jump to navigation

Busy month March 13, 2009

Posted by Peeps in random stuff.
trackback

So, it’s the middle of March.  The weather is slowly starting to get better.  And there’s so much going on.  We have yet another Friday the 13th to get through.

Followed immediately by Pi Day.  I’d never heard of this until a few days ago.  It’s sort of funny.  In a math geek sort of way.  Not that there’s anything wrong with that.  After all, we love watching NUMB3RS.

March Madness starts soon.  I don’t particularly care for basketball, and an entire month of listening to Dick Vitale’s voice tends to get on my nerves.  But it’s kind of fun to try to pick a winner, even if there’s no money involved.

And then the big one.  St. Patrick’s Day.  Now, I understand wanting to celebrate your heritage.  Really.  But come on.  Let’s dial it back a bit.

In my younger, more foolish years, I followed the herd and went out and drank beer on St. Patrick’s Day.  I’ve even been silly enough to go to actual Irish bars.  Where the crowds were so thick it was all I could do to breathe.  And getting a beer can take a while.  A really long while.

But as I’ve grown older, I decided that there were things about St. Patrick’s Day that bothered me.

First off, green beer is wrong.  Anyone who says that food coloring doesn’t change the taste of things has not had too much of it in a glass of beer.  Why further ruin what is already likely substandard beer?

My biggest issue with St. Patrick’s Day, very much like New Year’s Eve, is that it’s amateur night.  All kinds of people out there who have no business drinking booze ruining it for those of us who know how.

If you cannot drink and not be a jerk, stay home.  Please.  Every once in a while, it can be amusing to run across a sloppy drunk.  But when you are surrounded by them, it’s time to leave.  And pray they aren’t going to get in their cars and follow you.

Okay, I’ll put away my soapbox.  Sorry.  Maybe I’ll just relax with a pint of Guiness.  Or two.

Comments

1. judy - March 15, 2009

Hello,

Did Toy Lady celebrate PI Day with you? She might be able to take that off of the 1001 list? Maybe?

Just trying to help here. Good blog. And I totally agree.

judy

Toy Lady - March 16, 2009

Jude, hi!

No, no pi day celebrations here, I’m afraid. To be honest, I didn’t even know about it until the day before. I miss all the fun stuff, I guess. 😥

I’ve got it on my calendar for next year, though. 😆

I’m thinking a pi-shaped loaf of bread. 😉

2. Becky - March 17, 2009

I like Harp better, anyways. Guinness tastes like it has ashes in it.

Toy Lady - March 17, 2009

And like you’d need a spoon for it. 😉


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

