jump to navigation

Making a hash of it March 10, 2009

Posted by Toy Lady in Eating Down the Fridge, Food, random stuff.
trackback

I hate corned beef hash.  I think it’s disgusting – it tastes like Alpo.  yuck.gif (Or at least, it tastes like what I would imagine Alpo to taste like.  Not that I’ve ever tasted actual Alpo, of course.)

Of course, the only hash I’ve ever actually had was from a can.  That might have something to do with my prejudice, huh?  😕

I hear that home-made corned beef hash – from scratch – is quite delightful.  I wouldn’t know.  🙄

We’re not actually making hash here.  I actually don’t really know exactly how.  😳

No, this is going to be an original creation – more like a corned beef rösti.  Now bear with me here.

We started with a few shredded potatoes, soaked in cold water to help remove some of the starch.   Peeps actually changed the water a couple of times in the couple of hours before we started dinner – and it was still icky and starchy.  😯

So I gave the potatoes one more rinse and patted them dry with a towel.

Photobucket

While I patted the potatoes dry, Peeps whacked up some leftover corned beef and Surly Boy chopped a few scallions.  Ain’t teamwork great?  😀

We stirred the three components together, along with a wee bit of salt and a healthy pinch of black pepper.

In hindsight, we should have considered a dash of flour or something, too, to help bind the potatoes, but, hey, you know what they say about hindsight, right?  🙄

Photobucket

I sort of mounded the potato mixture into three patty-shaped piles on the electric griddle.

I love that electric griddle – it’s much bigger than, say, a frying pan would be, and there’s the thermostat that allows for decent temperature control.  Plus, it’s nowhere near as unwieldy as the cast iron stovetop griddle that came with the stove.  Or the other one that came with my set of cast iron pans.  🙄

By the way, do you have any idea how heavy a wooden crate with 2 cast iron frying pans, a dutch oven and a griddle can be?  😯

Surly Boy knows – he was with me when I bought it.  😉

Anyway.  🙂

Photobucket

It will take a while for the potato-corned beef patties to brown.  You can mash them down a bit, but don’t try to turn them over too soon – they’ll fall apart.

Go ahead.  Ask me how I know.  😳

Once the potatoes were turned, I spread a bit of mustard on them.  Remember when Peeps made the homemade mustard?  Well, this isn’t it.  It was a different, whole-grain mustard that I found too, well, mustardy.  However, it was perfect with the corned beef and potatoes.  😛

We also sprinkled a bit of swiss cheese over the whole thing and let it cook, uncovered, until the cheese was nice and melty.  By that time, the bottom is nicely browned, so we’re all set.  😉

Photobucket

The intention was to serve this with a nice green salad.  However, as I was finishing up, I asked The Guys if “someone” wanted to get salad, and they both said no.  In unison.  😯

So we skipped the salad.  🙄

So.  While this didn’t turn out exactly as I had in mind, it was certainly acceptable.  I mean, when I had a bunch of uncooked potatoes left and ask “who wants more?” no one turned it down, which is certainly a good sign.  😉

Besides, with no rye bread in the house for sandwiches, what else are you going to do with left over corned beef, anyway?  😉

Comments

1. Mazco - March 10, 2009

No rye bread in the house?

What’s the point of Surly Boy if you can’t use him for annoying tasks like running out and getting some rye bread?

And yard work. Let’s not forget that.

It’s like having a franchise of Rent-A-Son, sort of.

Toy Lady - March 10, 2009

*pfft*

He doesn’t even “like” rye bread – at least he doesn’t think he does. I have to disguise it as “pumpernickel”. 🙄

Say, Maz. . . you could prolly use some strapping young labor around your place, couldn’t you? 😉

2. Faith & begorra « Dark Side of the Fridge - March 17, 2009

[…] was a fairly small-ish hunk of corned beef.  Just enough for dinner for the three of us and another dinner a couple of days […]


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

