jump to navigation

Monday Musings – 10.20.08 Edition October 20, 2008

Posted by Toy Lady in random stuff.
trackback

Sunday was Peeps’s birthday. Now I’m not going to tell you how old his is, only that his age is a palindrome. πŸ˜€ And he got a very nifty gift from his loving wife. πŸ˜‰
Photobucket

If you’re in the market for some new knives, and you’re not familiar with the Forschner Victorinox line, you may want to give them a try. Cook’s Illustrated has consistently named them a “best buy” over the years – and they’re eminently affordable – even the rosewood handles didn’t hurt too much. πŸ˜‰

Photobucket

Photobucket

Well, we ended up laying the tomato plants to rest this weekend. πŸ˜₯ They were coming to the end of their days and were starting to get really, well, pathetic. πŸ™„

PhotobucketHowever, now the plants are happily turning to compost, and the herb garden is ready for next year’s crop.

Photobucket

So. . . fried green tomatoes, anyone? πŸ˜‰
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Oh, and the saffron crocuses (?) crocii (?) flowers are just starting to peek out from the ground, right on schedule. Isn’t it odd that one crocus is one of the first flowers in the spring, and the this crocus is one of the last flower in the fall? Neat, huh? πŸ˜›

Now, I doubt I’ll be harvesting any saffron this fall, but by next year. . . who knows? Paella, maybe? Risotto? You just never know, do you? πŸ˜†

Photobucket

Do you know how I can always tell fall is well and truly here? My Christmas cactus starts blooming. 😯

Photobucket
Usually it has the courtesy to wait, though, until time-change weekend, anyway. πŸ™„

Photobucket

I made English muffins again this weekend, and it occurs to me that tossing the corn meal after the muffins just set on it is really pretty wasteful. I can certainly reuse it for more muffins, or for Jarly biscuits, or even bread – pretty much any tray-lining application, huh? πŸ˜‰
Photobucket
Photobucket

Photobucket

Speaking of re-spiffied. πŸ˜† Peeps had his first Woot this weekend. 😳 Our margarita maker blender has seen better days, and, really, what would be sadder than having your blender konk out on you mid-blend? He saw this blender on Woot, checked around, then he was all over it. πŸ˜€ It should be here by the end of next week. πŸ˜‰


Photobucket

Comments

1. Mazco - October 20, 2008

<>

He’s 55? How the hell did he pass me?

617 days until AARP Membership,
Maz

2. Toy Lady - October 21, 2008

Hey, watch it there, Bub. He’s only 2 years older than I am. . . πŸ˜‰

3. Mazco - October 21, 2008

How the hell did you pass me?

616 days until AARP….

4. judy - October 23, 2008

I love your Monday musings and it is always nice to read Peeps stuff too. I used to wrap my green tomatoes in newspaper to ripen them as I did not like friend green tomatoes.

We know you got home for the Stadium with Surly boy but I, personally, would like to hear THE REST OF THE STORY.

Have a good rest of the week unless you had other plans,

judy

5. Toy Lady - October 23, 2008

Hey, Judy! It’s good to “see” you this morning! πŸ˜‰

I haven’t actually had fried green tomatoes in years – and the last time I did have them, I didn’t much care for them either, though that was probably my own fault – I think I sliced them too thick and they didn’t completely cook. πŸ™„

Funny thing about that baseball game – there really wasn’t much more to the story. I don’t even remember who won – or even who was playing (besides our Red Wings, of course). The scary-looking dudes just glanced at us and went about their business (and who am I to say what that business might have been?), probably thinking “silly broad,” and we rolled up the windows and sweltered until we managed to find our way to a highway where we could drive “WEST” toward home . . . and I doubt the Boy even remembers the incident. But it certainly made an impression on me. . .

You enjoy your day, too, Judy. Got any snow your way yet?

6. judy - October 26, 2008

No … no snow here yet in Abq. but it was below freezing a couple of mornings. Dtr and I had a lovely excursion two weekends ago to a high mountain lake (7900 ft) to see the colors and the aspen were outstanding. I ‘ll e-mail a picture.

Would love to not see any snow, but I won’t move back down south just to avoid some white flakes.

Pats and loves to the furry ones.

judy


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

