jump to navigation

Finally, it’s over. Or is it? November 5, 2008

Posted by Peeps in random stuff.
trackback

As a general rule, I try to avoid thinking about politics. And now I can go back to that practice for a while. I hope.

This election has intruded like no other I can recall. It seems as though it’s been going on forever. There was no getting away from it. Sound bites. Accusations. Counter-accusations. Parodies. Pundits. Scandals. Shut up already.

I was very glad when Hillary dropped out. At least the shrieking stopped. And I could stop looking at the maniacal I-want-to-rule-the-world gleam in her eyes. Because it frightens me.

I don’t think much of either McCain or Obama. Personally, I think anyone who wants to be President is insane and should be excluded from running. But that’s not how it works.

John McCain has policies I don’t agree with. He leans a little left for my tastes. However, I have nothing but respect for his military career. In fact, now that I think about it, spending several years being tortured is great training for dealing with the White House press corps. Huh.

Barack Obama frightens me. A lot. He has policies I don’t like either. Loads of them. And while I’ve noticed that he’s not a moron, he is not talented at off the cuff remarks. At all. And when he’s saying things that aren’t scripted for him, he either tends to say what he really feels. Or he lies.

There is nothing he has proposed that does not fill me with dread. I fear for all of us.

I think that he will do such damage to this country, that people will forget about what the Clintons did to it. People will look back at the Carter years with soft smiles on their faces. This is possibly the worst day in the history of this nation.

A man who is approved of by the presidents of Iran and Venezuela is not someone I want to be running my country. Someone who has been endorsed by a terrorist group is probably not a good idea either. Nor is someone who wants to redistribute wealth. I don’t know about you, but I’ve worked hard for what little I have. I’d like to keep it.

I don’t think that this country needs a “civilian national security force”. We already have the FBI in addition to the various state police agencies. And just what do we need to be secured from? Isn’t he planning on sitting down and talking with the people who want to harm us?

For all his faults, President Bush tried. I would like to see history paint him in a better light. Assuming that history doesn’t start all over again as of today. The day “The One” was elected.

I don’t intend to make waves. I intend to do my best to not be noticed. I plan to keep my head down and try to ride it out. I just hope the country as a whole will make it.

Comments

1. origamifreak - November 5, 2008

I hope you’re wrong about Obama, and I also hope that your stint of riding it out with him isn’t as painful for you as my stint of riding out Bush was (and continues to be) for me! 🙂

2. Toy Lady - November 5, 2008

Hi, OF, I hope we’re wrong about him too. While I’m certainly wary, the man did win, fair and square, and it can’t be helped. Enough people want what he’s offering to elect him. I’d rather not spend the next 4 years whining about it and making myself miserable.

Maybe it won’t be so bad. . . and if it is, well, we have to trust “the system” and the Republicans are going to have to find a better candidate in 4 years. 😉


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

