jump to navigation

Mr. Kincaid – Baked September 24, 2008

Posted by Toy Lady in Cooking, Home, random stuff.
Tags:
trackback

PhotobucketMy all time favorite sandwich in the entire world has got to be the Reuben sandwich. It doesn’t matter where you go, you can alway be assured of a decent lunch when you order a Reuben.

Even a not-great Reuben is better than, well, pretty much any other sandwich.

Even though I still can’t help thinking of Reuben Kincaid every time I order one.

What can I say? Sometimes, inside my head is kind of a weird place, I guess.

Photobucket

So anyway. Obviously, I’m not eating lunch in diners regularly – I pretty much go to work and come home. Yup. Exciting life I lead, huh?

So anyway. Imagine, if you will, my glee when I stopped at Bruegger’s the other morning, and they had a six-pack of day-old pumpernickel bagels. That’s just perfect for my Easy Reuben Bake.

And, since I’m the only one eating it (guess who doesn’t care for Reubens – more for me!), I divided it in half – baked half of it, for 3 lunches, and I froze the rest to bake another time for another three lunches. Yay!

Photobucket

The first thing I do is whack up four of the bagels into bite-sized pieces. This amounts to about 6 cups if you’re measuring. The reason I use bagels (instead of, say, rye bread) is that they’re so much firmer and won’t get soggy when they’re mixed with the wet stuff. And I like the stronger, more hearty flavor of pumpernickel anyway. And, if you pick up a six-pack like I did, you’ve got two bagels left over for toasting and with peanut butter. Yummmmm.

Whoops, before I forget. I’ve published a printable version of this recipe right here. You’re welcome.

OK, so you’re going to toss the bagel chunks into a big mixing bowl along with:

  • Photobucket2 cups of drained sauerkraut
  • 2 cups diced corned beef – from the deli is fine
  • ½ cup mayonnaise I used the light stuff! 😉
  • ½ cup sour cream
  • 1/4 cup ketchup
  • 2 Tablespoons sweet relish
  • 1 Tablespoon dried minced onion
  • ½ cup shredded Swiss cheese You’re also going to need another cup of shredded Swiss to top the casserole later on.

You could probably substitute a cup and a quarter of prepared russian dressing for the mayo, sour cream ketchup and relish, but I’ve actually always made my own – and I can better control what I put in there, too. Up to you. I’m reasonable like that.

Now, just stir the whole mess together – you want to make sure the bagels at least get coated with the mixture.

Photobucket

Yum, huh?

At this point you could just dump the whole mixture into a zip-top bag or disposable 9×13-inch baking pan (or divide into two 8-inch pans) and freeze it if you wanted to. I actually divided it into two pans – I froze one and baked the other the same day. If you’re freezing, it’s a good idea to take the extra Swiss cheese (a cup for the whole recipe) and put it into a sandwich baggie and freeze along with the casserole – keep everything together.

Photobucket

If not freezing, I like to let the mix sit in the fridge overnight if possible – it helps the flavors to blend better before baking, I think. I’m sure it’s not completely necessary, though. I’m just saying, that’s all.

When you’re ready to bake, preheat the oven to 400° and cover your pan with foil. Bake, covered, for 20 minutes.

Uncover, top with the reserved cup of cheese, and bake an additional 10 minutes, until the cheese is all melty and yummy.

Photobucket

The full recipe will make 6 servings – half a recipe is 3 pretty hearty lunches for me. The nutritional information is. . . not horrible: assuming the full-fat ingredients, nutrition via Recipezaar:

Calories 440
Calories from Fat 173 (39%)
Amount Per Serving %DV
Total Fat 19.3g 29%
Saturated Fat 8.4g 42%
Monounsaturated Fat 5.0g
Polyunsaturated Fat 4.5g
Trans Fat 0.0g
Cholesterol 38mg 12%
Sodium 1040mg 43%
Potassium 254mg 7%
Total Carbohydrate 51.3g 17%
Dietary Fiber 3.0g 11%
Sugars 5.9g
Protein 16.1g 32%

And we used low-fat mayo, which shaves off about 60 calories and 6 grams of fat per serving. And it truly is delish!

Comments

1. maz - September 24, 2008

(guess who doesn’t care for Reubens – more for me!)

Are you sure that we’re talking about the same guy here? The one I worked with ate almost anything, as long as some bit of heat or flame was applied.

Next thing you’ll tell me is that he stopped using ketchup, because it has tomatoes!

2. Toy Lady - September 24, 2008

One word – Sauerkraut.

🙄

3. Persimmon Madness « Dark Side of the Fridge - January 13, 2009

[…] Our initial plan was to roughly halve the recipe – after all, as written, it makes 6 servings, and we’re 2 people.  And neither of us knew if we’d like it.  And besides, even if I love it, I object to eating the same leftovers for 4 days.  Unless, you know, it’s Reuben Bake. […]

4. Faith & begorra « Dark Side of the Fridge - March 17, 2009

[…] Unless, of course, it’s a reuben sandwich.  Or better yet, my reuben casserole. […]


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

