jump to navigation

A Honey-do List September 25, 2008

Posted by Toy Lady in random stuff.
trackback

I’m something of a goal-oriented person. Mostly.

I mean when I do decide to do something, when I’ve got a clear destination, well, I’m really good at following through. When I’ve got a specific goal. For the most part. 😳

PhotobucketSetting a goal, now that’s a different story. 😉 If I don’t have a specific direction, well, I’m also pretty good at just not doing much of anything. Which, at times, can be a not-so-good thing.

I’m much more productive if I make a “honey-do list” for myself. Of course, if Peeps wants to jump in and do some of the honey-do stuff, he knows I’m always more than happy to share. 😆

So I sit down at the beginning of every weekend, and I make a list for the upcoming week. I break things down – each planned task is listed, however big or small. Items get crossed off as they’re completed, or added to the list as they occur to me. Sometimes things get carried over to the next week’s list. No matter. As long as they’re there on that list, they don’t get lost in the day-to-day shuffle that’s our life, and eventually, sooner or later, I’ll get tired of transferring them from list to list, and they get done. 😉

Anyway, thinking about quitting smoking – how long ago, and how recently – really is kind of started me thinking about time and how much can be accomplished.

Now I’m not quite as old as either Jack Nicholson or Morgan Freeman. And I’m not talking about building a “bucket list,” either.

But I did stumble upon an interesting idea a while back, and I’ve been playing around with the idea for a few weeks now – 101 Things in 1001 Days. This is, evidently, quite a popular meme, and, while I really try not to jump on every new fad that comes around, this one intrigues me. 😀

If you haven’t seen one of these lists, or if you’re not good at, well, extrapolating meaning from the title of the meme, here’s the deal. 1001 days, as you may recall from my post earlier this week, is just about 2.75 years. Not a lifetime, really, but still, a significant chunk of time. Certainly plenty of time to accomplish (wait for it!) 101 Things. 😛

So I’m working on a list of 101 things I’d like to accomplish in the next 1001 days. Sounds simple, doesn’t it? Don’t be fooled! 😯

I’m trying to find a balance between “reasonable” (no, I really don’t think I can reasonably plan to take a Mediterranean cruise in the next 1001 days) and so ridiculous as to be not worth mentioning (yes, I do, in fact, plan to balance my checkbook every month for the next 33 months). 🙄

Stuff that I’d like to accomplish, stuff I have a reasonable hope of accomplishing, and stuff I’ll have to actually make an extra effort to do.

And it’s not so simple to figure out, either. Get past about #40 or so, and I’m stuck scouring the web for “what are other people putting down?” 🙄

Surely I must want a little more out of the foreseeable future (and really, is the future ever really foreseeable?). Surely I can accomplish more in my life than “cleaning the bathroom every week without fail.”

But wait. It’s about setting the goals – meeting (or not meeting) those goals. Having ideas and hopes and plans that don’t get lost in the shuffle. A list. Little things I’ve always wanted to do and never gotten around to. Bigger things that may take some organization and planning to accomplish. Thoughtful things that never would have occurred to me if I hadn’t actually taken the time to compile a list in the first place. Things I can cross off and look back at with a feeling of accomplishment or a sigh of relief. Stuff I can try for the first time. Adventures that, once they’re done, I can remember and enjoy over and over again.

Topics I can use as blog fodder when the excitement that is my everyday life starts to wear thin. . . 🙄

So anyway, I’m working on my List of 101 things, and you can expect to see it up here, on its own page, in the not-too-distant future, along with my occasional reports and commentary.

And it’s gonna be so cool. rotfl.gif

