to get weighed last week - someone is going to need to drop a few pounds, I think.  Someone else, that is.)

Photobucket
 photo kittycode_zpsdd21bb17.jpg

And the kitty has finally done it – she’s broken the Kitty Code.

When we finally got a couple of hours of above-freezing temperatures Saturday, I took the opportunity to fill Kongs – it’s amazing how much easier that is when you don’t have someone trying to shove his big furry nose on the counter and barking his fool head off at you because he WANTS SOME RIGHT NOW.

Of course, I’ve got furry little meowing going on instead.  So. . . I let her lick the can.  That would be the Mighty Dog can.  Then I took a picture of her with her face in the dog food can.  Ha.

Photobucket

 photo IMG_8046_zpsb59157bd.jpg

It’s been just about 3 months since we’ve switched Jarly to a raw diet, and, overall, I have to say, we’re very happy with it.

We haven’t seen any sign of any of the stomach issues he’s suffered in the past, which is great.  And he’s pretty much always had a rash on his stomach, which got a little better when we changed kibble, and better yet when we cut out peanut butter, but it’s always still been there.  Now it’s completely gone.

Now that we’ve found several decent sources of meat, it’s actually much cheaper than kibble too – and, additionally, kibble itself has become something of a treat!

The only downside?  Raw liver.  (Actually, organ meat in general.)  Do you have any idea how awkward (and disgusting) it is to cut up a 20-pound beef liver?

The things we do for our pets, eh?

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.   We seem to have fallen in a bit of a rut when it comes to dinner – I don’t know what’s going on.  Winter blues, maybe.  Some days, if I didn’t already have the meal plan, I swear, I’d just scramble a couple of eggs and call it dinner.  Not that there’s anything wrong with that . . . but then what would we do for breakfast?

Monday -Our local supermarket had Alaskan cod on sale, AND I have fennel in the fridge, so we’re going to try cod with fennel and potatoes.  Should be interesting, no?

Tuesday - Since we made a big old pot of sauce last weekend, it was a no-brainer to make a big old pan of lasagna this weekend, right?  That’s all made and ready to just pop in the oven when I get home.  Then it’s leftovers for breakfast, too!

Wednesday - We managed to separate those two pork chops I got at the market last weekend, so we’re going to split one of them between us – the other went back in the freezer.  The chop is about 2 inches thick, and I’m going to cook them basically the way Alton Brown did rib-eye steaks on Good Eats – pan-seared, then finished in the oven.  We’ll do baby potatoes and beet rösti, which I LOVE.

Thursday - For Minimal Effort Thursday, we’ve got some beef and barley soup up.  I used a couple of boneless short ribs in the soup, and I kind of (ahem) beefed up the flavor with some chopped mushrooms.  While neither of us is a fan of mushrooms on their own (the texture is weird), I chopped them chopped fine and cooked them until they all but disappeared – they add the hearty flavor without the icky texture.

Friday - And again, it’s pizza night.  You’ll recall that we had lasagna earlier in the week, which means leftover ricotta filling.  I just can’t seem to get it even!  Either I have too much sauce and run out of filling, or too much filling and run out of sauce, or, as in this case, too much lasagna and ran out of pan!  Anyway, we already know that ricotta filling on pizza is delicious, so it’s not such a bad thing to have some left over!

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. amsfishel - February 3, 2014

It is reassuring to see that my dog is not the only one suffering from cabin fever. Our almost 10 year old black lab was quite despondent when he realized we would not go play “puppy has the tire!!! while the human stands in the 30 degree rain.” I admire his tenacity, in dog years.
Lasagna leftovers for breakfast might surpass cold pizza on the awesomeness scale!

Toy Lady - February 3, 2014

Sometimes I think Jar is convinced I can control the weather! He just won’t buy “it’s not my fault it’s raining/snowing/freezing” and looks at me like he expects me to FIX IT. :roll:

And yeah, there’s very little better for breakfast than last night’s dinner, especially when last night’s dinner was good. :)

2. judy - February 7, 2014

Your weather has just SUCKED. Poor puppy and poor mommy. My BIL is having the same thing with his big dog up on cold Wyoming. They are used to walking and running every day and yes, you should fix it. :) The liver did a job on me. Ugh. The things we will do for our kids. Have a good weekend and I hope you all are warmer.

Toy Lady - February 7, 2014

Judy! I haven’t seen you in AGES! How are you holding up? Getting any snow out there?

3. judy - February 7, 2014

I have been on FB later in the day lately. DD has developed acid reflux and has had a terrible cold AND hates her job. I talk to her a lot. My dear BIL has just been diagnosed with lymphoma and a treatment plan is being worked out. Family members at outs over who is going to Wyoming to help him out. Other BIL is missing my sister so much and is so lonely. I talk to him a lot too. Don’t have a lot of energy left over. We really have had very little snow and our cold is nothing compared to yours. Just bad enough to keep me in more than out. This too will pass. Thanks for asking. hugs and pats all around.

Toy Lady - February 9, 2014

Aw, Judy, I’m so sorry to hear that you’ve got so much on your plate. It’s a hard time all over, isn’t it? :(

You’ve been in my thoughts a lot – I hope you’re taking care of yourself, too. (((hugs)))


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers

