jump to navigation

Monday Musings – 01.19.2009 Edition January 19, 2009

Posted by Toy Lady in Musings, random stuff.
trackback

Happy Monday.  🙄

I don’t know about you, but it’s been a long ass weekend around here.  Maybe I’m just getting old, but this recent cold spell – it get old really fast, doesn’t it?

Photobucket

And of COURSE this was one of the two or three Saturdays in the course of the year that my parents were in town and were able to make the trip to the public market with us. . . if it was cold for me, just imagine how hard it was on them!  😯

Photobucket

But boy, was my mother thrilled! Mother loves the market – she has a hard time passing up a “deal” I guess.  😉

I’m not sure how much  cool stuff she ended up with, but I know she scored pretty well.  After she ran out of her own cash, my father handed her a couple of $20 bills before he left to do some errands, and he just said to “give back whatever she didn’t spend.”

She ended up returning $3.

But really, who can turn down 3 flats of apricots for $7, anyway?  Not to mention the persimmons and fennel.  Yeah, it was a good day at the market, if a bit chilly.  😉

So what am I going to do with all these apricots, anyway?  😯

Photobucket

Then, when we did our weekly grocery shopping, what did we see?

Photobucket

Chopped rawhide, shaped and formed into hearts.  For Valentine’s Day.  For the baby.  Awwww. . . we “heart” our puppy, you know.  😉

Photobucket

But of course, the puppster isn’t the only baby we’re thinking of.  Of course not!  You know what’s a nice treat for Miss Lonely Heart?  The tail from a rotisserie chicken.  😀

While she didn’t want to stick around long enough to get a picture, trust me on this.  She was one happy kitty with a bit of rotisserie chicken to chew on!

Photobucket

OK, I’m going to whine about the cold One More Time.  🙄

I finally had to retire my old winter coat – not the one I wear to work, but the one I was wearing for walks.  It just wasn’t cutting it.

Photobucket

However, when I was cleaning out Surly Boy’s former closet a few months ago, I came across his old winter coat – not the peacoat I got him a couple of years ago – the heavy-duty “teenage boy” coat that I got him a year or so before that – the coat he hated and never really wore anyway.

Yeah, well, it fits me.  And it’s WARM.  And it’s mine now.  😯

Photobucket

So I made one more batch of sugared cranberries this weekend, and you-know-who plastered himself to me for his cranberry treat.  Freak.  😯

Photobucket

Whenever I open a package of cranberries  – even frozen ones for my morning smoothie – that goofy dog comes running and won’t rest until he’s sat for me – even without being asked – and I give him one.

I know, right?

And who knew that anyone but Ocean Spray marketed cranberries, anyway?  😯

Photobucket

And a quick public service announcement.

Be really, really careful when combining thick socks, wet stairs, cement walls and cats.

I’m just saying.  😯

Photobucket

Comments

1. judy - January 19, 2009

ok, fess up. What happened on the wet stairs in your thick socks and the concrete wall and Stupor Kitty? I so hope you didn’t fall too far!

I am sure Kitty enjoyed her treat too because we know the Dog did! Oh and the coat….if your goal was to totally disappear from sight except for your eyes, you have succeeded. Wonderfully! 🙂

I so hope your temps head ^^^^^^^ soon. I so feel for you!

Great post today. Are you going to hog the apricots?

j

2. judy - January 19, 2009

Well, I caught the rest of the story at the Q. Ouch girl and I hope your butt heals faster than mine did when I fell backward into the handles on a dresser. I still have a knot after 4 years.

Seriously, you may want to check with your doc. You could have some bad tissue damage.

I am so sorry!!!!!!!

j

3. Toy Lady - January 20, 2009

Thanks, Jude. I’m feeling much better now – I took Monday off and did my best to stay off my foot. And my butt. 😉

I did the same thing a few years back – the wooden steps to the basement are slippery in the winter! I still have a big dent in my OTHER butt cheek from where I fell. Now I guess I’ll match.

Symmetry is good, right? 🙄

4. judy - January 21, 2009

Yes, symmetry is good but I think I will just stay with my one lump. I am so glad you are feeling butter (opps) better. AND THANKS for the
followup on the muffins! As usual, none for me. 🙂

I said I would pay postage.

judy

5. Toy Lady - January 22, 2009

Judy, be glad you didn’t get any muffins – I think I accidentally used baking SODA instead of baking POWDER. That’s the only thing I can think of to explain the huge (and kind of vile) difference between the first batch (yummy) and the second batch (blech).

I keep saying. . . I’m too young to be this senile. 😕

6. Squash, Chard & White Beans Redux « Dark Side of the Fridge - April 2, 2009

[…] cooked with beef), his mistrust of bananas, and his apparent fondness for addiction to cranberries, Freak Boy has also taken a liking to squash.  Raw […]


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

