jump to navigation

Ringin’ In 2009 January 6, 2009

Posted by Toy Lady in Family, Food, Wine & Spirits.
trackback

Happy New Year to all!  Yeah, I know, it’s a little late – I probably should have posted this last week, but I was slacking.  I do realize that whatever new year greetings didn’t get greeted last week certainly happened Monday morning on Back-To-Work-After-A-Four-Day-Weekend Day. Ugh.  😦

Photobucket

Most people, by the time they reach 40-mumble, have pretty well-established holiday traditions, including how, and with whom, they like to spend New Year’s Eve, huh?  Well, party animals that Peeps and I are, so do we.  😀

Here’s the thing.  New Year’s Eve usually always happens in the dead of winter.  It’s dark by 5:00, and there’s usually a healthy coating of snow on the ground, and it’s been that way for a while.

Photobucket

So every year, we do the logical thing.  We shovel off the deck and fire up the grill.  😳

And we grill a couple of nice steaks.  Ribeyes, to be exact.  😀

After all, what’s better than a nice grilled steak and a glass of good champagne,  all without having to dress up and drive in this crap?

Yeah, I don’t think so either.  😉

Photobucket

Fortunately, my father was kind enough to install a light on the deck last summer so we can actually see what we’re doing when we’re grilling our NYE dinner.  And by “we” I mean Peeps.  😉

Photobucket

Though I did put on my down booties and go out and keep him company for a few minutes.  Dude.  These booties are great.  They keep my feet far warmer than even a pair of boots would, and they’re way easy to just slip on – no laces, no nothing, and they’re waterproof besides.

So this year (or last year, actually) along with the lovely, perfectly done ribeye steak, baked potato and tossed salad, we had the addition of the sourdough semolina bread I’ve been working on. . . I think I’ve almost got it.  😀

Photobucket

Photobucket

Seriously,  the biggest thing is that neither of us wants to be out on the streets New Year’s Eve.  Peeps refers to it as “amateur night” – people are just out drinking for the sake of getting drunk, and some, if not many, of them are getting behind the wheel.  No party is worth that risk to me.   Just saying.  🙄

So anyway, we break out the “good stuff” and a pair of  champagne flutes at home.  Uh, pay no attention to the Moët & Chandon in the Perrier Jouët glasses . . . the glasses happened to be in front of our wedding flutes, which were in front of the non-partisan glasses. . . and steaks were getting cold.  😳

Photobucket

Gratuitous photo of perfect ribe-eye steak and baked potato.  We had them cut to about 3/4-inch thick, and, while that makes the perfect thickness for grilling, it does make a mighty huge steak for eating.  However, rest assured – I didn’t finish the entire steak!

We took the hunk of steak that was leftover, sliced it thin, and used it to top our Friday-nigh pizzas.

Photobucket

Both Peeps’s sexy super-cheesy version, and my less sexy, less cheesy, but more caramelized oniony version.  🙂

Photobucket

Mmmm.  Cheese + Steak + Pizza.  I ask you, what more could anyone possibly ask for?

PhotobucketOK.  A nice wine to pair with it.

This is an Argentinian malbec which, as it turns out, went beautifully with this pizza.

We’ve always saved the malbec for steaks and matched the pizza with Italian wines. . .a cheesesteak pizza with malbec. . . perfect!

