jump to navigation

Monday Musings: 04.14.2014 April 14, 2014

Posted by Toy Lady in Garden, meal plan monday, Musings, random stuff.
trackback

 photo IMG_20140413_123828641_zpsix3m7k2c.jpg

At long last – we bring you the Outside All Weekend Edition!

That’s right – the snow has melted, and our Rochester weather has been absolutely gorgeous!

Besides the endless cleaning and raking in the yard and garden, that also means my first load of sheets went out on the clothesline.  There’s just nothing like crawling into a freshly-made bed with line-dried sheets, is there?

Of course, these were flannel sheets that we’ve been using this past winter, and, hopefully, I won’t be putting them back on the bed for many, many months, but still.

Clothesline!

Photobucket

 photo IMG_20140413_120104019_zpscjmuudke.jpg

Of course, laundry’s not the only thing that got done this weekend.

We spent a bit of time in the garden – clearing the old brush and leaves leftover from last fall, and uncovering the garlic we put in back in September!

I just find it amazing that you can take a few cloves of garlic, stick them in the ground, let them  sit there for months in the sub-zero temperatures we had this winter, and then, almost as soon as the ground is thawed, it comes back to life.

 photo IMG_20140413_113638467_zpsepniyr6p.jpg

I’m a little late on the lettuce and peas this year – I’d have liked to have started planting a couple of weeks ago, but, unfortunately, we had a foot or more of snow on the ground. . .

I haven’t put any peas in since the year, several years back, that the peas were just starting to form on the vines and we had a hail storm, which took them all out.

This year, I’m going with a row of snow peas (above) and a row of mixed lettuce.  I put the lettuce between a couple of rows of what will be tomatoes – I figure that by the time the tomatoes need the space, the lettuce will be done anyway.  Pretty clever of me, huh?

Photobucket

 photo IMG_20140413_134949580_zpsjxhuuyxs.jpg

Once we were finally done working in the yard for the day, and I was showered and had a nice big glass of ice water, I just took a little time to enjoy sitting outside, on the deck, in the sunshine, knitting.

In addition to Peeps, I also had the company of my faithful companion – Jarly has certainly found those old cushions that we saved last year quite comfortable!

 photo IMG_20140413_135010214_zpsc3wieiw9.jpg

Of course, he may be a bit of a drama queen – it really wasn’t THAT hot out there!

Photobucket

Photobucket

And once again, it’s time for the weekly menu plan.  The weather forecast is all over the place this week – we’ve got some rain, we’ve got some snow (!), some sun, some chilly days – its just so hard to plan at this time of year!

Monday –  We almost never have ground beef lying around, but I’ve got about a pound leftover from burgers (on the grill!) the other  night – I’m thinking of trying this Moo Shu Sloppy Joes – only instead of on rolls, we’ll probably serve it on rice.

Tuesday – We found a good sized cache of chicken in the freezer last week, and Peeps mentioned that he’d really like the cinnamon-honey tenders that we haven’t had in simply AGES.  I’m not sure what we’ll have with them, though – probably some broccoli (seem to be the vegetable of convenience lately) and, I don’t know, some sort of grain or potato or something.

Wednesday –  We’d initially intended to make pork ragout with some leftovers from a pork roast, but it turned out the roast (a) was smaller than we’d have liked, and (b) had a big old bone in it.  There won’t be enough leftovers for that sauce.  However, because I always try to stay on top of things, I think I’m going to take that big old bone, throw it in the pressure cooker with some chicken stock, and then take whatever leftovers we do have and make a lovely, porky soup or stew.

Thursday – A while back, I saw this recipe for black bean burgers – we do try to eat meatless once a week, and sometimes we actually succeed!  While not exactly in keeping with our Minimal Effort Thursday policy, it just might work if I make the burgers ahead of time!

Friday – Which brings us back to pizza night – a night to park ourselves in front of the TV with our pizza and Jar with his Kong, and just sit back and relax.

Be sure to click on over to The Organizing Junkie’s Monday Menu Plan post for loads and loads of other ideas.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments

1. judy Norton - April 16, 2014

I just loved seeing your sheets hanging outside to dry. DD and I had just been taking about how we missed line dried sheets! And it is time for your garden once again. I sure hope your spring has finally sprung for real and that bad weather is long gone for awhile. And then there is Jar. Just doing his thing and doing it very well. Nice read this one

Toy Lady - April 17, 2014

I’ll tell you, Judy, I almost regretted not putting the flannel sheets back on the bed! (But I did use the freshly line-dried pillowcases, though!) I think this should be about “it” for winter, though – I HOPE, anyway. I can’t remember how long it takes for the peas to come up – I know they’re not as quick as green beans, but the ground isn’t quite as warm. Lettuce should be soon, though. :)


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 101 other followers

