jump to navigation

Fear and loathing February 13, 2009

Posted by Peeps in random stuff.
trackback

Friday the 13th has come around again.  And the same silly stuff gets mentioned in the news.

Everyone wants to show off their vocabulary by using the word triskaidekaphobia.  Usually incorrectly.  It’s the fear of the number thirteen, not the day.  Whatever.

For reasons that remain unclear to me, this day makes a lot of people nervous.  To the point where they don’t travel, or do anything remotely out of the ordinary in hope of staying safe.

Now, please don’t get me wrong.  I’m good with wanting to stay safe.  I’ve done most of the stupid things in this life that I’m going to do.  But I try not to pick a specific day just to keep myself in one piece.

I’ve actually found that Friday the 13th is a great day to travel.  If I can plan a trip around that day, lines are shorter and things tend to go more smoothly.  I can work with that.

Now, I’m not saying that I’m completely free of superstitions or fears.  We all have some in one degree or another.  I have issues with the month of December.

I’ve had really bad stuff happen to me and my family in December.  Add that to the cold weather and the holiday season, and I just want to stay in bed for the entire month.  But this is a reaction to stuff that has happened to me personally, not based on vague things that happened centuries ago.

A great many superstitions are based in fact.  Walking under a ladder, for instance, is considered unlucky.  Probably because things can fall on your head while you are doing so.  Not very lucky at all.

So, maybe there is something to the idea that today will be unlucky.  Anything is possible.  I’d be highly amused that Fate is that orderly.  Try to enjoy yourself, regardless.

Comments

1. Ribbon - February 14, 2009

Hi I’m back and this time with a smile as I just read a comment that you left on another blog and I really enjoyed it.

The line that is stuck in my head is something like this…….”excuse me while I adjust my tin foil hat!” I’m still smiling 🙂

I like this post too! & thank you for not being offended by my brash comments on the meat…………I probably won’t get a job with a butcher after the comment police track me down!

You’re a star!
best wishes

2. judy - February 14, 2009

Just popped in this morning to catch up with all of you. That loin sure looked GREAT.

Doing a movie and early supper with the dtr today. Hope you have a good heart day.

j

3. Toy Lady - February 15, 2009

Ribbon, welcome back! I often feel like I should be wearing a tin-foil hat. . . 🙄

Hi, Jude! I hope you and the daughter had fun Saturday – movie and dinner sounds fun!

4. Busy month « Dark Side of the Fridge - March 13, 2009

[…] is slowly starting to get better.  And there’s so much going on.  We have yet another Friday the 13th to get […]


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

