jump to navigation

Batter up! January 15, 2009

Posted by Peeps in Food.
trackback

No, I’m not going to start talking about baseball.  It’s the wrong time of the year, and honestly I very seldom talk about it.  I’m a Mets fan, and we spend a lot of time being quietly ashamed.

America leads the world in convenience foods.  We make frozen or instant anything.  The idea behind it is that Americans are far too busy with other things to have the time to spend in the kitchen preparing proper meals.  Mostly, it’s because we’re a very lazy people, and we are very big into instant gratification.  I am very proud to be an American.

However, most convenience foods range from boring to utterly vile.  And I’m saying this as someone who used to spend way too much money at White Castle.  As such, I generally give them a miss.  “Them” meaning most convenience foods.  NOT White Castle.

A couple weeks ago, Toys and I found this at the store.

Photobucket

We had to try it. We just had to.

So, we had breakfast for dinner one night.  Which is never a bad thing, if you think about it.

To make sure this wouldn’t be a total loss, I pulled some of my homemade breakfast sausage out of the freezer and got it cooking.  I am just a beginning sausage maker, and my breakfast sausage needs some work.  But for a novice, I’ve made a decent start.

While that’s going on, we got the griddle down and started it heating.  Once it was ready, the experiment could begin.

The stuff really does work as advertised.  I’m somewhat astounded.  I’m not entirely sure why.

Okay, time to flip.
Photobucket
Huh. A little scorched. I knew it was going too well. Good thing we used a much lower heat than what is called for on the can.  Let’s get these on a plate and find out what they’re like.

As an aside, my wife makes the best pancakes I’ve ever had.  I will eat them until I can’t move.

The ones made with Batter Blaster are not as good as that.  But they are far and away better than what I was expecting.  They were light, not leaden.  They didn’t have a lot of flavor, but really.  They came out of an areosol can, for crying out loud.  I actually enjoyed them more than some pancakes I’ve had in halfway decent diners.

So, my official opinion, for what it’s worth.  If you like pancakes, these are not a bad option at all.  It’s not as simple as shoving something in the microwave, but it’s certainly not a chore.  And the novelty of food in a spray can is certainly worth a try.

Comments

1. ferd burfle - January 15, 2009

And Batter Blaster is 100% organic and there are 28 four-inch pancakes jammed into every can!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

