jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 03.24.2014 March 24, 2014

Posted by Toy Lady in meal plan monday, Musings, random stuff.
trackback

 photo afed3dcb-f5a9-4963-80b5-70ffa243fbb5_zps0f33e2b1.jpg

It was kind of a quiet week at the Public Market, I guess.

I promised myself that I wouldn’t gripe about the weather anymore, but the fact that it’s STILL WINTER may have had something to do with it.  Everyone’s just tired of the cold, I guess, and the fact that we’ve been “spoiled” for the past few winters, well, that’s starting to wear a little thin around here.

I did pick up some snow peas which will be lovely in a stir-fry this week, and the bean guy had chick peas, which he’s never had before, so of course we had to pick up some.

Gosh I’m looking forward to seeing some actual fresh, local produce soon!

Photobucket

As an adult, how often do you get sick?  I don’t mean “under the weather” or taking a “sick day” sick – I mean SICK IN BED sick.

When I smoked, lo these many years ago, I regularly had sinus infections and the occasional bronchitis, which made me pretty miserable, but, thankfully, I haven’t had those problems since I quit.  I did have chicken pox a few years back – I was about 30.  I was sure sick then!  I’m talking sick in bed.  The Boy (who was around 8 at the time) was fixing his own breakfast and packing his own lunches for school.

This past week, though, wow, I don’t think I’ve been this sick since then.

Monday, I didn’t feel well, but I had some stuff that HAD to get done at the office, so I went in, did what needed to be done, and came home and went to bed.

Tuesday, I still didn’t feel well, but I had a bond closing, so I went in, took care of that, and went home and went to bed.

Wednesday, I just stayed home and slept half the day.

By Thursday, you know how, sometimes you’re not feeling so good, but you get up and get moving anyway and you sort of start feeling better?

Yeah, that didn’t work this time.

So Friday, I stayed home, slept all day, and when Peeps got home from work, I was actually still sleeping.

Saturday, I felt up to going to the Public Market (barely), and we stopped on the way home, because I needed to restock on Nyquil, cough syrup, lotion-y tissues (you should have SEEN how red my nose was!) and a big old bag of cough drops.

And now, I’m starting to feel human again.  Thank goodness.

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.    They say the first day of spring was last week, but I’ll buy into it when there’s NO SNOW in the forecast!  I’m still not feeling 100 percent – maybe around 75% I’d say – so we’re trying to keep things as simple as we can.

Monday - We picked up some Alaskan whitefish on sale – it’s a mild, tender fish that works well with a lot of flavors.  We’ve baked tilapia in an Old Bay-butter sauce, so we’ll try it with this whitefish.  Small red potatoes and sweet potatoes should round out the meal nicely.

Tuesday -  We broke into the mole stash – I’m just going to quickly brown a couple of chicken breasts, then finish cooking them in the mole sauce – it’ll be a nice change!  What’ll even make it nicer will be a side of Mexican rice!  We may have a can of refried beans knocking around that would go nicely, as well.

Wednesday -  We picked up some “pork tenderloin tips” at our local butcher shop the other day – they were ridiculously cheap, and I think they’ll be fantastic for stir-fry.  Like. . . with the snow peas and peppers I picked up at the market, not to mention the broccoli that’s still in the produce drawer.

Thursday - Since we scored some chickpeas at the market this week, we decided to make this chick pea and chorizo dish that we’ve enjoyed before.  The only thing we didn’t care for was the spinach – believe it or not, that kind of ruined it for us.  So, since we’re the boss of our dinner, we’re just going to leave it out.  We’ll serve the chick peas with either pasta or rice (we’ll decide which we’re more in the mood for) and maybe – MAYBE a vegetable.

Friday - And again, I say yay for pizza night!  We’ve got an assortment of sauces and toppings (roasted tomato or eggplant sauce,  ricotta cheese, salami, pepperoni, roasted artichokes – we like to mix it up a little!) and, of course, the Kong for Jarly – everyone’s a winner!

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. judy Norton - March 24, 2014

I am so sorry that you have been in bed sick. Too much winter going around, everyone closed in passing all those germs around. Maybe the cycle will change for you guys now. Get those temps up and some flowers blooming. Take it easy and get totally well soon.

Toy Lady - March 24, 2014

Thanks, Judy. I see that you’ve been out enjoying some spring flowers – what a nice break after this long winter! :)

2. Anne - March 24, 2014

Dang, that’s no fun. Glad you’re starting to feel human again.

I haven’t been that sick in about 10 years or so. I had a flu bug then, hubby was out of town and I camped on the couch for several days.

Hubby had the flu in 2012 at Christmas. He had scheduled the week before and the week after Christmas as vacation, and he was sick the entire time. Somehow I managed to not get it.

Toy Lady - March 28, 2014

Ugh – being sick on VACATION – that’s the worst!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers

