jump to navigation

Monday Musings – 01.05.2009 Edition January 5, 2009

Posted by Toy Lady in Musings, random stuff.
trackback

Happy 2009, eh?  Seriously, it was just a few short years ago that Peeps and I rang in “Y2K” at a Marriott in Newark, and at check-in, they gave us an “emergency” bag – some bottled water, a candle, and some bubble solution. . . 🙄

Photobucket

Greta Garbo said:

I never said “I want to be alone.”  I only said “I want to be left alone.”  There is all the difference.

Photobucket

Remind you of anyone else we know? She’s certainly taken a liking to the Greenies kitty treats, though – Peeps signed her up for a sample, and that showed up the other day.  But once Jarly starts woofing at the basement door – she’s outta there.

Photobucket

PhotobucketWe ran into Tops to pick up a couple of things over the weekend and happened to notice a new display.

Colored Decorated Really fancy cookware.  😯

Photobucket

Besides your basic colored casseroles, pie pans, bread pans, and so on, they had a veritable cacophony of sauté pans.

Yes, I meant to say “cacophony.”  Those things are LOUD!  😆

Photobucket

After the madness of holiday eating (and no, I don’t want to talk about it right now – the “Fatty Update” in the sidebar on the right will tell you all you need to know), it’s time to get back to business.  😥

Photobucket

Borscht.  We shredded the beets in the food processor, but made sure to wash it immediately – I had no idea whether the work bowl would stain or not, and honestly, if I wanted pink appliances, I’d buy them.  😉

Photobucket

Speaking of madness.  😳

Photobucket

We ran across a reference to this stuff AGES ago on the internet somewhere (I don’t remember where – probably on Dave Barry’s blog) and thought something along the lines of “huh.”

I’d like to say I was drunk when we slipped this into our shopping cart at Wegmans, but it was like 9AM.  But hey, it’s organic.  It was right there in the Health Food section – next to the meatless, soy-free turkey-ish stuff.  🙄

I’m so ashamed.  And a little scared.  😳

Photobucket

There’s something kind of sad about after the holidays – the festive lights are coming down, the bare trees are at the curb to be picked up with the trash, special perfect gifts have been put away, and thank you notes have been written (hopefully).  Yet there’s something kind of cool about finding neat stuff that you didn’t have time for earlier.

PhotobucketLike Magic Snow.  In the Clearance aisle for 49¢.

Photobucket

Remember, though, that this is for fun only.  It’s not actual snow.  Just in case you forgot it came in a TEST TUBE.

Photobucket

And while it is safe AND non-toxic, uh, don’t eat it, OK? 😆

Photobucket

PhotobucketYou know what’s nice, during these, um, dog days of winter?

A nice cup of tea.

We both especially enjoy Tea.  Earl Grey.  Hot.

Anyway.

🙂

Photobucket

A long, long time ago (pre-Surly Boy) I discovered Byrne Dairy.  Byrne is the coolest place – their milk is sold in glass returnable half gallons, and they have their own homemade ice cream.

And another cool thing at Byrne is that they have this program – save up enough receipts, and you can earn free ice cream.  You need a lot of receipts, but hey, free is free, right?  😀

Photobucket

I’ve been saving these receipts for a long time.  A really long time. I’ve got receipts that are so old they’ve faded and I can’t read them.  Readable receipts dating back to 1998.  😳

I was saving up for the homemade ice cream.  😉

Here’s the thing, though.  The only Byrne Dairy within 30 miles (or more, by now) closed about 5 or 6 years ago.  I haven’t been in a Byrne store in at least that long.  The most recent receipt I could read in the saving envelope was dated February 2002.  I don’t even know if they still run this promotion.

Time to throw my envelope of receipts in the trash, huh?  😳

And maybe figure out what to do with the half-dozen or so returnable bottles I still have.  😳

Photobucket

Comments

1. Mazco - January 5, 2009

Byrne’s Dairy locations

http://www.byrnedairy.com/locations_retail_results.cfm

One more thing…..

Tomatoes – NO
Beets – Yes

Ecclectic – Yes
Eccentric – YES

2. Toy Lady - January 5, 2009

Huh. Looks like the Canandaigua Byrne Dairy is closed too. Huh.

And if you’re talking about me, I think the word you want there is “senile” not “eccentric.” 😉

3. Mazco - January 5, 2009

Now Toys, you know perfectly well that the post was not directed to you.

Rather it was sent to the person who basis his likes and dislikes of food on whether it has “things.”

Crazy guy, that one.

4. judy - January 6, 2009

Awe! It is my 3rd favorite kitty in the world who has new treats! Good for her. She is looking mighty fine!

I am sorry you didn’t get your FREE ice cream. Maybe they would send you some other kind of reward for being so loyal. Might be worth an e-mail.

I have an old receipt from Avon from nearly 50 years ago and have often wondered if their corporation has some kind of display or collection of old, old stuff. I need to remember myself to e-mail them.

Love up the cat and pat the dog for me. Tell him to leave the cat alone already. Ha Ha

judy

5. Toy Lady - January 6, 2009

Maz – this is me, keeping my mouth shut! :X

Judy – the last thing I need anymore is free ice cream anyway! That was from back when I thing – now, not so much! And a 50 year-old Avon receipt? I had no idea they’d been around that long, although, I guess, if I thought about it, I shouldn’t be surprised, huh? 50 years doesn’t seem nearly as long as it used to be. . . 🙄

And kitty says hi – you know, I just wish I could get her to hold still so I could get a decent non-blurry picture of her. . .


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

